Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santo & Johnny Revisited
Santo & Johnny had a big hit in the US in 1959 with their own composition, "Sleepwalking". It was a very pleasant, inoffensive instrumental that launched a wave of interest in latino music. "Mambo Sinuendo" is what Santo & Johnny would have put together today. It's simple, relaxing but engaging mood music, very evocative of sitting on a patio or hotel balcony in the...
Published on 22 Jun. 2004 by M. ABBOTT

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit sleepy ...
Slide guitar virtuouso, singer-songwriter and all-round good bloke Ry Cooder has enjoyed a real renaissance in the last few years thanks largely to his groundbreaking work in bringing the music of Cuba to the western world in general - and a previously hostile United States in particular - following the success of his phenomenal Buena Vista Social Club project. Take a...
Published on 12 July 2003 by Mr. P. Ridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santo & Johnny Revisited, 22 Jun. 2004
By 
M. ABBOTT "mikeabbott" (Kew, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mambo Sinuendo (Audio CD)
Santo & Johnny had a big hit in the US in 1959 with their own composition, "Sleepwalking". It was a very pleasant, inoffensive instrumental that launched a wave of interest in latino music. "Mambo Sinuendo" is what Santo & Johnny would have put together today. It's simple, relaxing but engaging mood music, very evocative of sitting on a patio or hotel balcony in the summer sun, sipping rum and cola, reading a favourite book. It's also what you'd want on as background to making love. It's not cerebal but then it's not elevator music and, artistically, it's quite stunning. If you've been to Cuba this is what you'd listen to as reminder of your time there. Tasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ry's greatest yet., 1 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mambo Sinuendo (Audio CD)
Has any musician, dead or alive, appeared in a wider variety of musical settings than Ry Cooder? None comes to mind. The amazing thing about his cross-culturalism is how effectively he picks up the basic vibe of the music he's exploring while still putting his own stamp on the proceedings, all the while maintaining a deep (yet not slavish) respect as he playfully deconstructs and reassembles it.
His latest, Mambo Sinuendo, a dual project with Cuban guitar legend Manuel Galabán, strikes me as the finest Cooder record to date. I've listened to this remarkable album many times, and each listen has revealed something new: Cooder's tuba-like sound on "Bodas de Oro"; the nimble acoustic bass of Orlando "Cachaíto" Lopez, always establishing the perfect rhythmic underpinning; the deep swing melded to relaxed yet intense interaction that suffuses the whole record; the tricky rhythmic shifts that relocate a piece from Latin America to the American Southwest to Hawaii. It's because Cooder has (seemingly effortlessly) acquired such a broad and deep musical vocabulary that he's able to musically jet, as it were, from country to country with such ease. This album is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Buena Vista, 6 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Mambo Sinuendo (Audio CD)
I bought this purely on the strength of Buena Vista Social Club. It could be describes as "Lounge". Most of the tracks are instrumental, giving it a bit of a jazz feel. It is hard to clasift the sound, maybe a bit of a jazz/pop cross-over. The opening track "Dru me negrita" is beautiful it has one of the many catchy rhythms on the album. It is similar to "Buena Vista" with the addition of Coder's Slide Guitar. In fact at times, I was reminded of Brain Eno's "Deep Blue Day". This album improves at each listening, there is some great interplay between the guitarists. Lost a star as tend to skip a few tracks, as they just get a bit cheesy and are not to my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something Different?, 22 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mambo Sinuendo (Audio CD)
This is something a little different, with the usual Ry Cooder style, that I will find myself listening to time and time again, and with more coming across with each visit. It is good to find some music that's imaginative whilst still being accessible and pleasing to the ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mambo Number 1!, 8 Feb. 2003
By 
Cable Guy (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mambo Sinuendo (Audio CD)
It's great to see Ry back centre stage, albeit sharing the limelight with the accomplished Manuel Galban. It might be seen as cashing in on the Buena Vista phenomenon, but there are nods here to the Hawaiian and Tex_Mex 'Chicken Skin'
excursions of years gone by. Anyway who cares if he is cashing in, Ry Cooder deserves some commercial success and he might get it with this. This is a wonderful, relaxing album with production seemingly reduced to a minimum, and all the better for it. Laid-back and sensual on the slower tracks, with a quite beautiful version of 'Secret Love', it brings to mind Hank Marvin and Duane Eddy at times ('Los Twangueros' indeed!). The up-tempo numbers, such as 'Monte Adentro' and the title track (a possible hit single!), are vibrant thanks to a great rhythm section. 'Patricia' conjures up memories of Edmundo Ros and the cha-cha section of 'Come Dancing' (in fact quite a few tracks wouldn't seem out of place there!). I can see this album appearing all-over the place in samples and background music. I defy you to listen to this and sit still or stop your feet tapping. I'm off to borrow a set of bongos so I can join in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit sleepy ..., 12 July 2003
By 
Mr. P. Ridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mambo Sinuendo (Audio CD)
Slide guitar virtuouso, singer-songwriter and all-round good bloke Ry Cooder has enjoyed a real renaissance in the last few years thanks largely to his groundbreaking work in bringing the music of Cuba to the western world in general - and a previously hostile United States in particular - following the success of his phenomenal Buena Vista Social Club project. Take a bunch of brilliant but ageing musicians, put them in a recording studio for the first time, sit back and watch the money roll in .... well, that's the cynical way of looking at it, but the art they gifted the world is truly breath-taking and I strongly recommend anyone check out the albums by these guys and also the movie of the same name if you want the true flavour of Cuba. This, on the other hand, is a bit of a disappointment. Cooder has obviously hanging out in Havana, smoking too many cigars (or maybe something else) as this is SO laid back it's falling over. There's nothing inherently wrong with the album, it's just a bit ponderous and compared to some of the great man's earlier output it seems like he's stuck in low gear throughout when you really want him to put his foot to the floor. It's a nice Sunday morning record, especially on a sunny day when the birds are singing and you just wanna chill for a bit ... but here's hoping the next one is altogether hotter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its mambo time 2!, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
Ianham "Ianham" (Ross-shire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mambo Sinuendo (Audio CD)
Put on the obscenely patterned hawiian shirt, pour a margarita (or at least an ice cold beer), find a warm place to sit/lie/flop put on the shades and chill. As the man said ..the return of Santo and Johnny - Turbo version. If you don't like this record you must be dead or at least be on very strong medication. I'll say one word .... and that word is TWANG!

Now slam the CD on, throw us a lime and Tequilla and I'm gone. Solid gone.Good price by the way.

I commend this CD to the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So cool, works in every cirection, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mambo Sinuendo (Audio CD)
I love this album so much. I have been a fan of Ry Coddr's collaborations; they are all great but this one gets to a whole new level. It somehow combines a strong retro, 50s feel with very clever production. Seedy bar, meets lounge smooth, meets effortless virtuosity. This album has its cake and eats it too. It's evocative without a shred of pretention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 24 Nov. 2006
By 
M. F. Harold (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: mambo sinuendo (Audio CD)
One of the best albums I own and my favourite by Ry Cooder. Any fan of instrumental music will love this, simply outstanding. With the Cuban influence of Guitar legend Manuel Galbán and Ry's usual tasteful playing this is a joy to listen to, sort of Duane Eddy, Shadows, Ventures meets the rhythms of Cuba, very much in the Santo & Johnny "Sleepwalking" vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot music, 8 Jun. 2008
I totally agree with the previous review. I have never played this to anyone without a 'Whats that amazing music?' response, it speaks of hot, lazy summer days. You can imagine yourself sitting, cold beer in hand gazing at the heat haze over the Sierra Nevada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mambo Sinuendo
Mambo Sinuendo by Ry Cooder (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews