Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Bit of Kit, it is what it is...
I was an "early adopter" of Canon DSLRs buying a D30 at Christmas 2000 (a whole 3.2 mega pixels !) and later in 2001 wanted a remote shutter release cable which because of the fitting on the camera body, had to be one of these and I can remember being shocked at the price back then, it is cheaper now. I took no notice of the timer functions for quite a few years until I...
Published 7 months ago by J. Haynes

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin
This does exactly what is says it does, except it is very expensive for what it is. It is plastic and the screen is very small. The lead could be a little longer also. I got this a while ago and thought I would use the automated functions, but to be honest I've only used them 3-4 times. Most of the time I use it just as a remote shutter. Docking stars due to the silly...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by Mark Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Bit of Kit, it is what it is..., 16 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
I was an "early adopter" of Canon DSLRs buying a D30 at Christmas 2000 (a whole 3.2 mega pixels !) and later in 2001 wanted a remote shutter release cable which because of the fitting on the camera body, had to be one of these and I can remember being shocked at the price back then, it is cheaper now. I took no notice of the timer functions for quite a few years until I became interested in time lapse photography when obviously I 'paid attention' and it works in that capacity very well. Being a Canon product, it is well made but whether it is a 'truly viable choice' in a world where far cheaper (rip off copies) of the same design are available at far lower cost, is a big question but then, some people prefer banded products.

Something that seems to crop up often in comments on these devices regardless of brand, is people complaining that "you can't turn it off" by which they mean the LCD to which the answer is "Why should you ? It's a 'watch', you don't turn your watch off and you wouldn't take the battery out of your watch just because you weren't looking at it, would you ?" Canon say that a battery (watch battery) should last about 3 years, my only comment is that from late 2001 to today, I have only changed the CR2032 once. From the perspective of time lapse photography, I have found the '99 maximum exposures' a limit on some projects so, as most of the "other" copies of this device will allow you up to 399, they may be a better choice, if you want to play with time lapse I hope that helps folks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent.... But Expensive..., 5 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
Excellent product...very controllabe, but expensive in comparsion to other brands. As mentioned in other reviews it has no On/Off switch, which means it stays on all the time... but Canon states that the battery life should last at least 3 Yrs.

I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BIT OF KIT, 28 May 2013
By 
Mr. D. R. Macdonald "videmaniac" (western isles scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
ARRIVED AS PROMISED AND AFTER A FEW MINUTES PLAYING WITH THE GADGET HAD IT UP AND RUNNING. EASY TO USE AND UNDERSTAND. EXCELLENT FOR NIGHT SHOTS ON B EXPOSURE AS YOU CAN PUT THE CAMERA ON A TRIPOD, SET THE EXPOSURE TIME, AND GO BACK INDOORS FOR A CUPPA LEAVING THE REMOTE TO DO IT'S STUFF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still an excellent purchase, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Mr Strathmore (East Kilbride, South Lanarkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
This controller is expensive but the features and build quality are superb. It sits well in your hand and the whole thing can be controlled by one hand. Maybe this is not really needed, since your camera is probably sitting on a tripod, but it is just further testimony of the serious thought that went into the design.

You can set almost any combination of delays, bursts and repeats you can imagine. Or it can just be a cable release in the studio. Totally flexible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars canon interval timer, 6 Aug 2009
By 
A. Hague - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
Although ludicrously expensive, this bit of kit works perfectly. my only complaint is that it will only allow you to set a precise number of shots to 99. you can do more by setting it to zero. However I usually want to do 125 frames and it would be nice to just set this and allow the camera and kit to do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to use with gloves, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Toivonen Timo "stibe" (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
This is a great product that does what it promises, but it is quite impossible to use with gloves in sub zero temperatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Time-Lapse Photography, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
I bought this pice of kit for Time-Lapse Photography and it dose what I need it to do and is very easy to use. Typical Canon build quality. I purchased a copy version of this item for around 20 it lasted about a month then died a death and ended up in the trash can. The moral of this story stick with original Canon kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Mark Harris "TechiePerson" (St Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
This does exactly what is says it does, except it is very expensive for what it is. It is plastic and the screen is very small. The lead could be a little longer also. I got this a while ago and thought I would use the automated functions, but to be honest I've only used them 3-4 times. Most of the time I use it just as a remote shutter. Docking stars due to the silly price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the tin., 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
This remote does what it says it will do, timed shutter releases, single shutter releases and the opportunity to shoot without moving the camera for those long exposures. Yes it is expensive, but it is Canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon Camera Remote Control Cable TC-80N3 (Accessory)
I chose this because I prefer to use original equipment wherever possible. This is an excellentpiece of kit. Does exactly what it says. So simple to use you hardly need a manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews