Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


160 of 162 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a man than a mouse
Of Mice And Men the movie had a hell of a lot to live up to, in the shadow of its novel parent. Steinbeck wrote a story intending to comment on the views of America in terms of race and prejudice at the time. In light of this, however, the film does a pretty good job. Gary Sinise, who both stars in and directs the film, is perfect for the role of George. He plays the...
Published on 13 April 2003 by Nicky

versus
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing performance by Malkovich
It's many years since I read this great book and I was happy to have the opportunity to watch the flim with my daughter who is now reading it at school for her GCSE's. The story seemed faithful and the atmosphere and tension were well created. I didn't pick up that sense of the depression era from the flim, perhaps that was difficult to get across. Some of the characters...
Published on 21 Aug 2009 by Neil Russell-Bates


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

160 of 162 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a man than a mouse, 13 April 2003
By 
Nicky (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Of Mice And Men the movie had a hell of a lot to live up to, in the shadow of its novel parent. Steinbeck wrote a story intending to comment on the views of America in terms of race and prejudice at the time. In light of this, however, the film does a pretty good job. Gary Sinise, who both stars in and directs the film, is perfect for the role of George. He plays the character just as he is described in the book-a hard, bitter man, not really letting the audience or his best friend Lenny see his true colours. That said, he cannot help but stand in the shadow of John Malkovich's stunning portrayal of Lenny. Malkovich develops Lenny to a point where the audience feels the injustice of the treatment he receives. We want it all to work out in the end. We feel every inch of Lenny's emotions, from excitement to desperate fear, to his huge love and respect for George, and this is to Malkovich's credit. Both actors give a strong and powerful performance, strengthened by both the actors supporting them and the excellent story of Steinbeck's.
Although, of course, the messages and intention of Steinbeck's original story have been diluted, they are still wonderfully highlighted by the film. The plight of both Curley's wife and the black stable buck is painfully revealed to us, as is George's cold and dark attitude to those who treat Lenny with malice or fear. Personally, I thought Curley's wife was a bit 'off' in terms of how she appears in the film and how she is presented in the book. Of course, if you are not looking to compare the two (and the film stands on its own even without the novel) the portrayal of Curley's wife is strong, and we feel her struggle as she lives her life in a place she clearly hates.
The closing scenes are utterly emotive, and we get to see just how deeply the relationship between George and Lenny runs. Both Sinise and Malkovich play these scenes hauntingly well, and if the intention of the director is to be fulfilled, you will be reaching for the tissues as plenty of personal questions are raised.
I thought that this was a very good film, doing both the novelist and all of the actors tied to the story, a very great credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Adaptation of an Amazing Classic, 6 Sep 2003
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This isn't just a wonderful portrayal of John Steinbeck's masterpiece; it's a wonderful film in general. "Of Mice and Men" is a marvelous picture that plays on all of our emotions and hits all of the crucial notes.
The movie is about two men who travel together all the time, hoping to own an acre of land and a nice home they can call their own. George is a smart man who always seems to have things figured out. Lennie is a giant with a mind of a young child. George looks after him, but it is not easy. Lennie always seems to get himself in some kind of trouble, and George is always the one who has to help him out. The two eventually land jobs on a ranch, hoping to make enough money to make their dreams come true. But that might be difficult when Lennie once again gets the two in serious trouble.
The movie is directed by Gary Sinise, who does a spectacular job of bringing Steinbeck's wonderful novel to life. Just from seeing this movie alone, I think he has nothing but talent when it comes to sitting in the director's chair. He really should direct more. Also, he is a great actor, and plays the role of George flawlessly. He's about everything I envisioned when reading the book.
John Malkovich plays Lennie, and does an outstanding job at doing so. I sort of had my doubts at first, because I thought of Lennie as a giant, and Malkovich didn't seem like a giant to me. Well, when I was watching the movie, that all changed. He did the part justice. It's a crime that he didn't win anything for his role (or at least nothing I am aware of.)
The movie stays very true to the book. Sure, as always, there are things removed or added. Mostly, there are things added because the novel is so short, they needed to add things to make the movie longer. Everything that was added worked and stayed true to the original story. And in all honesty, I think the way the ending is presented in the film really works and captures the tone perfectly.
"Of Mice and Men" is a spectacular movie that should've won a couple of Academy Awards. Everything about this film was outstanding. It is one I will watch over and over again. If you loved the book, chances are you will love the movie. And if you haven't read the book.....the more reason to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing performance by Malkovich, 21 Aug 2009
By 
Neil Russell-Bates (Bath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
It's many years since I read this great book and I was happy to have the opportunity to watch the flim with my daughter who is now reading it at school for her GCSE's. The story seemed faithful and the atmosphere and tension were well created. I didn't pick up that sense of the depression era from the flim, perhaps that was difficult to get across. Some of the characters seemed a little cliched and one dimensional, but the performance Malcovich put in here was incredible to my mind, a brilliant portrayal even if it was different to the picture I had created in my minds' eye of the Lennie in the book. He captured the essence of Lennie and demonstrated the terrible dichotomy created by someone like that in times where no provision was made for people facing such challenges.

Overall an enjoyable film, if not quite the classic that the book is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 5 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I watched this film in my english lesson and I usually hate watching films when they are split by two or three days, but this film i LOVED. For the first time my class was silent and content at the same time.
John Malkovich's performance of Lennie was superb, it was so realistic. Gary Sinise was also brilliant although sometimes a little subdued when he shouldn't have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 30 Aug 2006
By 
Sam "msaa500" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
i don't have enough words to describe how touching this movie is. I have not read the book, although I am planning to, but the movie itself is a must to see. Malkovitch is just brilliant with his portrayal of the characther of Lennie. The setting is great, it really puts you in the atmosphere. You easily get hooked on the movie, it is not like those movies where you fall asleep in the middle of it. The plot here is amazing, and gives the idea of love, friendship, and struggle to manage a living, a new look.

The movie is an eye opener, and it is really touching and nice to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try it., 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Having read the book in english in the late seventies(god i'm getting old!) I was curious about the film version. I bought it and watched it and thoroughly enjoyed it. The two main characters are acted brilliantly. Give it a go. You will be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Story, 13 Aug 2002
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
When i saw Of Mice and Men i was unsure of how the characters would be played. Many people i spoke to felt that the character of Lennie would be one of those americans with a, 'southern drole', for an accent, the typical stupid persons voice, but i felt that John Malkovich played the character superbly, getting the child like voice of Lennie just right. I also felt Gary Sinse was the perfect partner for Malkovich, brining his down to earth acting into the part of George.
I find this adaptation of the book very well done, the supporting cast were of excellant choice and well portrayed. Malkovic's child like innocence makes the end even more moving than you would expect.
I would recommend anyone who has read the book to see this film as it provides a more indepth look at the characters without spoiling their origonal personalities from the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is just PERFECT, 25 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
As an enthusiastic fan of John Steinbeck, I cannot think of a more perfect package than a Steinbeck novel adapted to film and starring John Malkovich and Gary Sinise, with the added bonus of Gary Sinise directing. This has to be one of Steinbecks most loved tales and the casting of Gary Sinise (George) and John Malkovich (Lenny) is pure genius. No one could possibly have captured the gentle giant, Lenny, any better than John Malkovich. Furthermore, if you love the book, it loses nothing in translation to film. A moving tale of two men travelling for work, Lenny continually gets into trouble purely because of his childlike innocence which is misunderstood by other adults who only see a big man who should know better. George does his best to protect Lenny but unfortunately, all of George's efforts to keep Lenny out of trouble by promising his dream of tending rabbits is just one more job away if he behaves himself come to the tragic finale that makes this such an enchanting tale. Sinise & Malkovich are so convincing as these wonderful characters, it could not fail to touch even the hardest heart. I love John Malkovich - but this, to me, is his best performance ever. Steinbeck movies attract the greats, John Garfield and Spencer Tracy in Tortilla Flat for example, but of all the adaptations I've seen, this is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Malcovich Malcovich, 15 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
This was an enjoyable adaptation of Steinbeck's Classic, 'Of Mice and Men' but like most films the stuff it cut out tended to be humorous moments that made the book so delightful. Gary Sinise was an excellent George but I felt John Malcovich was a bit miscast in the role of Lenny. The book is very specific in its description of Lenny, 'behind him walked his opposite, a huge man shapeless of face'. Malcovich isn't really any of these. I also imagined Lenny as a much bigger man, perhaps the size of a Gerard Depardieu or Jaws from the Bond movies. Nevertheless the adaptation did work, largely because of the energy and enthusiasm of Sinise. Obviously they also had to cut out the hallucinatory scene involving Lenny and the Giant rabbit with his Aunt's voice, which was disappointing. But this is well worth a watch and you do warm to Malcovich's portrayal of the big man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant..., 12 Dec 2000
This review is from: Of Mice And Men [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is an excellent story which you can watch again and again, with excellent performances from both gary sinise(George) and the simpleton john malkovich(Lenny). This is definitely a must see movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992]
Of Mice And Men [DVD] [1992] by Gary Sinise (DVD - 2003)
4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews