Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it
No, sorry people, I love Nocturama. Eventhough it is not as cohesive as previous releases and the songs don`t really fit together, i do feel the songs individually are really superb. Some rockers, lovely ballads and clever lyrics. I prefere Nocturama over more recent albums such as Dig ! Lazarus dig ! or both Grinderman albums. In fact, Grinderman sucks. I have not heard...
Published 16 months ago by Oostrijck

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds have set their critical bar so high in recent years that this album is, for me, probably their weakest during the 2000s. It doesn't have the consistency of great songs as has Abattoir Blues, Dig Lazarus Dig, or their masterpiece, No More Shall We Part. Nevertheless, it is still a very good record. leaving most other 'rock' records in the...
Published on 6 Dec 2011 by Keith M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Oostrijck (Rotterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
No, sorry people, I love Nocturama. Eventhough it is not as cohesive as previous releases and the songs don`t really fit together, i do feel the songs individually are really superb. Some rockers, lovely ballads and clever lyrics. I prefere Nocturama over more recent albums such as Dig ! Lazarus dig ! or both Grinderman albums. In fact, Grinderman sucks. I have not heard Push the sky away yet, but if it`s as good as Nocturama, then i cannot complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 6 Dec 2011
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds have set their critical bar so high in recent years that this album is, for me, probably their weakest during the 2000s. It doesn't have the consistency of great songs as has Abattoir Blues, Dig Lazarus Dig, or their masterpiece, No More Shall We Part. Nevertheless, it is still a very good record. leaving most other 'rock' records in the shade.

Standout songs are Wonderful Life, He Wants You and Bring It On (the latter being right up there with Cave's best). However, on a recent play of the album (the first in a few years I'll admit), I was struck by the majestic masterpiece that is the album's epic 15-minute closer Babe I'm On Fire. On first hearing this song appears to be a (rare) piece of Cave over-indulgence, comprising 38 (yes count them!) identical verses, followed by a few interspersed choruses, leading to an initial impression of irritating repetition. But, on subsequent listens this song grows in stature until it achieves the aforementioned classic status. In its gradual increase in intensity, it begins to live in the same league as such other extended epics such as the Velvet's Sister Ray, Yo La Tengo's And The Glitter Is Gone and even Bowie's Cygnet Committee.

The song's wonderfulness is, of course, substantiated by some of the wittiest lyrics Cave has thus far set on paper - each verse just gets funnier and funnier, with Cave stretching the limits of lyricism to achieve some marvellous rhymes. My current favourite is the following:

The athlete with his hernia says it
Picasso with his Guernica says it
My wife with her furniture
Everybody!
Babe, I'm on fire

Marvellous stuff. Oh, and if this wasn't enough, there are backing vocals on this song (and two others on the album) from legendary Blockheads, Messrs Jankel, Watt-Roy, Gallagher and Turnbull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When he's good, he's wonderful..., 25 Jan 2007
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
This album will give you the measure of a master balladeer at his very best. True, he's as inconsistent as the next artist, but at his best, Cave has a wonderful talent for finding melodies in the darkest places. For heartrending riffs, listen to 'Bring it on', for fond and witty paeons, hear 'Rock of Gibraltar and as for 'He wants you', it remains one of his best ever songs, matched only perhaps by 'Love letter' off 'No more shall we part'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plain in comparison with his better work, 10 Mar 2003
By 
Mr. Paul J. Bradshaw (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
Nick Cave albums generally fall into two categories - mean, hungry stompers (Murder Ballads, Henry's Dream) and melancholy, subdued classics (No More Shall We Part, Boatman's Call). This album fits into neither - and depending on your perspective this is either a Bold New Move, or a Neither One Thing Nor The Other.
For me it's the latter. It's pleasant enough, and enjoyable in places, but lacks the guts or the heart of his best work. Highlights like Bring It On work well but you're almost left wondering whether he hasn't worked on the songs as much as he could. There isn't the depth or simplicity of previous work.
If you;re a Cave fan, this is definitely worth buying - it's not a bad album. But for those curious about his work, you're best trying one of his stronger albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Nick's best, but certainly worth having, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
Now (unfairly) considered one of the low points of Nick Cave's career, it certainly didn't sound that way at first listen. Songs are well written, if a bit unexceptional, Nick's singing is confident and The Bad Seeds' playing once again phenomenal. Certainly worth listening singer-songwriter stuff, just not on a par with Nick's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More highs than lows, 21 Dec 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
There are some tracks on Nocturama that fall below Nick Cave’s high standards, like the overlong and somewhat indulgent Babe, I’m On Fire and the raucous, messy Dead Man In My Bed. Fortunately these are more than compensated for by the wealth of beautiful gems like He Wants You and Right Out Of Your Hand, both gentle ballads with poetic lyrics and lovely melodies.
Bring It On is a strong rock ballad, Still In Love with its moving lyrics is another slow jewel as is There Is A Town with its mournful chorus. The masterpiece of the album is Rock Of Gibraltar, an exquisite love song where Cave rhymes “Gibraltar” with “alter”, “Malta” and “altar.” This is a melodic and lyrical classic, ranking amongst Nick’s very best compositions.
I don’t see how some reviewers can dismiss this album as a failure when it contains so many superb songs with intelligent, moving lyrics and memorable tunes, including She Passed By My Window. Yes, the last track Babe, I’m On Fire is five minutes too long but this isn’t a bad song, just too raw and too long. Nocturama is a great work and it deserves four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its a wonderful life...if you can find it, 24 Jan 2006
By 
S. Young (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
First of all i have to say when i bought this a couple of years ago i couldnt help but notice how unattractive the cover is! Its unspeakably bad, which is unusual because The Bad Seeds artwork is usually pretty slick & eyecatching. Anyway..onto the music & Wonderful Life is without doubt a stunning song, as is He Wants You..a beautiful track with great piano by Nick. Other gems to be found include 'There Is A Town' & the rowdy 'Bring It On'. Some tracks bog the affair down slightly such as 'Still In Love' and 'Babe Im On Fire'which becomes torcherous after so long, in need of some much needed editing.
The album cant be considered to hold as much weight as its magnificent predecessor 'No More Shall We Part' or 'The Boatmans Call' before that, but its certainly a grower..i was slightly disappointed on first listen, but in 2006 im finding i appreciate its content more & more. Give it a chance if you like the Bad Seeds work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRING IT ON!, 8 Feb 2003
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
It's been a while since there was a Nick Cave song you could dance to, but Bring it On is just that and I blooming well love it! Nocturama hides this beautiful big folky rock piece featuring the wonderful voice of Chris Bailey amid its brooding long feathered wings of the best ballads, the best rock, the best lyrics and the best music to come from the Bad Seeds in around a decade. As a long standing Cave enthusiast, I am duty bound to love everything he releases but this casts No More Shall We Part and even The Boatmans Call into the shadows. The range of style and subject matter is greater on this album, and Nick's singing sounds comfortable and accomplished. I heard he was giving the Seeds more freedom to do their thing on this album, and the results verify the wisdom of that choice. My special favourite is Warren Ellis, who seems to have been given free reign to do as he wishes throughout the album, and he knows just what to do and where to do it. I think it is his violin which makes the difference between an average and a great song more than once. Nocturama has not left my CD player since I got it. It is Cave's best album for a long time, and I haven't even mentioned the fabulous 15-minute-long beast Babe I'm on Fire! Buy this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Leftovers, 18 April 2003
By 
M. Silvert (London, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is ok, with a couple of good songs, I think after the brilliance of his last album, No More Shall We Part, it was always going to be hard to come out with something better. And something distinctly below par, has come out, for Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, can produce the most amazing tracks. This album sounds like a few leftover songs that did not make the last album.
If you are a mad Nick fan like me, you will still enjoy it, but it is wont hold your attention for long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nick's the man, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Fnpig "kmccra15" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturama (Audio CD)
Excellent service delievered promptly for a classy album by a genius artist. Recommended if you appreciate quality in your music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nocturama
Nocturama by Nick Cave (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews