Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Textbook for the Unix Professional, 24 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: DNS and BIND (Paperback)
I bought this book in order to understand and sort out the problems with the DNS setup of a large customer running multiple Unix systems. While it was a one-off purchase for a single job rather than part of any ongoing task I feel it was money very well spent. Whilst readable it is clearly a solid technical textbook aimed at people who do this for a living rather than a popular guide. For someone who just wants to learn about how the Internet works out of curiosity it would be pointless to buy this book. Ideally you need a fair knowledge of such things as Unix and TCP/IP to get the best out of this book, but if like me you do this to pay the mortgage and put food in front of the children, then this book is a must have for the low down on BIND and DNS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best DNS book out there, 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: DNS and BIND (Paperback)
Many people refer to this book as the DNS bible, it takes you right from the very beginning building up your knowledge of DNS and continues to give all the information you need to get a bind server running. Of course there couldn't be a better pair of authors to write this book, as of course you will discover they are responsible (with the ISC) for maintaining bind. I would recommend this to anyone working with or setting up DNS servers on any flavour of UNIX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The de-facto DNS book, 21 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: DNS and BIND (Paperback)
Remember DNS is pretty dry, especially if you just learning it from a book. That said, this book is pretty much the std one to go for if you want to learn about DNS. It is clear and concise whilst still covering topics in a detail level that will suit 99% of DNS admins.
If you're looking for a book on DNS that will help you from starting out to becoming "Mr. Classless in.addr.arpa" buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful reference., 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: DNS and BIND (Paperback)
Although some examples can be a little unlikely, this book manages to be the best resource for DNS reference. When we have a problem, this book is where I look over and above *any* online resource. You will not be sorry you bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3 C's: Clear, Concise, Comprehensive, 9 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: DNS and BIND (Paperback)
Well, that says it all, really. If you need to set up name lookup services with any more complexity than editing /etc/hosts, then this book is for you. It takes the mystery out of what is one of the least well-documented but most important services on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Internet Classic..., 8 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: DNS and BIND (Paperback)
This is the classic guide to one of the core functions of the Internet. If you run name servers, this is the reference yoú should read. Though I'm eager to see what the duo shows up on BIND 9.x, DNSSEC and the impact of IPv6 on DNS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Comprehensive Guide to the founding principles of the WWW, 8 April 2000
By 
Mr Tim S Parkin (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DNS and BIND (Paperback)
Every person who has contact with web based administration must have this book. It's saved me many hours work and I wouldn't be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book for administrators of DNS, 23 Oct 2000
By 
J. East "Nobrot" (Kingsthorpe - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DNS and BIND (Paperback)
This book has everything for the novice upto expert level. This is one book I strongly recomend for those who use DNS on Unix/Linux. Synopsis - "It wasn't so difficult after all"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the way to understand DNS, 5 Nov 1998
By A Customer
If you are connected to the internet and need to understand, plan, use , bla bla bla bla ...
Buy this book right now, it you help you to dive into DNS, the growth of internet and make you more smart about solving problems, attacks and other internet related stuff ...
Have fun !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good for beginners. but beginners dont run DNS :-), 19 April 1998
By A Customer
Well this book is quite good for beginnners, but like I said, beginners dont attempt to run DNS :-). Maybe they want to know more about it, which then its good for the first few chapters, but the rest is on configuration and installation of the software, which is quite good I must admit. I allways use it and find it handy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DNS AND BIND
DNS AND BIND (Paperback)
Used & New from: 27.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews