Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words cannot describe...
...how stunning this album is.
If you love laid back beats then I cannot recommend this enough to you. I'm having trouble with comparasons here, but if you like Lemonjelly, Irresistable Force, Müm, Nightmares on Wax, Lucky Pierre... Well if you like music of the chilled, and uplifting variety then you'll love this. Every now and again you pick up an album that...
Published on 19 Sep 2003

versus
2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Odd Review Out
Sorry, but upon reading all of these five star reviews, I felt that I had to write this review incase you're tempted towards this album as I was. This album has been comparisons drawn to it from the like of Pest, Wagon Christ, even DJ Yoda and Shadow. I likw all of the above, and I am a huge fan of this sort of music...when it is done well. This, my friends is a perfect...
Published on 15 Sep 2005 by J. Fogel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words cannot describe..., 19 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Portakabin Fever (Audio CD)
...how stunning this album is.
If you love laid back beats then I cannot recommend this enough to you. I'm having trouble with comparasons here, but if you like Lemonjelly, Irresistable Force, Müm, Nightmares on Wax, Lucky Pierre... Well if you like music of the chilled, and uplifting variety then you'll love this. Every now and again you pick up an album that makes you redefine what's good about music. And this has turned out to be one of them.
"Words to that effect", "Count your blessings" and "Air to sky" are all songs that you instantly fall in love with. You know the type - you hear 5 seconds and you know you've found a classic that you will have to listen to till the end of days. And "Quite Spectacular" makes you grin from ear to ear - like nothing can be bad when that's playing, the world seems like a good place to be, at least for 5 minutes. There are a couple of more up tempo tunes with stronger beats (like just a tad- no block rocking beats here), and a bit more funk - but simplistic loops and horizontal beats will make this album a classic. Picture summer, a warm evening and you're just doing nothing but smiling and appreciating life. It's a beautiful daydream of an album.
Even if you don't fall in love with it, it is the perfect Sunday album... as long as it's a peaceful Sunday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Hintertainment at its best!, 6 May 2003
This review is from: Portakabin Fever (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see Hint with Benobo , Pest and Hexstatic at a Gig as part of the Solid Steel European tour! They all played great sets. I bought the album. on the night and was expecting the album to be in the same style as the DJ set - upbeat-ninja-latin-bloop-funk-soul-hip-hop-break-beat-bidness-n-ting. Au contraire!
All the tracks on this album show Hint already has a unique sound all of his own. A special blend of magical melodies played out by Guitar , keys , flutes, chimes and choral voices over some funky blines and beats makes for a really enchanting sound.
Hip-Hop-Country-Folk-Electronica- Rock-Souladelica. Call it what you will all the hints are there. Simply put the whole album is as chilled and uplifting as sunny Sunday afternoon in the height of summer. It makes you smile and feel good. Great Music!
Ps: The cartoons and on the sleeve and website are also worth a mention!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Music they play in Heaven, 6 Oct 2005
This review is from: Portakabin Fever (Audio CD)
Ignore the review by the Tosser below. He's correct that this music won't be your cup of tea if , like him, you're a pretentious music wanker out to find the 'next best thing' that you can recommend to people in a vain attempt to make yourself look 'ahead of the crowd' and cool.
If, however, you are after a simple but beautifully chilled album then you cannot to better than Portakabin Fever. This is an album to put on in the backgroundat dinner parties, study to, read to, sleep to - chill out to. Simple, non-offensive and happy. I've played this to many people, all with differing music styles, and they have all enjoyed it. My friend took a copy on a recent world trip and got comments all round the world.
Having said all that - Expectation kills ( seems to be what happened with the chap below) so ignore everything I've said and give it a try. I promise you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lazy summer days., 4 Feb 2004
This review is from: Portakabin Fever (Audio CD)
This album is all you need for the lazy summer days, roll up a bifter get comfy and dream the day away. Some top quality tunes produced and tweaked to blissful perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Headline required for some reason., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portakabin Fever (Audio CD)
Okay I've given this album the onceover on youtube. Followed by a near day-long repeatarooni of one song in particular. I wish youtube would do a repeat button. Sounds pretty good. Some excellent rhythm and melody. Good derivative, like a mix of Bonobo and Lemon Jelly. Which does sound a bit ecologically cavalier. Good in the mood in the hood though. It's basically worth the ticket price of £1.50 or so all in for the aptly titled Quite Spectacular. Blissful background noise below a day's work. Cheaper and more sustaining than a sandwich, that's what I'm trying to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Odd Review Out, 15 Sep 2005
By 
J. Fogel "djjj_128" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Portakabin Fever (Audio CD)
Sorry, but upon reading all of these five star reviews, I felt that I had to write this review incase you're tempted towards this album as I was. This album has been comparisons drawn to it from the like of Pest, Wagon Christ, even DJ Yoda and Shadow. I likw all of the above, and I am a huge fan of this sort of music...when it is done well. This, my friends is a perfect example of some people with a computer and Reason and a whole bunch of badly, badly selected samples from across the board. And what an uninspired, shambolic, downright boring CD. I can barely stand to listen to the predictiveness, the mediocrity...it really gets to me. What Hint has done has not only been done before but has been done so much better buy others. If I were you, deliberating about whether or not to buy this album, then don't buy it if you are looking for something thought provoking or interesting. Don't buy it if you are looking to chill with a very listenable if not a little mundane album. Only buy it if you think that you really will not mind that same loop over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and over again. 1st buy Wagon Christ aka Luke Vibert's entire back catalogue, then buy Entroducing, then buy Neccessary Measures by Pest, and then email Ninja Tune asking them why they publish such crap music when they obviously have so many good artist to their label. Terrible, dire, boresome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Portakabin Fever
Portakabin Fever by Hint (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews