Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Entertainment, 13 Jan 2003
By 
Ron (Fife, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monarch Of The Glen: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
If you have never seen Monarch of the Glen or (like me) only started watching it during series 2 then the purchase of series 1 is a must.
The first series sees Archie conned by his family into travelling to Glenbogle from his home and new business in London in order to take up his new role as Laird of the Glenbogle estate, chief of the MacDonald clan. In true Monarch style, every episode has a good underlying story which is supplemented with a good dose of mad cap antics from Hector and Kilwillie. Golly tries his best to educate Duncan as a Gillie, as well as being his mentor. Archie is constantly put under pressure from the bank but most of all his family which leaves Molly and Lexie to hold things together.
Monarch of the Glen is perfect Sunday evening escapism, no sex, drugs and rock and roll, just wholehearted family entertainment filmed with a backdrop of spectacular Scottish scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly classic series!, 4 Jan 2002
By A Customer
With eight episodes this double video is a bargain! The entire first series is a laugh out loud classic. The first episode is particularly good, our first introduction to the residents of Glenbogle House! Every episode, however, provides another reason why this show is a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Higland Blessing, 5 July 2002
By A Customer
With a home in the highlands of Scotland for several months each year before returning to the US, watching "Monarch..." on video reminds me of why I love this place. With Richard Briers at his befuddled best and the still wonderful and beautiful Susan Hampshire being the real brains behind the family, and Alastair Mackenzie, Lorraine Pilkington and the rest of the remarkable cast, Glenbogle and the highlands are captured to perfection. Each episode is wonderful; funny,touching, happy... and the landscapes...well, impossible to describe perfectly. I know there's been a second series...but where is it and when will it be available? But, even without a 2nd series, this is a can't miss. Missing it would be a mistake. David L
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All praise to archie mcdonald, 3 Jan 2002
For all those who adore this prgramme, this video is ideal. It includes all of the first series starting with archie being tricked into staying and helping to turn the estate around until the will they won't they senario with katrina where justin archie's longterm girlfriend arriving back on the scene in time to ruin things! A fabulous video, which doesn't lose any of the glenbogle magic from watching it first on tv. For the amount of episodes you get, its remarkably good value for money and who could resist the very attractive alistair mckenzie in a pair of the shorts in the second episode!!! I just can't wait for the next series to be released on video!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monarch of the glen, Series 1., 23 Jan 2004
This review is from: Monarch Of The Glen: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I started to watch MOTG from series 2 and missed how the characters ended up in the Scottish Highlands. After spending a couple of nights watching the 1st series it cleared up a lot of puzzles and questions. It is a great series and so have the rest of the show.
You would enjoy this dvd if you loved countryside, humour and action with all this filmed in the wonderful settings of the Scottish Highlands.
All ready ordered the 2nd series and I am certainly saving for the rest of the other series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monarch of the Glen is ACE, 3 Nov 2008
By 
B. Galloway "bethgstan" (west hull, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monarch Of The Glen: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I've never seen the early series of MOTG. I started watching it from series 4 every friday night on BBC with my mum and dad and I loved it. It is one of my most favourite dramas and always will be, it brings memories back to me of when I was younger. Brill Drama
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Archie is SO handsome!!, 16 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monarch Of The Glen: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I did not see the first episode so i got the dvd for that as one of the reasons.I think Alastair Mackenzie who played Archie is so good looking. I liked the first series anyway before it all changed starting with Hector death.When Archie left, followed by Lexie then lovely simple Duncan that was it, not the same. Saying all that, Monarch of the Glen is wonderful & funny. It make me laugh & the scenery is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monarch of the Glen, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. B. Rimmer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent series and especially having seen some of the areas where they were filmed in Scotland. Definitely worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monarch Of The Glen: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] [2000]
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews