Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIVE BRILLIANCE !, 9 Feb 2003
By 
Wallace Holmes (BEDFORDVIEW, GAUTENG South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At the International (Audio CD)
Fresh from the success of the NBC TV Special, this is the "first live appearance in 9 years" - and finds the "King" at his brilliant best : tanned, slim and dressed in slinky black, Elvis belts out an amazing performance at the midnight show at the International 23 August 1969.
At the peak of his powers, this show reveals a Presley full of vigour and enthusiasm - clearly wanting to do what he does best : performing "live" for his fans.
From the great opening of "Blue Suede Shoes" through many Presley classics, this is truly one of his best ever concerts. Highlights include a superb bluesy "Heartbreak Hotel"; a tender "Are You Lonesome Tonight" ( no laughing !); the brilliant and infrequently performed "Reconsider Baby"; and the show's absolute best : a knock-out 8 minutes of "Suspicious Minds" - probably the best live version I've heard.
A stunning live performance of Elvis truly at the peak of his performing prowess. If you love Elvis live, go get it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's What I Call "SOLID ROCK", 4 Sep 2003
This review is from: Elvis Live At The International (Audio CD)
BEST, BEST, BEST Elvis Concert CD
That's a solid Rock & Roll, That's really Punk!
Time is August 23 1969 Elvis was absolute at his best.
Sound of the CD is superb.
Balance of mixing is superb.
I'm always hard to please Fan but this time I couldn't find anything to criticize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "put that in yr pipe and smoke it", 17 Feb 2012
This review is from: Elvis Live At The International (Audio CD)
This is my favourite period Elvis (68-73) back and engaged.

After the technical mess of the TV special (the orchestra!) saved by the sheer vocal vitality of Elvis singing his heart out to relaunch himself - this is sheer aural pleasure. Slightly less raw vocally Elvis is passionate but controlled, the band is tight and no discordant blaring, the audience can be heard at the right level, and the set is just to die for. Elvis is having a ball, the songs are fresh, and for anyone who thinks the Vegas-Memphis/Memphis-Vegas version of Suspicious Minds was mind-blowing (and it was, and still is) here is 8 minutes of Elvis belting it out even more.

You can sense he was enjoying it, but above all there is that mixture Elvis carried off at his best: the swagger of telling the critics he was not washed up, but the humility and sense of disbelief that we all cared. I was alive when Elvis did this - I was 11, how I wish I could have been there. This is as good as it gets and thank heavens it is now released. What on earth were RCA ever thinking of that we have had to wait so long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally it's out on CD (or close enough anyway), 30 April 2005
By 
Mr. Nigel G. S. Lambert "NigPol" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the International (Audio CD)
This is one of the concerts I have been waiting for to come out on CD, I only had it on LP and like the majority of us don't get them out very often. So special thanks to Wallace Holmes who mentioned the 8 min rendition of Suspicion Minds which drew my attention to it. I was in seventh heaven listening to is again. Great concert you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS: THE GREATEST OF ALL TIME., 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the International (Audio CD)
I COLLECT EVERYTHING OF ELVIS, BUT THIS IS "RAW & ROCKIN" !! IT SHOWS THE KING AS ALL BIG FANS REMEMBER A YOUNG & FULL OF FUN KING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Live At The International (Audio CD)
This is one of Elvis' finest live albums. I suspect it comes from the '69 season with Elvis on top form. There's some chatting to the audience which can be either interesting or annoying but of course Elvis never really thought this would ever be put out as an album. It was just a live show to him. The singing and musical backing are top class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis rocks !!!, 8 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis Live At The International (Audio CD)
Elvis Presley can stir up emotion like noone else. This cd demonstrates the King's greatness. I am in awe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at the international (live), 16 Jun 2003
This review is from: At the International (Audio CD)
What can i say but a fantastic cd we get to hear elvis talking abuot his early days. The music is brilliant elvis at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at the International, 30 Aug 2003
This review is from: Elvis Live At The International (Audio CD)
On the whole this album is very good. recorded in the summer of 1970 while elvis was at his peak, both pysicaly and vocaly. He sings with great passion and power. i would also recomend that if you like this you should buy 'elvis: thats the way it is' on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis Live At The International
Elvis Live At The International by Elvis Presley (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews