Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality item but expensive
I brought this for my 18-200mm Canon zoom lens with 72mm fitting, and it works perfectly, it's a nice quality with a matt flek finish inside, it fits backwards onto the lens for when not in use or easy storage, and is easy and quick to fit and remove with a 90 degree turn and fitting is secure and positive. the only downside is it causes a darker shadow at the bottom of...
Published on 26 May 2010 by PhilH

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive piece of plastic
Yes, there are cheaper lens hoods around, but this one has been designed for a specific purpose, to fit a Canon 28-200mm lens perfectly. However, the product only gets three stars because I shouldn't need to be buying it ... it should come with the damned lens. This is my biggest gripe with Canon .. always wanting to screw a few more quid out of their loyal customers. And...
Published 10 months ago by Eaton55


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality item but expensive, 26 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
I brought this for my 18-200mm Canon zoom lens with 72mm fitting, and it works perfectly, it's a nice quality with a matt flek finish inside, it fits backwards onto the lens for when not in use or easy storage, and is easy and quick to fit and remove with a 90 degree turn and fitting is secure and positive. the only downside is it causes a darker shadow at the bottom of the picture with the flash if you leave it fitted, a little expensive, but for a quality item that'll last the life of your lens it's probably about worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE CARE, 26 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
BRILLIANT PRODUCT AS MOST CANON ITEMS ARE, THIS FITS THE 18-200MM LENS BUT NOT THE 28-135 !!!!! WHY DIDNT CANON ALLOW IT TO FIT BOTH!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced, but does the job, 18 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
Canon EW-78D Lens Hood: I bought this for the Canon EF-S 18-200mm 3.5-5.6 IS zoom lens. It fits on, no problem and has its longer petals properly aligned top and bottom (not left and right as on one non-Canon version I read about). It fits on in reverse for carrying. As far as I could tell from the illustrations on Amazon, cheaper but non-Canon versions appear to have a smoother, shinier inner surface, whereas the Canon model is matt black and 'felted'. So, it does the job at a higher price (therefore, minus one star).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expensive piece of plastic, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
Yes, there are cheaper lens hoods around, but this one has been designed for a specific purpose, to fit a Canon 28-200mm lens perfectly. However, the product only gets three stars because I shouldn't need to be buying it ... it should come with the damned lens. This is my biggest gripe with Canon .. always wanting to screw a few more quid out of their loyal customers. And they don't do it subtlety ... this is after all just a piece of moulded plastic with an anti-reflective material attached to the inside. Even at Amazon's 27.95 it is still a ridiculous price ... but the 49.95 RRP is simply a joke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon lens hood, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
Excellent little lens hood, ideal for keeping the snow off my new 28 to 200mm Canon lens during our recent ski-ing holiday, and not too big to carry. Stayed firmly fixed to the lens, unlike my other (non-Canon)larger lens hood. Price very reasonable too and prompt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon Lens Hood, 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
Genuine Canon Lens Hood. Fits on lenses with ease and easily stored by reversing on the lens when not in use. Recommend over other non Canon versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but good, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
Canon EW-78D bought for Canon EF-S 18-200mm 3.5-5.6 IS zoom lens on 50D

The Canon RRP is pretty outrageous, the Amazon price makes it acceptable considering the overall price of a DSLR camera and lens. You need to make sure that it perfectly aligned when you put it on or you get vignetting at the 18mm end - which isn't surprising and as someone has commented already a risk with the non-Canon versions. I haven't tried it with flash yet.

Well made, fits reasonably easily (is possible to mis-align in a rush) with matt inside finish, overall worth an extra few quid over a non-Canon generic model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first lens hood, 5 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
This is my first lens hood, and it fits my canon 18-200 IS lens perfectly fine. Very sturdy & anti reflection cloth like inside of the lens hood is good idea. I am happy with the product. The only downside is that its too expensive compared to its substitute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon lens hood, 6 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
Designed for the job, a good fit and can be reversed for storage on the lens, fits well even with two filters on the lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but still a solid 5/5, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EW-78D Lens Hood for EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6, EF28-200mm f3.5-5.6 USM (Accessory)
Ok so its expensive, and yes there are cheaper alternatives out there, and maybe I wouldn't have been so willing to buy this if I didn't have some vouchers... BUT I am so glad I did.

Most cheap lens hoods are still just the same shiny black plastic on the inside, which can still reflect glare up into the lens, whereas this has a nice soft black velvety material on the inside. The actual plastic itself feels very good quality, has a slight amount of 'bendyness' too it, which is quite nice as it doesn't feel like it will break easily.

One negative point though... A lot of people (me included) like to keep their lens hoods backwards when not using them. If you do this, remember to take it off completely if you want to use the pop-up flash on your camera.

All in all, I am glad I bought this, but also glad I had vouchers given to me from work to get it with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews