Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars39
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2010
Designed for the job, a good fit and can be reversed for storage on the lens, fits well even with two filters on the lens.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
As with all Canon accessories I did find the price a bit alarming but after trying a couple of cheaper versions decided that I had to make the investment to get a proper fit. I do find it a little fiddly to put on and is particularly awkward when do a reverse on it to store on the lens. But is good quality and hopefully I won't need to purchase again...unless I leave it somewhere which I do have a habit of doing ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
Canon EW-78D Lens Hood: I bought this for the Canon EF-S 18-200mm 3.5-5.6 IS zoom lens. It fits on, no problem and has its longer petals properly aligned top and bottom (not left and right as on one non-Canon version I read about). It fits on in reverse for carrying. As far as I could tell from the illustrations on Amazon, cheaper but non-Canon versions appear to have a smoother, shinier inner surface, whereas the Canon model is matt black and 'felted'. So, it does the job at a higher price (therefore, minus one star).
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2011
It does the job, but I echo others' views that when you have paid out a tidy sum for the Canon EOS D body and a lens (a joint value of nearly £1,000) it seems incredible that Canon were so miserly as to not include it as a standard accessory with the lens
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2009
Why isn't it supplied with the lens, Canon? Nikon manage it. A lot of money for a bit of plastic.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Service and delivery was great. Item as described. I think is a bit over priced from cannon for just a plastic part but still worth since one can see difference in photo quality under certain weather conditions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
you need to buy this , its a lot of money for just a piece of plastic.
but with out it on a sunny day your photos will be ruined,its a shame canon don't include it with the lens
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
A bit tricky to fit quickly until you have practiced a bit but worth it as it certainly stops sun flare on the lens. It also reduces the risk of fingers on the front filter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Not the cheapest product available but fits cannon lens better, no problem with thread. When you are spending that much money on a lens why compromised for a few quid?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
Official Canon lens hood. Fits perfectly as you would expect. Don't buy a cheaper alternative. Do your Canon lens proud and buy the best! Good price too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)