Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Her Own Limelight
Her debut solo album shows us the real Kelly after her being some what shadowed in Destiny's Child. Her vocals are smooth yet strong and powerful with a good range. The album features Dilemna which was her first single since Destiny's Child featurring Nelly. This was a mainstream rap/pop tune but the rest of the album tracks don't tend to be like that. They are more...
Published on 30 Jun 2003 by Susan Davey

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very average- I'm disapointed
I was expecting a brilliant album having loved dilema and cant nobody. And as for stole- well i think thats a truly brilliant song especially when you hear it along with the video.
However I was disapointed with her album. On the first listening i got really bored and wandered off to do something else. However next time i stuck it out and got to the next single train...
Published on 29 July 2003 by mad_hysterical_laughter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting Her Own Limelight, 30 Jun 2003
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
Her debut solo album shows us the real Kelly after her being some what shadowed in Destiny's Child. Her vocals are smooth yet strong and powerful with a good range. The album features Dilemna which was her first single since Destiny's Child featurring Nelly. This was a mainstream rap/pop tune but the rest of the album tracks don't tend to be like that. They are more soulful and there tends to be more ballads than pop songs or more edgy different sounds.
Her first solo single is Stole. This a meaningful and soulful ballad telling a story of young people's lives being stolen in different ways. Kelly's vocals are strong and moving and this was a perfect debut track.
Can't Nobody is the next track to be released. It is very edgy and I really love it. It has a very strong bass line and is a fun livley song and I thought quite different.
I also really liked Simply Deep which was a beautiful song written by Beyonce's younger sister Solange who also sings with Kelly on this track.
Haven't Told You is another personal favourite. Kelly's vocals are smooth and like silk on this ballad like track, with not a very strong bass line but more acoustic guitars etc
I have to say I didn't really like the tracks Obsession or Love/Hate . Obsession was very 'fake' sounding as synthesisers played a big part in the dischordant melody. The same goes to say for Love/Hate which sounds rather digital and something that Brandy would have.
Overall I am really pleased with this album and think it is a r'n'b classic. You should all buy it as Kelly is going to be huge with these unique and beautiful songs on which her vocal talent shines
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go for it Kelly !, 3 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
I prefer Kelly to her somewhat rival Beyonce. Her music just sounds better, and I feel she doesn't get enough singing time in Destiny's Child. Yes she will have more hits with DC but as Beyonce has more or less taken over DC, Kelly and Michelle have more or less been pushed aside. In this album we get to see what Kelly is really like, and I think she is possibly one of the best R&B singers around... songs like Stole and Haven't I Told You are the real highlights of the album, but most of the songs are pretty good. You will not be disapointed you bought this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Independent Kelly, 24 Aug 2003
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
It was exciting times for the music industry when the three members of R&B Super-Group 'Destinys Child' announced they would all be creating solo albums for themselves. Michelle Williams released a gospel offering in early 2002 to both critical and public acclaim, putting the pressure on Kelly and Beyonce to deliver something very special indeed. After collaborating with rapper Nelly on the smash hit of 2001 - 'Dilemma', Rowland was in a great position and she clearly hasnt let the opputurnity slip. Track one on the album, and her debut solo single, 'Stole' sets the standard for this wonderful album. A beautiful and meaningful R&B song with a rock edge to it. Perfection.
The second single to be lifted from this release was the wonderful, and my personal favourite, 'Cant Nobody'. This R&B Funk at its finest! The track is everything an R&B Funk track wants to be but yet what so few actually are. By this point band-mate Beyonce would have been quivering in her boots! Kelly is most certainly here to stay. And so we move on to the third and possibly final release from the album, 'Train on a Track'. Though not as commercial as the first two singles, this is a very nice little number thats been put together very well and is perfect for Ms. Rowland's smooth and sexy vocals. But this is not an album with four hits 11 fillers, oh no, this is ALL KILLER! The album is a joy to listen to from start to finish, with the insanely delicious 'Havent Told You', a sleek R&B ballad, the brilliant 'Love/Hate' thats as sharp as a knife edge and the Hip-Hop fueled collaboration with Joe Budden 'Make U Wanna Stay'. These are just a few highlights. The truth is every single track on this album brings something new and undeniably classy to the table.
There is no doubt at all that this is THE R&B release of 2002. Her success as a solo artist has given Kelly Rowland all the praise people thought would only belong to Beyonce. If this wonderful album is anything to go by, its going to be a closer race for solo supremecy than the critics may have predicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 Years On & It Still Sounds Fresh, 24 Jan 2006
By 
S. Mangan-Taylor "strawberrybounce2005" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
It's been nearly 3 years since this album reached #1 in the UK and it still sounds as fresh as the day it was released. A truely fantastic album packed full of excellent, high standard tracks. There is not one dull track on the album.
I cannot wait for the new album and I just hope that she can follow it up in style!
My personal favourites:
Stole
Love/Hate
Past 12
Can't Nobody
Train On A Track
Make U Wanna Stay
No Coincidence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Deep, 17 Nov 2002
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
As hard as it is to believe that anyone could possibly overshadow Destiny's Child frontwoman Beyonce Knowles, that's precisely what her partner Kelly Rowland did during the summer of 2002 when her guest spot on Nelly's "Dilemma" shook up the cards in the DC hierarchy.
"Dilemma," included on here, is an alluring piece of garbage to launch a solo career from: Lacking either an interesting beat or a smart chorus, it's somehow pop magic -- ridiculously stupid, yet entirely infectious all the same. By that token, Rowland's own follow-up, "Stole," is brilliant, with its silly lyrics ("Now we're never gonna see him slam/Flying high as Kobe can") on school shootings and a hook straight from the "ABC Guide to Melody" that works all the same.
What becomes Rowland's problem on her solo bow is largely an assertion of identity, of which she has none. Destiny's Child's appeal rests largely on its sassy image, but it didn't rub off on Rowland; whereas Beyonce has always been seen as the feisty femme-bot and relative newcomer Michelle Williams the gospel sweetheart, Rowland's public persona has amounted to being Knowles' best friend and sidekick.
Rowland, however, gives it her all in spite of the obvious fact that the album was hastily put together; Simply Deep is certainly more diverse than anyone could have expected. The Destiny's Child-like club tracks ("Make You Wanna Stay," "Can't Nobody") notwithstanding, the album is built around much more organic, mid-tempo love songs ("My Obsession," "Heaven") than the DC oeuvre allowed, and it's a refreshing change. Tracks like "No Coincidence" and "Beyond Imagination," which merge the glittering guitar pop of Michelle Branch with a modern R&B strut, show great promise. For the real Kelly Rowland, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Beautiful, 19 Sep 2003
By 
matthew cortez (leicester, Coalville United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
Stole - We all know this one!!!
Dilemma - '....'
Haven't told you - beautiful ballad, kellys vocals are sharp and simple, this kinda reminds me of emotions by dc.
cant nobody - '....'
Love/hate - a wicked elctric club thumper, cheeky lyrics with hate and passion wicked track!
simply deep - has an arabic drum feel or japanese or chinese instruments, solange and kelly perform brilliantly!
love lies in strange places - a very simple mushy pop/r'n'b track, its quite cheesy but just uplifting and nice
obsession - mellow great vocals get lost in the lrics!!
Heaven - just a basic ballad with nicely done vocals
past 12 - a brilliant club banger , very cheerful po/r'n'b
everytime u walk out that door - refreshing but sad ballad
train on a track - brilliant!!!!! mello refreshing oririginal and happy!!!!!! the best ever
beyond imagination - beautiful has everything a ballad should have
make u wanna stay - club thumper lyrics!!! and has joe budden
no coincidence / pure charming pop a great choon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you Like Kelly You Won't Be Disappointed, 14 Nov 2006
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
I Knew Kelly's CD would be great. Heard a few of these tracks on the radio, but it was never announced who sang these songs on the radio. I was very pleased to know these songs were song by Kelly Rowland. Every track is great. I love this CD. One I will be playing again and again. A True Talented Artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Deep, 6 July 2006
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
I listen to Kelly's "simply deep" album all the time, and never get bored of the songs.
I actually think this is better than Beyonce's "dangerously in love" album, which don't get me wrong is also a great CD.
Some of the tracks didin't get me straight away, but after listening to them a few times I really started to get into them.
My favorite tracks include, stole, can't nobody, train on a track, no coincedence, beyond imagination and dilemma featuring Nelly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very average- I'm disapointed, 29 July 2003
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
I was expecting a brilliant album having loved dilema and cant nobody. And as for stole- well i think thats a truly brilliant song especially when you hear it along with the video.
However I was disapointed with her album. On the first listening i got really bored and wandered off to do something else. However next time i stuck it out and got to the next single train on a track. Thats catchy enough but nothing special from a member of the best band EVER.The first five songs are all really good though and got me humming along.
The album is growing on me but i will always be skipping the middle tracks and when you are on a low budget and cant buy many cds it is annoying when albums arnt what you hope.
In conclusion: Some good tracks but rather average considering what i think Kellys probably capable of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kelly shines as a solo artist, 24 Jan 2003
This review is from: Simply Deep (Audio CD)
Kelly Rowland's album simply deep rules!. It is not just Kelly cashing in on Destiny's Child's success, as this sound is more natural and organic. The album features, club bangers (love / Hate) (Can't Nobody) which are excellently produced, love songs, (every time you walk out that door) and guitar based mid tempo grroves (simply deep), if u havent heard stole, where have you been! This album is a gorgeous blend of R&b, pop, ballads, and a slow rock ballad stole. You can see the time taken on this album as kelly moves into the spotlight herself an seperates herself from the man bashing sound of destinys child. Kelly Rowland stands out from the rest and is no longer beyonce's sidekick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simply Deep
Simply Deep by Kelly Rowland (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews