Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only for people with the right kind of mind!
This is a cult film for a reason, only a certain type of people can enjoy this film. Nothing can quite compare to reading the book but this a fantastic attempt at bringing it to life. A psychedelic self destructive journey through Las Vegas as you follow the doctor or journalism Raoul duke and his attorney Dr. Gonzo through their intense trip. If you haven't read the book...
Published on 16 Jun 2008 by Ben Kelly

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gonzo Cinema
Watching this film is the legal equivalent of ingesting several dozen magic mushrooms. It's based on Hunter S. Thompson's novella of the same name, about journalist Raoul Duke's trip (both literal and, uh, pharmaceutical) across the deserts of Nevada. This isn't Terry Gilliam's finest film or Johnny Depp's best role, but it's a passable version of the book. The one...
Published on 15 Mar 2000 by Ben Elliss


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only for people with the right kind of mind!, 16 Jun 2008
This is a cult film for a reason, only a certain type of people can enjoy this film. Nothing can quite compare to reading the book but this a fantastic attempt at bringing it to life. A psychedelic self destructive journey through Las Vegas as you follow the doctor or journalism Raoul duke and his attorney Dr. Gonzo through their intense trip. If you haven't read the book yet buy that and immediately read it and then buy the film. The film is fantastic for those who understand it, those with the right kind of eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously under-rated - Gilliam's best, 9 Sep 2005
By A Customer
My only regret about this film is that I didn't get to see it in the cinema - warned off by misguided critics.
Its a brilliant film - a surreal fun ride that plays like a live action Warner Brother's cartoon, but with the deeper, darker edge of Hunter S. Thompsons original story always present. Should be regarded as Gilliam's masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably one of the best films ever, 28 Feb 2008
By 
J. M. De-baecke (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a classic masterpiece, superb humour, a gorgeous soundtrack inercut with brilliant technical directing. Hunter S Thompson's novel is a worlwind of brilliance and this film is an excellent adaptation.
Enjoyable from being to end, this is the kind of thing you watch over and over loving it more each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gonzo Cinema, 15 Mar 2000
By 
Ben Elliss (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Watching this film is the legal equivalent of ingesting several dozen magic mushrooms. It's based on Hunter S. Thompson's novella of the same name, about journalist Raoul Duke's trip (both literal and, uh, pharmaceutical) across the deserts of Nevada. This isn't Terry Gilliam's finest film or Johnny Depp's best role, but it's a passable version of the book. The one thing this film does lacks is the manic, ad-libbed style of Thompson's text version. Still, it features flying Manta Rays (!) so it has its plus points!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Masterpiece!, 16 Mar 2006
This movie polarizes the audience like few before: while of course, there's people who like it and people who don't like it for any movie, 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' either excites immensely or almost repulses it's critics, and I dare to say that most of the negative responses are based on ignorance, or even fear, of introducing psychedelic experiences into mainstream culture.

You might have to read the book to fully understand some parts.. But you can still fully enjoy it even if you haven't read the book.

Personally, I regard 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' as one of my absolute favorites, definitely in my top 10, and possibly even top 3.

One of the many outstanding characteristics, besides a great soundtrack, excellent direction, and maybe the greatest achievement, since this is from far The best literary adaptations ever done, is the visual interpretation of the influence of LSD and other psychedelica. Though it has been tried many times, in 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' it has been done in a way that in my opinion deserves an Academy Award like 'Best Visual Interpretation', were there one like that.

The directing itself is fast paced with offseting angles a lot of wide angle lenses. Gilliam has a style which is unmistakable, it's like walking around inside of a Dali painting, everything is distorted and stretched to create a strong sense of surrealism.

There are so many great lines, and moments. To many to count, and that's thanks to Doc Thompson's great talent in writing and his active role in the filming of this movie.

Johnny Depp should have received an Oscar for it. His performance is nothing short of genius. But Benicio Del Toro's performance was second to none, actually his character was probably more difficult to play but he does such a great great job... He is Gonzo as Thompson described it in his books.

To conlude: if you know already Hunter S. Thompson you'll be blown away from this. If you don't, well, you should! And you can very much start from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bonkers, 23 Oct 2009
By 
Ken Raus "David O'Brien" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first,no-Then after a few views,great and well worth the reviews and oddly enough,I think atypical for Gilliam...Colourful,surreal,wacky,fun,gross but not to overdose on adjectives rather than mere drugs,fun-And funny in odd parts...Depp is fab,Del Toro,I didn't know but terrific...It does seem to slow up in a loopy kind of way midsection and get a bit sad near the wonky end but perks up again...The Diaz cameo in the lift is as amusant as the Ricci cameo is weird in the hotel room and it does dive into a predictable liberal spin with nasty copper/good poofter scenes on the road/in the hotel but maybe that's the story he wrote,I don't know although I do have the unread book to consult...Yes,it is shapeless but that's,well,you know, avant-garde or plain crazy drug-addictive or merely the arty loony loose with a camera but it does what faction and fiction,not to mention docutainment should do and that is entertain as long as you're not hankering for Henry James...It's good enough for me to get the extras version and I'm not a particular fan of Thompson some of whose interessant quotes stud the dialogue in a memorable fashion...The film style seems improvisatory but then its root is an autobigraphical fraction from real life-It's fun,a bit like a twee Disney adventure overtaken by berserk hippie anarchistas and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly funny, 15 Feb 2008
By 
P. Benson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm so glad I gave this film a try because it was absolutely hilarious in places. It's also as you would expect really dark and amoral as well.
The attorney character (del Toro) was my favourite, the funniest drug addict ever in film. It's had bad reviews but maybe time has been kind as it seems well written, with an exuberent devil may care attitude that works. Ihere are great performances and depp and del toro make a great double act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, Groovy, Hip, not at all Square, 25 July 2006
By 
R. Thompson (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Never underestimate the Spanish Inquisition. They may not have been terribly successful in Monty Python, that was expected, but outside the show, they achieved a lot. Terry Jones and Michael Palin followed their own paths, the latter seemingly walked down EVERY path in the world in his documentaries for the BBC, but it was Terry Gilliam who arguably went on to become the most creative member of the Python team. Primarily responsible for the animations in the show, Gilliam went behind the camera again after the end of Python, this time focusing on the big screen. Gilliam injected his unique creativity into all his films, mostly to great acclaim, "Time Bandits", "Brazil", and "Twelve Monkeys" all lauded by critics and fans. However, its his 1998 portrayal of journalist Hunter S Thompson's masterpiece "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas" that should be acknowledged as the pinnacle of Gilliam's work.
Every aspect of this film is stunning. The acting, the camera work, the soundtrack, the imagination, all truly staggering. The story centres around Thompson's alter ego Raoul Duke (Johnny Depp), who has been summoned to cover a motorcycle race in Vegas. Accompanied by his attorney Dr Gonzo (Benicio Del Toro), the drug-riddled expedition quickly escalates into a chaotic and perilous episode for the constantly intoxicated pair. The story descends into sheer psychedelic lunacy, as our heroes battle against the neon lights of Vegas, the conservative normality of the sober, and the watchful eyes of hotel staff. Johnny Depp produces a performance of vast quality, his portrayal of Thompson is probably highly accurate, considering he spent some time with Thompson before the making of the film, even sleeping in his house. Del Toro is fantastic as his accomplice, and a number of Hollywood regulars make fleeting appearances, including Cameron Diaz, Christina Ricci, and Tobey Maguire (even Flea from the Red Hot Chilli Peppers holds an unrecognisable part, as does Thompson). The art direction is absolutely stunning, the whole film really captures 1970s America, and the scenes of psychedelic drug highs are jaw dropping, there are plenty of them, and with a soundtrack including Hendrix, the Rolling Stones, and Jefferson Airplane, the film gives an absorbing insight into the many states of mind shaped by their vast array of drugs.
FALILV is hilarious, uneasy, fascinating, sobering, and ultimately exhilarating ride. Gilliam has blatantly spent a hell of thought, time, and effort on this majestic depiction of Thompson's literary classic, his work on the meticulous details of this narcotic fuelled trip has evidently produced a free-flowing and engrossing picture of the book. Its almost an unwritten rule of cinema that a big screen recreation of literature is never as good the original piece, FALILV may not be better than Thompson's writings, however it is just as brilliant as the book. In my opinion, buy the book and film, and savour both classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 2 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This was soo hilarious , Johnny Depp was Brilliant,as always, and so was Benicio Del Toro.They make such a great pair with some laugh out loud moments.I would recommend this film as its really funny , cleverly done and just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..this is not a good town for psychedelic drugs...", 4 Sep 2005
By A Customer
... reality its self is too twisted." Hunter S. Thompson, in my view, is one of America's best authors and died the only way he possibly could, suicide followed by having his ashes scattered across his ranch by cannon. This film is about two men in Vegas "in search of the American dream". The opening line is one of those that almost sums up the movie "We were some where near Barstow on the edge of the dessert when the drugs began to take hold." You can watch this film sober, drunk or stoned, it doesn't matter you will still feel twisted after the experience. Its got some great and memorable lines and I could spent the rest of this review listing them but I'm just going to finish by saying this is a cult classic, you might love it as I do and so do many people I know or you might think its just drug addled drivel. Either way its one not to be missed. Watch it and make your own decision!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas [DVD] [1998] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 4.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews