Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
A little known feel good movie that makes you feel all warm and tingley (but not sick to your stomach).
Mister Holland's Opus follows the life of an aspiring composer who finds himself teaching high school to pay the bills before his first composition obviously makes him famous. However, as the years go by and his finished composition seems farther away, he manages...
Published on 18 Dec 2002 by lindy-s

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
for a friend.
Published 3 months ago by colin harper


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 18 Dec 2002
This review is from: Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A little known feel good movie that makes you feel all warm and tingley (but not sick to your stomach).
Mister Holland's Opus follows the life of an aspiring composer who finds himself teaching high school to pay the bills before his first composition obviously makes him famous. However, as the years go by and his finished composition seems farther away, he manages to inadvertantly touch, inspire, change and mould many of the students that attend his classes.
Think Dead Poets Society without the tragedy.
Truely a little known gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time 'Feel good' movie, 6 Dec 2003
Richard Dreyfuss never ceases to amaze me with how versatile he is. In 'Mr Holland's Opus' he portrays the fine quality of one of America's best actors. The movie reaches deep into your emotions. Finding those most sensitive feelings. The relationships between his family and his dream is finely balanced that it makes one experience his frustration as though it was ours. The movie is filled with joy, heatbreak laughter and tears. For me it was one of the most beautiful movies I have ever seen. Jean Louisa Kelly has only a small part. However she portrays her excellent talent to the full. I would love to see her starring in a modern musical. This girl has so much carisma that she melts your heart. One to buy and keep, so you can watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly under-recognised film, 16 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Holland's Opus [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is one of the best films; good story, acting and music, so surprise yourself and buy it. Richard Dreyfuss stars as a music teacher, who finds his true vocation, learns to cherish his family and inspire a new generation.
If you enjoy the film as much as I did you'll be pleased to know there's also an excellent sound track available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can we demand such a sacrifice from a teacher?, 20 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
The blasé will say that this is one more film on the life and retirement of a good teacher. One more and nothing else. They would be slightly wrong. This film is a lot more interesting and profound than that. First of all it becomes personal and poignant when his own son is discovered to be 90% deaf at birth. For a musician and music teacher tbis is a tragic blow, even if Beethoven became deaf in his life. Then it shows that a good teacher is not supposed to caress the students in the smooth way of things, but he has to be both exacting and demanding on one side and on the other side helpful in the effort the students have to do to eventually come to the pleasure of becoming able to play beautiful music. And it takes a tremendous effort on the teacher’s part to be that inspiring and ruthless guide who will teach rhythm and drumplaying to a black man who will die in Vietnam, sentiment and clarinet playing to the only daughter of a family who has no creative dimension, emotion and how to sing with her heart to a girl who would like to take her music teacher along with her to New York. But furthermore the film is also a vast trip from the sixties to the nineties, from Kennedy to – the unnamed – Clinton, with the Vietnam war at the back, Hair, Robert Kennedy and Martin Luther King, Nixon resigning, Ford falling when walking down from a plane, Reagan and his famous Hollywood smile, and of course the severe cuts in education in the mid-nineties that led to dropping all artistic activities from the curriculum of the school. And we could go on and on with levels of meaning that avoid mish-mash sentimentalism. And yet the end is kind of too much. How can we imagine the school, the principal and the whole community who have rejected the man at sixty without more ado than for an insignificant incident come together to unanimously present him with a farewell present that should have asked months of secret preparation ? And that present means that this Mr Holland has sacrificed all his personal and musical potential for the sake of teaching music to kids, including his composing and his musical inspiration. This leads to the saddest fact of all : education is based on a frustrating dédication from the teachers. A dedication that verges onto sacrifice, of one’s own life and of one’s family’s life, and a frustration that stifles in the teacher what is his deepest and most insanely creative inspiration, which delivers him to retirement a hollow shell with an uncatchable ghost of a dead ambition. This film is thus very painful : as long as our school system will demand such sacrifices from its teachers it will lead to a deeply boring and frustrating education that will leave young people naked and unarmed in front of life when the real hardships of history come, and they always come back over and over again.
Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Université Paris Dauphine, Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words cant easily describe, 22 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. J. Mc Adam (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
this is one of those films that after watching everything else in your dvd collection or at the cinema, you wish you had watched this 1 first. at first your not sure what to expect but for some reason you cant or dont want to turn it off, but i garuntee if you have the patience to watch this start to finish (odd scenes, but very powerful, meaningful, engrossing storylines) you will watch it again.
this is definetly a film for anybody with a passion for music, its about 1 mans triumph and persistance that against all the odds (even thoguh you know from about 20mins in) to show his passion for something to people who wouldn't necessarily be interested.
PLEASE jsut watch this film, i do and im sure 99% of others who have will promise you a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have your tissues ready!, 11 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
A fantastically inspiring and touching film that reminds us all of what really matters in life. What else can I say? Have your tissues ready and enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Holland's Opus, 30 April 2009
By 
Jessica Goldfinch (Norwich, Norfolk, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
More 'cheese' than a deli counter (!), but a truly uplifting film. There are some cringe moments and yet I couldn't help but love this film. Mr. Holland's passion for a life of writing music sees the notes of his symphony transforming into the lives of the people he touched. Good therapy for assessing what life is about, even if life didn't quite go to plan. Men may secretly like this too! Tissues and chocolate required...enjoy. Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting "Over the top" tear jerking formula, 27 April 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
How many "teachers save our youth" movies can you watch? "To Sir with Love", "Blackboard Jungle", "Saving Forester", and so on and so on. Since you ask, At least one more time.

Mr. Holland wants to write music and believes that teaching will give him the free time to compose. Slowly he gets sucked into the teaching environment and eventually this becomes his focus to the exclusion of his deaf son. Will he see what he is doing? Will he care? Or maybe skip town with a talented singer (Rowena)?

This well paced film that does not save hooligans but enriches an otherwise droll school experience and encourages more than just the basics.

A twist on the standard formula is the emphasis from the beginning on Holland more than a student or two. We see how he learns from the school environment and incorporates his life into the life of the school. Richard Dreyfuss being the main character may over shadow good acting by Olympia Dukakis and William H. Macy among others. There are several inspiring moments and some sobering moments.

In all it is worth the time and you will want to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true reflection of a music teacher - whatever the decade., 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Great condition, great delivery and a classic film.

All under-pressure school music teachers should watch this. Highly recommended with a truly lovely ending.
Get the tissues ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a life story, 4 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
God how I cried, I also got angry, it brought out so many emotions it hard to say which bit I liked best, a very good film tracking a music teachers life, the high's and the low's this is one film I pull out every month and watch again, I love a good cry. I didn't like Richard Dreyfuss before I watched this film now I don't miss anything with him in. for a music teacher to have a deaf son must have been hard, he thought that he couldn't share his passion with his son, that was wrong of him, but it all worked out in the end, watch it, this is a big recccommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996]
Mr Holland's Opus [DVD] [1996] by Stephen Herek (DVD - 2003)
£8.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews