Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over-technical 2nd album, 12 Oct 2004
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Legion (Audio CD)
Bleating goats and backwards invocations set a suitably satanic mood for Deicide's second album. Legion represents Decide at their most technical, and the stop and start odd time signatures makes this feel more like a Sadus record at times. In the 2 years since their debut Deicide have obviously grown in technical proficiency, with more complicated guitar-work and an increase in the amount of blastbeats, but somewhere along the way they've lost their knack of writing catchy songs, and compared to their contemporaries there's still a decided lack of killer guitar riffs. A little dry and over technical, but when it comes together - as on tracks like In Hell I Burn, Deicide still pump out some intense brutal death metal. Looking back now, with better musicianship and less catchy songs evening each other out, this is probably on a par with their debut album, but with the majority of other early '90's death metal acts peaking with their second albums Legion didn't go down particularly well at the time, with even the band themselves backing off from the technical aspects on subsequent albums. Worth rediscovering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The good Ole' days..., 11 Sep 2006
By 
This review is from: Legion (Audio CD)
Not much more can be said about Legion that hasn't already been said. But I'm gonna say my piece anyway, out of appreciation for the record's magnificent effect it had on me as a kid.
Legion was the much anticipated follow up to Deicide's debut self titled masterpiece.
I was expecting more of the same, with that 1990/91 catchy anthemic riffage and chanting chorus'(Dead by Dawn, Deicide etc..)
But no. was I in for a big suprise!
What the world was presented with was a maniacal bludgeoning of stop start guitars, time changes to make you dizzy (and a little bit sick) and some of the most hate fueled rhetoric the metal world had ever heard. Deicide did for the christian faith musically what the Dead Kennedys did for the American politcal system.
After the slow and infernal intro sample, replete with burning lambs and backwards messages, Satan Spawn the Caco Daemon kicks in. 'This must be good', I thought to myself as a 13 year old boy, 'my parents will hate it more the debut!!!'.
It took me more than one listen to get my head around the frenetic time changes this album coughs up. There are not as many "catchy" songs on here, unlike the debut, but what it lacks in easily remembered riffs, it more than makes up for in utter evil intent and sheer brutality. One of the first albums I ever heard to include a kind of blast beat, it was just mind blowing.
Deicide may have had their ups and downs since (mainly downs sadly) but this album should always be remembered as the day they really pushed the boat out musically.
My personal favourite track is 'Dead But Dreaming', providing not only crazy time changes musically, but also some of the most rapid firing vocal arrangements young Mr Benton had ever fired off until joining Vital Remains recently.
Over all an integral piece of Death metal history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even after nearly 20 years, it still smacks a punch., 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Legion (Audio CD)
The reviews before mine probably better state the case that this album may have over-emphasised Decide's new-found technical skills over their quite proficent songwritting on their self titled debut, but I always prefered this album over anything else Deicide ever recorded. As a 15 yr old hearing the album back in 1992 (I believe it was June'92? It was too sunny either way) and already an avid DM fan, this was a bolt from nowhere. Yes, it's obvious that Deicide had been listening to the more technical bands coming out of the Florida scene at the time and possibly thought "we've got to prove ourselves", but in my opinion, NO-ONE made such a visceral album such as they achieved - it may have been overcome since then, but the original template is still the best. Yes, some of the songs don't quite have the catchiness of their material from "Once Upon The Cross", which in retrospect has Glen Benton's best ever vocal tone, but for a bestial guitar sound, with some quite brilliant riffing and soloing from the Hoffman bros, plus Steve Ashiem's "in the pocket (and then some)" drumming, well before he was being acknowledged as one of DM's best drummers, Deicide never have matched this musical peak since. Not the most accessabile Deicide album, but the most rewarding. And one of the only death metal albums from the '90's that I still enjoy as much as when I first heard it. Well worth a listen, even if for nostalgia. They surely don't make them that way anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .....like gargled cut glass sung by a....., 17 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Legion (Audio CD)
Deicide shakes you to death!

Don't ever forget the worlds heaviest band and their early work. The Album bursts in with Satan spawn the Caco demon. The bleating (not animal pain, just normal goat/ sheep noise) at the start adds to the build up. Remember this album was cutting at the time and the contrasts from animal noise to utter oblivion guitar are sublime.

Bentans vocals, sound like gargled cut glass sung by a mass murderer, his utter distain hate and violence are well felt. Think Lemmy from Motorhead if he was born later and more dark.

Don't expect to like this album. Its like Captain Beefhearts Trout Mask replica, its there to be in your collection and be played occasionally.
After you first listen to it and decide its not for you, put it down for a bit and come back to it. I guarantee its worth having on your musical CV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album!!!, 20 Feb 2005
This review is from: Legion (Audio CD)
This album is just thrilling- some of the fastest & most complicated death metal I've heared till now. What could you want more? Excellent guitar riffs , complicated, fast-change tunes , some of the best rhythm my ears have ever heared (check out Repent To Die), great drumwork by Asheim & we must not forget the evil , harsh ,deep-throuted growls of Benton.
Lyrics are satanic in nature, but still are interesting. This is one hell of a album - nihilistic , pure in it's evilness and very ,very... very brutal. So if mommy and daddy will let you, try to find it and then listen to the pure brutallity that is DEICIDE's Legion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FASTEST, HEAVIEST, MENATLIST DEICIDE ALBUM/ALBUM EVER!!, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Legion (Audio CD)
If you listen to the later deicide like "imsineratehymn" and "once upon the cross" (which are both great albums), straight away you'll tell teh difference. Legion features amazing drumming heavy bass/guitar, grunting/screaming vocals. Of course all of Deicide's albums have these, but not all of them have the fastest written songs ever and bizarre time changes every where. when reading this, it sounds messy and screwed up, and not worth a buy. It is messy, it is screwed up and it is DEFINATELY worth a buy! Unfortunately once you've heard the first three songs, you have got the jist of legion, and want to go for the more varied stuff off "insinaeratehymn". Fine "Isinerathymn" is agreat album too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!, 7 Oct 2014
By 
Vittorio (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion (Audio CD)
Masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEICIDE-LEGION, 31 May 2007
This review is from: Legion (Audio CD)
This cd was my first exposure to DEICIDE. I was quite new to satanic death metal. THE sound of GLENS voice at the beginning was quite frightening. This album to me was a heavy as hell DEATH METAL smack in the mouth. However ive heard many more heavy cds since then but this one still stands out. buy this or go to hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legion
Legion by Deicide (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews