Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fear dot com
Fantastic film. def one to watch if you enjoy films that are scary, full of suspense and a few twists.
Published on 17 Feb 2004

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars er, isn't this supposed to have actors in it?
no no no
sorry but again no no no - do not go near this movie!!
Scared? Well at the beginning where the premise is fear you do hope that it will be a goody but alas....... no.
the pace is plodding, the actors poor (is there ANY chemistry at all between the 2 leads?) and the direction er....well there isn;t any direction.
A good chance to convey a real...
Published on 28 Jun 2004 by jim_boab


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars er, isn't this supposed to have actors in it?, 28 Jun 2004
This review is from: Fear Dot Com [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
no no no
sorry but again no no no - do not go near this movie!!
Scared? Well at the beginning where the premise is fear you do hope that it will be a goody but alas....... no.
the pace is plodding, the actors poor (is there ANY chemistry at all between the 2 leads?) and the direction er....well there isn;t any direction.
A good chance to convey a real fear factor is completely wasted. The film meanders on and on and in the end you just want everyone to die!! (no kidding)
I feel like writing toi the director and demanding my money back!!lol
Honestly do not hire/buy/watch this movie - you have been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Aren't horror movies supposed to be scary?, 31 Oct 2003
This review is from: Feardotcom [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
What a dissapointing film, especially considering that the lead role was played by Stephen Dorff who is (in my opinion) a fine actor, but not even Mr Dorff's acting prowess or indeed the promising title could save this uneventful and somewhat boring flick. I love the horror genre and liked very much 'The Ring' which is similar in plot and excecution, but is infinitely more enjoyable and certainly more scary. I can't really think of anything to recommend this film apart from maybe the picture/sound quality which was good but alas wasted here. If you must see it, rent it - don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BadDotFilm, 4 July 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Feardotcom [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
It's hard to come up with words to describe just how bad this film is, and I don't mean bad in a 'it's so bad it's good' in a cult movie kind of way, but this film is astonishingly bad. The storyline is a complete rip off of 'Ring', just replacing a cursed videotape with a cursed website, but unlike 'Ring' there is no atmosphere, no sense of dread and absolutely no scares.
The acting is just appalling, Stephen Dorff and Natascha McElhone are two accomplished actors who turn in really second rate performances, Stephen Rea acts as if he's appearing in a local pantomime, and the supporting cast seems as if they're members of the public who've just been pulled of the streets and told to read lines. The direction is sloppy, disjointed, packed with continuity errors, and contains some really substandard computer generated effects. Overall, 'FearDotCom' is a film which has absolutely no redeeming qualities whatsoever, avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Torturing the Audience, 17 Oct 2003
By 
Nightlegend (Alexandria, Egypt) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Feardotcom [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
WARNING:THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME SPOILERS , PLEASE DON'T PROCEED IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN THE , OR CONTINUE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!
Many of the modern day's horror movies suffers from a very serious problem ....Clishes which means taking some successful elemnts or themes which was implemented in previous successful movies in the past and applying them again , this results in the movie being a very pale copies of the past shiny one , and unfortunately (FearDotCom) is a very clear example on the above lines .
The story focuses on a bizzare website filled with strange images of torture and death , any visitor for this site suffers a deadly bleeding to death within forty eight hours of entering the site , a local Detective (Mike played by Stephen Dorff) teams with one of the staff of Health Department (Terry played by Natascha McElmone) to solve the Mysterious deaths , the blood trail leads them to the Doctor , a strange character used to torture his victims and broadcast the whole process on the Web , and in order find the answer to their questions they have to visit the doomed site themselves , means they have only less than forty eight hours to solve the mystery and save themselves .
the main problem of the movie aside of the Clishes is the almost unexisting plot , the plot is very tiny , with a very weak building up for events , Stereotype characters which is impossible to care for, dumb characters driving themselves foolishly in the wrong situations and all the other sort of the low qualities of the cheap horror flicks(which in my opinion includes an Unnecessary usage of nudity ).
the casting was satisfying with typical performance from Dorff and McElmone , you really feel their effort to deliver a good performance but unfortunately the movie hasn't helped them , the photography needs to be mentioned here , it really was great and added some value for the movie , the director of the photography ( Christian Sebaldt ) have done a good job in capturing the haunting atmosphere required for this kind of movies , with a good use of colors and shadows and strong scenes of torture made with different techniques , the Director (William Malone who did a commentary for the DVD along with Christian Sebaldt ) tried and tried but with this kind of scripts you can't deliver anything whoever you are .
FearDotCom wasn't really that bad as many reviewers said , it has some good moments with one or two jumping moments but all of that had fade to black like their black website .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An extremely disappointing trainwreck of a film, 21 Feb 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feardotcom [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
It's hard to see how Fear Dot Com could be anything less than spectacular - until you actually watch it, that is. I love the idea of this film, and there are plenty of intriguing aspects to the storyline, but unfortunately none of these inspirations is ever truly explored, and the ending is a complete mess that only spreads the questions and confusion generated by the film in all manner of confused directions. It's akin to watching a criminal in the old days being drawn and quartered; your excitement at watching it turns to disgust and dismay once you see the mess left after the film is pulled in so many directions all at once.
Even the opening death scene is problematic. You have this weird guy somehow standing in a subway station that is miraculously empty, only to get himself killed after seeing a creepy girl in white playing on the tracks; the guy seemed to have reached a safe spot only to jump back in front of the train for no apparent reason. Stephen Dorff plays Mike Reilly, the lead detective in the case, and he is joined by Terry Huston from the Department of Health (Natascha McElhone) because the victim apparently began bleeding from his eyes before he was killed. Huston's initial suspicions of an Ebola-type virus are soon disproved, yet she somehow manages to stay on the case and be treated like a bonafide detective by the whole department. Some other people die in a similar manner, including Terry's boss, and it turns out that the only thing the victims had in common was a recent visit (exactly two days before their time of death) to a certain web site. As all of this is going on, we see the handiwork of "the Doctor" and get to enjoy a few peeks at his web site; what this guy does is to torture victims online while other sickos watch, killing them only when they beg for death. It sounds pretty cool, but it isn't; it's especially hard to be frightened of a guy who talks like Liberace having a bad hair day. Terry begs Mike not to visit the website in question, but you can imagine how all of this plays out. Two-thirds of the way in, the movie really falls apart; all the promising plot lines are allowed to go their own separate directions, and the ultimate confrontation is really just silly. After all of this, we are treated to a final scene that means absolutely nothing as far as I can tell.
What really frustrated me about this film, though, is not the inferior plot. It is the fact that the director seemingly refused to use any lighting whatsoever for any of the scenes. I can understand the desire to make a film dark and dreary, but what we get here is ridiculous. I was constantly peering into a dark screen simply trying to see what was happening. No one in this movie turns on a light, and the sight of a flashlight was a joyous occasion for me; these New Yorkers don't even turn on a light when they arrive home in the middle of the night. Autopsies are performed in the dark - it's ridiculous. Why go to the trouble of even constructing a set if you're not going to let your audience actually see any of it?
I would be remiss if I did not mention the presence of horror icon Jeffrey Combs in this film, but I have to say his is basically a throwaway role that contributes almost nothing to the story. The DVD does feature a deleted scene that failed to impress me, and a short featurette on the making of the film. The featurette and the trailer can make the film sound pretty good, but it is really a major disappointment. I should probably listen to the commentary with director William Malone just to see how he explains himself, but given the fact that this would require me to watch this movie again, I think I will pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unwatchable, 24 Sep 2003
This review is from: Feardotcom [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
While I adore Stanley Kubrick's The Shining, I should preface this review by warning you that I'm not the biggest fan of horror movies, so it's possible that there are connoisseurs who can appreciate Feardotcom on levels I cannot. Possible, but not probable, judging by the vast ocean of negative feedback the theatrical release received.
My partner wanted to see this film and talked me into seeing it. The preview didn't look all that bad, the title amused me, and Stephen Rea happened to be in it, the talented star of The Crying Game. How bad could it be?
Astonishingly bad is the answer, and not in an "oh, but I love bad movies" kind of way. This is a monotonous, dull, confusing trainwreck of a film with nothing to redeem it but the occasional atmospheric camera shot. The plot has something to do with a website that contains a subliminal advertisement which triggers hallucinations of a little girl bouncing a ball. Somehow, these hallucinations lead to the characters' deaths, which didn't happen quickly enough for my liking, as none of them were particularly interesting. Even Stephen Rea fails to generate any real sense of emotion, momentum or (heavens forbid) danger, despite playing as macabre a villain as any in recent memory.
After apologizing for dragging me to it, my partner proceeded to kill the rest of our evening by fuming about what a terrible waste of film it was, and how shamelessly it ripped off The Ring, Poltergeist, Seven, etc. I can safely say I've had better evenings.
Derivative, rambling and incoherent, Feardotcom tries to be genuinely frightening, but succeeds only at being unpleasant. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ring rip off, 21 July 2007
This review is from: Feardotcom [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This review will contain spoilers so don't read if this bothers you.

This film is a complete ring rip off and not a good one either, there are several scenes that could have been straight out of ring with different actors;
-Scene where body found in water.
-Finding body doesn't end curse.

The whole film felt like several other movies that had been ripped off and it was done badly. I didn't care about the leads, or any of the characters, apart from the cat lol. The leading lady was a terrible actress, no one seemed too bothered when bad things happened.
Avoid unless you find this very cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip-Off Dot Com, 19 May 2006
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Feardotcom [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Directed by William Malone, Fear Dot Com - with its tag line on the back of the DVD cover "One Click And You're Dead" looked and sounded like it would be a brilliant horror thriller. Further enforced by the fact that it stars Blade's Stephen Dorff, I was expecting an exciting and slick film that would be well worth the watch. Unfortunately (due to the reasons detailed below) Fear Dot Com fails completely, and has since earned a place on my "Avoid At All Costs" movie list.

The idea behind this unoriginal "The Ring" wannabe is decent, and follows a series of gruesome deaths. The only connection between the victims seems to be a mysterious voyeuristic like website where you can watch people be tortured and murdered. This website for some reason then causes a number of people who have logged in to die within forty eight hours. It's up to a New York Detective and a health examiner to investigate the deaths, especially when they all appear to have died of fright. The plot came across as very confusion and disjointed, and also includes a mad scientist and serial killer, a drunk professor, and the ghost of a child.

Despite being an obvious rip-off of The Ring as well as several other films, Fear Dot Com still had plenty of potential. The idea of using a website in the way that Fear Dot Com does, was a good one to say the least. The only part of The Ring which scared me was when Samara climbs out of the television. It's great to take a piece of technology that most of us use every day without a second though, and use it to scare us. I'm just waiting for the day where someone makes a horror film based on mind controlling killer computer printers (or something like that.) But despite a good idea and one or two other redeeming qualities, the lazy approach, copied and non-sense plot, poor acting, and other failings seriously suppress anything that maybe worthwhile in the film.

I found the characters in Fear Dot Com, unbelievable and hard to relate too. I didn't think enough time or effort was put into their creation and development. Despite liking Stephen Dorff, I felt that he was the wrong choice for Detective Mike Reilly. There was no decent chemistry or human elements to or between the cast, and not enough information given on The Doctor (I wonder how long it took them to find that name up.) None of the cast seem to give a decent performance and at times even seem bored. I'm not surprised as some of the dialogue is hopeless, and a few scenes are just utter pointless.

Not to forget that by the end of the film, things don't really make much sense. There is too much going on at the same time, and things are over complicated by taking a number of different ideas and throwing them together.

There was a few concepts to the film I enjoyed. The first being the note worthy visual effects and great eerie atmosphere and tone. Also there are a few moments of tension that were handled well.

But in summery Fear Dot Com is definitely below average, and I can't find any real reason to recommend that you spend one hour and thirty seven minutes of your life watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The only "fearful" thing about this film is the acting, 24 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. B. E. Fletton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear Dot Com [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Whist admitting that this film is now "an oldie" in that it was made nearly 10 years ago, that is no excuse for the fact that it robbed me of 100 minutes of my life. The only "fearful" thing is the acting and the fear that I might have to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jeez! Wot the hell is this???, 10 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Dot Com [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The adverts looked very hopeful for this terrible film! I watched the first 5 mins of it, quite good and griping, and found my self snoring by the end! I advise you not to waste your time on this film! IT'S TOTALLY RUBBISH!!!!!!! :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear Dot Com [DVD] [2003] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
9.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews