Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm your baby tonight Part II
Ignore what many critics have said: this is a good album. The danger here is that many are reviweing 'Just Whitney' against 'My love is your love' and expect Whitney to carry on from there. She doesn't. This CD is more of a continuation from 'I'm your baby tonight' rather than 'My love is your love'.
However, you need to get past the truly dreadful...
Published on 13 Dec 2002 by Muyak

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whitney does just enough....
As one of music's most successful artiste, Whitney Houston has ridden a turbulent storm lately with intense media speculation about her marriage, health, etc. So what better way to divert the attention from the public eye than by releasing a new album 'Just Whitney'.
From listening to it, there is nothing greatly special about the material chosen. Moreover, it...
Published on 3 Dec 2002 by Nissan Skyline


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm your baby tonight Part II, 13 Dec 2002
This review is from: Just Whitney (Audio CD)
Ignore what many critics have said: this is a good album. The danger here is that many are reviweing 'Just Whitney' against 'My love is your love' and expect Whitney to carry on from there. She doesn't. This CD is more of a continuation from 'I'm your baby tonight' rather than 'My love is your love'.
However, you need to get past the truly dreadful 'Whatchulookinat'to realy appreciate this album. It just goes to prove that Whitney should stick to singing the song, not writing them. Whatever possesed Arista to issue this as the lead off single from Whitney's 1st album in 4 years is beyond me.
'Tell me no' is the standout heretrack on this set. Love the rock guitar 'solo' at the end. I don't generally like hip hop so I wasn't holding out much hope for the Missy Elliot produced track called 'Things you say'. Surprisingly it is very good. Not hip hop at all but quite bluesy and expansive with a lot of space fro Whitney's voice. What would a Whitney album be without a good old traditional ballad. In this recording it comes in the forms of 'On my own', 'Unashamed' and the Debbie Boone cover 'You light up my life'. Of the trio 'On my own' is the probably the best one in my opinion. You almost expect the refrain from 'I will always love you'
'One of those days' just hits a joyous summer groove and 'Dear John Letter' is excelent. These are typical R&B mid tempo songs sung perfectly to showcase the voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitney blazes back and true to form it's goosebump time...., 6 Dec 2002
This review is from: Just Whitney (Audio CD)
Whitney is back with a new album. She doesn't put out an album often but when she does the results are always top notch and she truly doesn't disappoint this time round either. First single 'Whatchulookinat' kicks off the album reminding you that Whitney still has attitude. But this is only the mere tip of the iceberg. 'On My Own' is Whitney doing the searing ballad and she sounds every bit as good as she did singing, 'I will always love you' and 'The Greatest love of all'. 'Unashamed' is another brilliant showcase for her vocals which are back to goosebump time. She does a cover of the Debbie Boone classic 'You light up my life' and surpasses that version with ease. Elsewhere is the more uptempo 'Love that man' which is reminiscint of 'I wanna dance with somebody', 'How will I know' and 'Step by Step'. Then Whitney gets us into a more down tempo mode for the slinky 'Things You Say' which cries out for a late night listen with the lights down low... But truly spectacular is the brilliant 'Tell me No' which Whitney sings with such defiance and which contains a brilliant guitar solo at the end which is in the same league as the excellent 'Santana'. 'Dear John letter' is a funky soul number that has an irresistable and addictive beat that gets under your skin after a few listens and just won't let go.
She teams up with hubby Bobby Brown for the uptempo 'My Love', which showcases two brilliant singers who just happen to be married. No schmaltz either on this song which comes a great surprise.
Then there's upcoming single 'One of those days' which coasts along on a relaxed and sublime melody and with those trademark Whitney vocals caressing the beat. This great song (My personal Favourite) contains The Isley Brothers 'Between the sheets' as a sample, which is pure genius. (Whitney even gives MR BIG a mention in the song!)
Alongside the music Cd is a DVD which contains two Whitney Video's (the rare 'Love to infinity' mix that has a great 'Whitney-through-the-years' video montage).
This album is an extension of Whitney new and Whitney old and blends together surprising well. The diva is back and with her demons now out in the open, anyone can see (and hear), that this time she really has something to sing about and it is 'JUST WHITNEY'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whitney does just enough...., 3 Dec 2002
This review is from: Just Whitney (Audio CD)
As one of music's most successful artiste, Whitney Houston has ridden a turbulent storm lately with intense media speculation about her marriage, health, etc. So what better way to divert the attention from the public eye than by releasing a new album 'Just Whitney'.
From listening to it, there is nothing greatly special about the material chosen. Moreover, it comprises of the kind of fail-safe tracks that saw Whitney sell a phenomenal 120 million copies from her previous eight album releases alone.
Enjoyable moments include the smooth R&B groove 'One Of Those Days', the disco-ready pop of 'Love That Man', which harks back to her earlier work, and 'Whatchulookinat?' a sassy snapshot of lyrics and beats about the trials and tribulations of being in the fame spotlight.
The rest of the numbers are standard Whitney numbers - a mixture of power ballads and R&B vibes of the sort that has been her trademark over the years. They simply do their job, no more, no less.
This is one of those indifferent albums where there is nothing negative to say about the music, but at the same time nothing much to shout about either. Overall, 'Just Whitney' is a 'nice-to-have' album rather than a 'must-have' purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Whitney, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Just Whitney (MP3 Download)
Just Whitney is as close to the old Whitney as i've heard from later albums, maybe not as strong on the vocals as times but still great.
Highlights for me - tell me no / unashamed / one of those days..
This is a good rounded set from Whitney and if it's not in your collection you're missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitney Proves She's The Empress Of Modern Music, 30 Nov 2002
By 
Neil (Wales, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just Whitney (Audio CD)
If an artist has a small gap between releasing material then people will automatically say their new material is a comback. I disagree!
With the "Just Whitney" album Whitney Houston builds on the success of the "My Love is Your Love" album to produce an album that is pure R'n'B. The album is smooth and sleek - a definite chill out album. It is worthy of the title pure R'n'B and gives more recent R'n'B artists a run for their money.
Fans of 80's Whiney, with her dancy, pop tunes like "I Wanna Dance With Somebody", will probably dislike this album. It contains the fantastic single "Whatchulookinat" which is a direct attack on the press who have given her a lot of negative press over the last few years.
There are some classic Whitney ballads, the best of which being "On My Own". However, that generic R'n'B feel is never to far away, its influence is evedent. Equally evedent is the influence of the new production team she has behind her now that Arista Founder Clive Davis has stepped down. They have pulled out all the stops to make this album the next logical progression from "My Love is Your Love".
Other well delivered and produced gems on the album include the Babyface produced "Tell Me know", the upbeat "Love That Man" and the forthcoming, Sh'ekspere produced single "One of those Days"
"Just Whitney" is a must have for all Whitney Fans as it demonstrates her versatility and ability to adapt to the changing face of popular music. R'n'B fans too, will find a gem of an album here. Whitney's voice is as flawless as every.
It's not a comeback, because as soon as you press play on the HiFi, you realise, she's never been away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good album ,but sadly overlooked, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Whitney (Audio CD)
As viewed in previous reviews this album had both positve and negative comments.You have to really listen to it and feel the vibe,soul and the flow.it is a fantastic album but sadly not given proper recognition.if u are a die hard fan of whitney u shouid not miss it.I recommend it .enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Whitney-I love it!, 9 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Whitney (Audio CD)
"Experts" say this is not the best album of Whitney, but I as a fan of R'N'B music tell you, is a great album:)
Very sexy & sensual !Nothing in this album does't sound like that...
You will not go wrong if you take it,I'm sure!
A special edition that was made as a gift for the fans like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Whitney (Audio CD)
fantastic voice great easy listening cd good quality shame she is sadly no longer with us to make such beautiful music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Keith C. Hales (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Whitney (Audio CD)
decided to buy this album on cd as i had only got the download version,the sound from cd is much better,just gotta love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rip.......................x, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Whitney (Audio CD)
an almost forgotten album by whitney ,......the songs ,make it on my own and dear john letter are worth buying for these tracks alone !.......dont know why this album flopped ?.....anyway if you are a fan its worth having .........you are missed whitney !.luckeybear x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Whitney
Just Whitney by Whitney Houston (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews