Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars25
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2002
This is a Fantastic collection of classic songs by rising stars as well as some original pieces written in the academy. The variety of songs and individual styles make this a thoroughly enjoyable albulm to listen to. Songs that stick out include the soothing but catchy original 'Lullaby' and Ainslie's, Sinead's and Malachi's 'Keep me a secret'. If you've enjoyed watching these ascending students over the last 10 weeks and like me are missing your daily dose of Fame Academy, this albulm is a must!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2002
An impressive collection of some of the tracks from BBC's Fame Academy. Highlights are With A Little Help etc.. By Ainslie & David, Tracks of my Tears by Marli, Keep Me a Secret by Ainslie and Back to You by Lemar.
There are some other tracks that would have been nice to have been put on here, Satisfaction by Sinead and Ainslie and You Really Got Me by Ainslie. More tracks from Malachi and David would have gone down well as well though.

This is a very good album even if you haven't been watching the show. There are very few people who wouldn't recognise at least a few of the tracks....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2003
I bought this album on the first day it came out and i haven't been let down by it. Every single song is incredible. Fantastic songs sang by amazing singers. It's simply the best!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2002
If like me you have watched Fame Academy from the beginning and experienced the ups and downs with the students, then this album is a must! It features some of the best performances from the live showdowns that have gripped the nation. Ainslie is the star of the CD and songs like Don't Get Me Wrong, Lullaby and With a Little Help From My Friends illustrate his amazing performances from the show. Also, Lemar has notable performances including Back To You. This is a great CD and shows what amazing talent the show has produced!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2002
This album is brilliant. My least favourite student, Ainslie shines very strong on this album. I couldn't understand why the teachers rated him so highly but the song "Keep me a Secret" is amazing and should be a single in its own right. I hope that Sinead, Lemar, Ainslie and Malachi make it just like David. They were all brilliant over the last few weeks. The quality of the recording is superb so treat yoourself to this album - it is uplifting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2002
I would recommend everyone to buy this album because the quality of the recordings are brilliant and the three original songs are amazing. While watching the series, I could not understand why the fame academy teachers rated Ainslie so highly but having listened to the song "Keep Me A Secret", I have completely changed my opinion of him. Buy it for this song alone - it is brilliant - listen to the words and appreciate how applicable it was to their stay in the academy. I just hope that like David, Sinead, Lemar, Ainslie and Malachi all make it because they deserve to!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2002
From the first track to the last track this album keeps you singing and dancing along and you will reach for the remote control to turn the volume up. Most of the songs are covers that the british public know and love and the others are new songs written by the students. You will want to keep this album in your hi-fi for weeks and for Fame Aacdemy fans this will keep the Fame Academy dream alive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2002
Being a staunch music critic for more than 3 decades, I found myself hooked on this reality tv programme. (never seen another one)
This album is a very nice mix of fresh (read : good) artists singing a mix of old and new covers, a nice mix of genre talents singing some favourites, and also some remarkably good and original soundpieces, with a little help from old hands like Lionel Ritchie and Pam Sheyne.
A handful of these artists (IMHO) will make it big style, Lemar, Sinead, David and particularly Ainslie.
The high standard of young artists is complemented by the nice production and quality session musicians supporting.
The best tracks are hard to spot, as nothing shines over the others, standard is good. There is definitely talent emerging here.
I have to say the worst track is David's Goodnight Girl, funny he should win the one million pound contract, his first single will make number one, I'm sure. A quality songster and popular too.
This will be good bop along driving cd, as most covers we can all sign along.
I am not a lover of covers generally, however this energetic list of talented individuals defy gravity and provide us with a very fresh approach. A mixed album to enthuse people from 10 to 100 years of age. Buy it, a tenner well spent.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2002
I have to confess to becoming obsessed with Fame Academy over the last few weeks. If people have watched it, they already know which songs they are going to enjoy - everyone here sounds like they do on TV, and almost everyone sounds good. Some of the choices show this was planned fairly early on - there is too much Marli and nowhere near enough Sinead. My favourite is Malachi's 'Vincent' - can't wait for his album. Shame there isn't more of the original songs here, but it's a great souvenier of the show. Great stuff! Good luck to all of them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2003
i thought fame academy was a great tv show showing the talents of 11 great people! The tracks on the album are the collabaration between cheeky scotsmen Ainslie and David with 'with a little help from my friends', A song written by Lienal Ritchie and the students- back to you its a great song with great lyrics which keep hummin to yaself! Dont Speak- sineads version of the classic No Doubt song. Lullaby- written by Lemar and Ainslie- a beautiful song, with great lyrics a sure fire hit! Fields of Gold- Malachi and Marli sing the sting classic, with fantastic vocals and soulful voices! i still haven't found what im lookin for- the u2 song perfected with the uniqueness of sinaed and lemars voices. Good night girl- Davids gorgeous voice wins you over on this track making you glad he won! Perfect- Probation Princess Katie sings this 'perfect' song perfect for dancin round ur room. Camilla sings the Christina Agelira classic 'gennie in a bottle', Chris sings great song 'brown eyed girl' ull be singin along before ya no it! Marli sings again the great 'tracks of my tears' another great song! Nigel sings 'heard it on the grape vine', Ashley sings 'i can see clearly now', Ainslie bounces back and throws him self at you again with his own song 'keep me a secret' a great bouncy guitar song, with fab lyricS! Pippa then appears singin the great 'eternal flame' with fantastic vocals! Then all the students sing the classic 'lean on me' great song, great vocals, great end to the album!!
The only let down is that Davids song 'Living the Lie' doesnt appear when it was the song that won us all over! other than that this album is pretty good!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)