Customer Reviews


328 Reviews
5 star:
 (245)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


171 of 175 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a man than a mouse
Of Mice And Men the movie had a hell of a lot to live up to, in the shadow of its novel parent. Steinbeck wrote a story intending to comment on the views of America in terms of race and prejudice at the time. In light of this, however, the film does a pretty good job. Gary Sinise, who both stars in and directs the film, is perfect for the role of George. He plays the...
Published on 13 April 2003 by Nicky

versus
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing performance by Malkovich
It's many years since I read this great book and I was happy to have the opportunity to watch the flim with my daughter who is now reading it at school for her GCSE's. The story seemed faithful and the atmosphere and tension were well created. I didn't pick up that sense of the depression era from the flim, perhaps that was difficult to get across. Some of the characters...
Published on 21 Aug. 2009 by Neil Russell-Bates


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

171 of 175 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a man than a mouse, 13 April 2003
By 
Nicky (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Of Mice And Men the movie had a hell of a lot to live up to, in the shadow of its novel parent. Steinbeck wrote a story intending to comment on the views of America in terms of race and prejudice at the time. In light of this, however, the film does a pretty good job. Gary Sinise, who both stars in and directs the film, is perfect for the role of George. He plays the character just as he is described in the book-a hard, bitter man, not really letting the audience or his best friend Lenny see his true colours. That said, he cannot help but stand in the shadow of John Malkovich's stunning portrayal of Lenny. Malkovich develops Lenny to a point where the audience feels the injustice of the treatment he receives. We want it all to work out in the end. We feel every inch of Lenny's emotions, from excitement to desperate fear, to his huge love and respect for George, and this is to Malkovich's credit. Both actors give a strong and powerful performance, strengthened by both the actors supporting them and the excellent story of Steinbeck's.
Although, of course, the messages and intention of Steinbeck's original story have been diluted, they are still wonderfully highlighted by the film. The plight of both Curley's wife and the black stable buck is painfully revealed to us, as is George's cold and dark attitude to those who treat Lenny with malice or fear. Personally, I thought Curley's wife was a bit 'off' in terms of how she appears in the film and how she is presented in the book. Of course, if you are not looking to compare the two (and the film stands on its own even without the novel) the portrayal of Curley's wife is strong, and we feel her struggle as she lives her life in a place she clearly hates.
The closing scenes are utterly emotive, and we get to see just how deeply the relationship between George and Lenny runs. Both Sinise and Malkovich play these scenes hauntingly well, and if the intention of the director is to be fulfilled, you will be reaching for the tissues as plenty of personal questions are raised.
I thought that this was a very good film, doing both the novelist and all of the actors tied to the story, a very great credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Adaptation of an Amazing Classic, 6 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This isn't just a wonderful portrayal of John Steinbeck's masterpiece; it's a wonderful film in general. "Of Mice and Men" is a marvelous picture that plays on all of our emotions and hits all of the crucial notes.
The movie is about two men who travel together all the time, hoping to own an acre of land and a nice home they can call their own. George is a smart man who always seems to have things figured out. Lennie is a giant with a mind of a young child. George looks after him, but it is not easy. Lennie always seems to get himself in some kind of trouble, and George is always the one who has to help him out. The two eventually land jobs on a ranch, hoping to make enough money to make their dreams come true. But that might be difficult when Lennie once again gets the two in serious trouble.
The movie is directed by Gary Sinise, who does a spectacular job of bringing Steinbeck's wonderful novel to life. Just from seeing this movie alone, I think he has nothing but talent when it comes to sitting in the director's chair. He really should direct more. Also, he is a great actor, and plays the role of George flawlessly. He's about everything I envisioned when reading the book.
John Malkovich plays Lennie, and does an outstanding job at doing so. I sort of had my doubts at first, because I thought of Lennie as a giant, and Malkovich didn't seem like a giant to me. Well, when I was watching the movie, that all changed. He did the part justice. It's a crime that he didn't win anything for his role (or at least nothing I am aware of.)
The movie stays very true to the book. Sure, as always, there are things removed or added. Mostly, there are things added because the novel is so short, they needed to add things to make the movie longer. Everything that was added worked and stayed true to the original story. And in all honesty, I think the way the ending is presented in the film really works and captures the tone perfectly.
"Of Mice and Men" is a spectacular movie that should've won a couple of Academy Awards. Everything about this film was outstanding. It is one I will watch over and over again. If you loved the book, chances are you will love the movie. And if you haven't read the book.....the more reason to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing performance by Malkovich, 21 Aug. 2009
By 
Neil Russell-Bates (Bath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
It's many years since I read this great book and I was happy to have the opportunity to watch the flim with my daughter who is now reading it at school for her GCSE's. The story seemed faithful and the atmosphere and tension were well created. I didn't pick up that sense of the depression era from the flim, perhaps that was difficult to get across. Some of the characters seemed a little cliched and one dimensional, but the performance Malcovich put in here was incredible to my mind, a brilliant portrayal even if it was different to the picture I had created in my minds' eye of the Lennie in the book. He captured the essence of Lennie and demonstrated the terrible dichotomy created by someone like that in times where no provision was made for people facing such challenges.

Overall an enjoyable film, if not quite the classic that the book is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 30 Aug. 2006
By 
Sam "msaa500" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
i don't have enough words to describe how touching this movie is. I have not read the book, although I am planning to, but the movie itself is a must to see. Malkovitch is just brilliant with his portrayal of the characther of Lennie. The setting is great, it really puts you in the atmosphere. You easily get hooked on the movie, it is not like those movies where you fall asleep in the middle of it. The plot here is amazing, and gives the idea of love, friendship, and struggle to manage a living, a new look.

The movie is an eye opener, and it is really touching and nice to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malcovich Malcovich, 15 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This was an enjoyable adaptation of Steinbeck's Classic, 'Of Mice and Men' but like most films the stuff it cut out tended to be humorous moments that made the book so delightful. Gary Sinise was an excellent George but I felt John Malcovich was a bit miscast in the role of Lenny. The book is very specific in its description of Lenny, 'behind him walked his opposite, a huge man shapeless of face'. Malcovich isn't really any of these. I also imagined Lenny as a much bigger man, perhaps the size of a Gerard Depardieu or Jaws from the Bond movies. Nevertheless the adaptation did work, largely because of the energy and enthusiasm of Sinise. Obviously they also had to cut out the hallucinatory scene involving Lenny and the Giant rabbit with his Aunt's voice, which was disappointing. But this is well worth a watch and you do warm to Malcovich's portrayal of the big man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Story, 13 Aug. 2002
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
When i saw Of Mice and Men i was unsure of how the characters would be played. Many people i spoke to felt that the character of Lennie would be one of those americans with a, 'southern drole', for an accent, the typical stupid persons voice, but i felt that John Malkovich played the character superbly, getting the child like voice of Lennie just right. I also felt Gary Sinse was the perfect partner for Malkovich, brining his down to earth acting into the part of George.
I find this adaptation of the book very well done, the supporting cast were of excellant choice and well portrayed. Malkovic's child like innocence makes the end even more moving than you would expect.
I would recommend anyone who has read the book to see this film as it provides a more indepth look at the characters without spoiling their origonal personalities from the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good screen adaptation of the brilliant Steinbeck novel, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
It's never easy to do a film about such as well respected and celebrated book, Steinbeck's story is one of tragedy and heartache, a very human story that is sure to touch all that read it. But here we get to watch it

Gary Sinise acts and directs in this more modern version, supported by a superb performance from John Malkovich. Both lead actors do justice to the roles.
The story is quite simple, George Milton (Sinise) and Lennie Small (Malkovich) are companions, George is clever and quick thinking, Lennie has a mental disability and acts like a child in many ways, but has great physical strength. Set during the depression both men are looking for work travelling from farm to farm. However whenever they appear to settle in and get stable work, something usually goes wrong for them, and Lennie is the source of most problems (unwittingly - his physical strength is his weakness) Both men dream of a simple life with a place of their own.

Sinise portrays the part of George well, deep down with compassion for Lennie and a feeling of responsibility to look after him, but there are moments of frustration for George too. Lennie has a heart and good intentions, but is unable to control his great strength or his actions. George has to think for himself and Lennie.

Malkovich gets into the role of Lennie in a way few actors could, this is a difficult part to play convincingly and he pulls it off with ease.
The direction is good, as is the cinematography, but it's the performances that stand out. Helped no end by an unusually touching story. Supporting cast is solid overall for the most part, though avid fans of the book will note there are some differences including the ending (after the tragic event involving Lennie) I don't mind this, some will it's down to personal taste. I like the closing scene myself

The film does retain the impact of the book, it's a heavy blow to take and quite devastating, the hopes and dreams of both men are shattered entirely. Steinbeck certainly was gifted in his ability to hit emotions hard. This isn't a film you can walk away from and not think about afterwards. The production was not a commercial success, but then many poor films were, and many good ones were not, neither has any bearing on a viewers pleasure.

Sinise has for the most part pulled it off, though to some the book can never be matched, (a few minor cast performances are a little predictable at times too)... this as near as you could get though. For those who have never read the book or seen the film, stock up on some tissues. An outstanding story that should be viewed by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The English teacher's review!, 12 April 2014
By 
Jersey Customer (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Of Mice and Men (from now on known by the acronym we use at work - OMM!) is a classic piece of literature which is almost always available on the syllabus of most exam boards' GCSE English courses. We use it because we are a 16-19 F.E. college where our students are re-taking their English to get a C before they leave us, but they only have a year to do so. Therefore, we need a short book - and this is the one we use (and most of our students have done it at school as well). We do let them watch the film - just once - because unlike many film adaptations, this 1992 version directed by Gary Sinese (who also plays 'George') is very faithful to Steinbeck's original novel. Very little has been added in/taken away/adapted - in huge parts of the film you can, almost literally, read along to the script from the novel in front of you.

Oddly enough, though, I didn't buy it because of work. I bought it because my own daughters have never had to study it at school (by some fluke - others in their year group did) and have never read it. So I bought the DVD for them (one's doing her GCSE English this year) to see what they thought. I've been teaching it for so long, and seen the film at work with 6 different classes over the last term so often, that I've actually got too close to both the plot and the film's style to be 'surprised' or 'gripped' by it in the way I suspected a new viewer (my daughters) might be. Either that, or they were going to say it was boring! But the former was correct - in fact, one of them kept saying "Can we have dinner late - I don't want to stop watching till it's over." She was completely gripped by the plot and the way the film presents it.

It's a long film - be prepared if you want to watch it in one sitting. (Actually, you could read the book in one evening as well - it's really small!) But Sinese captures the text better than many directors who try to adapt 'classic' literature for the big screen. I'd say this is 'up there' with the film adaptation of 'To Kill a Mockingbird' in terms of the respect paid to the author and the novel itself (although the film of TKAM had to make compromises about what could be included to make the film work). Out of the two, of course OMM is the closest adaptation because it's a shorter book an is almost done is 'real time' (whereas a completely faithful film version of TKAM would probably end up at several hours!).

I wish Sinese had gone on to direct more films - this is the only film he ever made behind the camera. Malkovich's interpretation of Lennie is very strong - the big man with the Small surname, and all pathos of him not knowing his own strength, portrayed with an emotion you can't can't help but get involved in. The rest of the cast weren't (and, for most of us in the UK, probably still aren't) actors whose names roll of your tongue with any kind of recognition, but they all do a good job.

If you've never read OMM, or your children have studied it and talked about it and you're wondering what the book is about for yourself, then you can do worse than buy this film adaptation (which is half the price of some of the paperback versions out there!). If you like it it would be a good next step to read the book - a film is no substitute in the long run. If your child is studying the book at school, and hasn't seen the film, then there's nothing wrong with them watching it once or twice - but please remind them that the exam is on the book, not the film, and watching the film doesn't mean they shouldn't read the book several times! Film adaptations are like study guides - useful, but not a replacement for the text they are supporting!

If you buy, I hope you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of Mice and Men, 21 Dec. 2008
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
'Of Mice and Men' is a wonderful adaptation of Steinbecks novel starring, produced by and directed by Gary Sinise. Both Sinise and Malkovich turn out stellar performances and you are almost immediately engrossed in the story. I was SO thankful that this stayed faithful to the novel and wasn't ruined by the typical 'Hollywood' treatment, the power of the book stands up on it's own two feet without any additional tinkering! The locations were wonderful and that, coupled with the costumes, drew me in to the era being portrayed. Having read the book I was aware of the ending and yet it was still powerful and moving, a sign of a top film. I even found myself making links I hadn't previously considered as I watched this for the first time. Sinise has pulled off a masterly adaptation of the book and this comes highly recommended indeed. Well worth a viewing if you're studying this for school or not.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is just PERFECT, 25 Oct. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
As an enthusiastic fan of John Steinbeck, I cannot think of a more perfect package than a Steinbeck novel adapted to film and starring John Malkovich and Gary Sinise, with the added bonus of Gary Sinise directing. This has to be one of Steinbecks most loved tales and the casting of Gary Sinise (George) and John Malkovich (Lenny) is pure genius. No one could possibly have captured the gentle giant, Lenny, any better than John Malkovich. Furthermore, if you love the book, it loses nothing in translation to film. A moving tale of two men travelling for work, Lenny continually gets into trouble purely because of his childlike innocence which is misunderstood by other adults who only see a big man who should know better. George does his best to protect Lenny but unfortunately, all of George's efforts to keep Lenny out of trouble by promising his dream of tending rabbits is just one more job away if he behaves himself come to the tragic finale that makes this such an enchanting tale. Sinise & Malkovich are so convincing as these wonderful characters, it could not fail to touch even the hardest heart. I love John Malkovich - but this, to me, is his best performance ever. Steinbeck movies attract the greats, John Garfield and Spencer Tracy in Tortilla Flat for example, but of all the adaptations I've seen, this is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992]
Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] by Gary Sinise (DVD - 2003)
£9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews