Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent binoculars
Having moved to the Algarve in Portugal 9 years ago and now having fabulous views into the hills and valleys behind us I bought some binoculars, not being that happy with these low powered ones I then bought some 10+50 and used these for several years. Recently however I yearned for even more power and after a great deal of consideration I bought a pair of the Canon 18+50...
Published on 20 Aug. 2011 by David

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over priced
I bought my pair of 18x50is binoculars from 'Middleton Banks' for £760.00 including shipping. The big problem I found, was that, when the I.S. was switched on, a slight blurring and loss of focus occurred. I raised the issue with
'Middleton Banks', who initially said to change the batteries. What a joke. It made no difference at all. Anyway, several emails later, I...
Published on 13 Jun. 2012 by john


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent binoculars, 20 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
Having moved to the Algarve in Portugal 9 years ago and now having fabulous views into the hills and valleys behind us I bought some binoculars, not being that happy with these low powered ones I then bought some 10+50 and used these for several years. Recently however I yearned for even more power and after a great deal of consideration I bought a pair of the Canon 18+50 with image stabilising, even after I received them I was still worried about the cost but having used them for about a month I have nothing but praise, they are superb. I am able to see the distant hills in great detail and as for watching birds, particularly the eagles, they bring them almost next door. The image stabilising works very well taking out any shaking or tremors and although quite heavy they are managable. All in all a superb pair of binoculars which if you can spare the money are well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 5 July 2010
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
Got these three days ago and they are truely amazing. AM no expert on binoculars but the magnification is simply incredible - without the image stabilising on they are impossible to use without a stand - with the IS on you can use them with ease. They do exactly what they say and are worth every penny - i got mine from microglobe in london and they came next day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can see for miles and miles and miles..., 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
They do exactly what it say's on the tin. With the image stabilising on it's easy to track birds in flight, the stars just about stay in one place and a full moon is well worth a look at. Expensive, but they should last for my lifetime - funny how easy it is to justify stuff as I get older - A small point, make sure your insurance covers these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I've ever used, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
I have hummed and hard about purchasing these for years the cost is quite high although I have always known that you get what you pay for and the quality is second to none,I had read reviews of these binoculars on many websites mostly I have to say five star rating although you can only be certain using your own eyes so I bit the bullett and ordered a pair from Amazon,now I had searched the web on prices & Amazon we're not the cheapest by a long way however I purchase a lot products over the years and think you can trust Amazon the supply genuine UK products not grey goods from Hong Kong or wherever so I think the extra is worth it ,I wasn't disappointed these are the business beautiful optics and the image stabilising is incredible yes they do get through batteries if you use them continuously but that's a small price to pay I've just retired so they were a gift to myself and I'm thrilled with them my children are all claiming them when I'm gone and I believe they will still be incredible in thirty years or so wishfully thinking on my part anyway all I can say is these are quality products by a world renowned manufacture who are to be congratulated on leading the way,and thank you Amazon for prompt service
Paul Newton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 23 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
These are simply exceptional binoculars.
Image stabilization works very well.
Yes, they're heavy: there's a lot of high-precision glass in there.
One innovation would merit six stars: if the IS switched on as soon as the binos were horizontal: that could avoid the need to switch IS on (and off, which you can forget).
But for birds, stars -- moons of Jupiter -- they're fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 3 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
I bought these for wildlife viewing. The magnification is incredible and the image stabilization very good. I did a bit of research before buying them and they looked to be the best image stabilized binoculars available. If you have this level of magnification and a tripod is not an option then image stabilization is essential. Yes they are expensive but there are good deals available- Amazon was best when I bought mine. The weight is no different from the 15x50 so if you can, it's worth going for the bigger magnification. I put standard camera lens filters on the lenses to protect them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANCE: AT A PRICE, 29 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. J. Ball (LONDON ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
"YOU DON'T NEED TO GO TO THE SUN GATE NOW YOU'VE SEEN IT WITH THESE" SAID THE GUIDE AT MACHU PICHU HAVING LOOKED THROUGH THE CANON 18x50 BINOCULARS. WORDS LIKE "ASTONISHING" AND "FABULOUS" ARE UTTERED BY ALL WHO TRY THEM. IT IS DIFFICULT TO ENVISAGE A BETTER OPTICAL PERFORMANCE FROM BINOCULARS WHICH GENUINELY WORK WHEN HAND HELD. THE SNAGS ARE WEIGHT AND PRICE. 3Kg IS A HEAVY WEIGHT TO HOLD UP. FOR LESS MONEY YOU COULD BUY AN EXCELLENT TRIPOD MOUNTER AND A LESS POWERFUL PAIR OF HAND HOLDS, PROBABLY A BETTER BUY FOR MANY PEOPLE. BUT FOR A HIKER OR A MOBILE NATURALIST OR PLANE SPOTTER THESE BINOCULARS ARE BRILLIANT THOUGH HORRIBLY EXPENSIVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon 18+50 IMS All Weather Binoculars, 14 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
The product although expensive in my opinion is in a class of its own with regard to quality and performance and i would like to thank Amazon for the very competive price offered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canon 18 x 50 image stabilising binoculars, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
I would like to thank all the people who answered my question concerning restricted FOV on these high magnification binoculars, I had a pair of compact zoom binoculars some time ago which went to 18x, when on high magnification the restricted FOV made them difficult to use, the small lenses made them very dark to look through, so because of this bad experience I had concerns about these, the positive answers to my questions put my fears at ease and I have finally bought a pair.

Sure enough the Narrower FOV does have very little effect and the large lenses means that the image is bright, I can look at an aeroplane which to the naked eye is a small speck in the distance but through these I can make out the logos on the aeroplane, now these binoculars are quite heavy and very comfortable to use, consequently I find them easy to hand hold and keep steady without the image stabiliser, but when I do push the IS button, there is a slight delay then the difference is incredible, I can actually read the writing on the side of that aeroplane, superb binoculars, fantastic quality, wish I had bought them a long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars over priced, 13 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Canon 18 x 50 Image Stabilising All Weather Binoculars (Electronics)
I bought my pair of 18x50is binoculars from 'Middleton Banks' for £760.00 including shipping. The big problem I found, was that, when the I.S. was switched on, a slight blurring and loss of focus occurred. I raised the issue with
'Middleton Banks', who initially said to change the batteries. What a joke. It made no difference at all. Anyway, several emails later, I asked them to either refund my money, or exchange them for another pair. This, they side stepped
and suggested that I send them back to Canon, which I did in the end. Anyway, Canon had them for around 3 weeks, and sent them back, having replaced the I.S. unit under warranty. The problem is still there and I am in the throes
of sending them back again.
If I had paid the full rrp for these bins I would be spitting nails and at over £1500 I consider them well overpriced. I would recommend anybody interested in buying a pair, to get them cheaper from Amazon. Not purely because of
the price, but for Amazon's no quibble after sales, just in case there is a problem. OK, I paid £750 for mine, which is half price. However, had everything been OK, I still think that this all they are worth. £750 is still a lot of money
to fork out for something that is not up to scratch. As for 'Middleton Banks' I won't deal with them again, nor will I recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews