Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lesson in Great Sci-Fi
Colonel Jack (Two L’s) O’Neill (Richard Dean Anderson), Captain Samantha Carter (Amanda Tapping), Dr. Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) and Teal’c (Christopher Judge) return for a second season of pure Sci-Fi gold in ‘Stargate SG-1 Season 2’. From the cliffhanger finale of Season 1 we find the team, and the planet, in trouble, in the opening...
Published on 29 Jan. 2006 by Stegofreak

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars odd volumn numbers
Just a quick note, odd numbering of volumes
This box set contains Volumes 2 - 7,
which is odd, dont know what volumes the first season contains
Season Three which I also have contains volumes 8 - 13
Published on 7 July 2007 by D. Mace


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lesson in Great Sci-Fi, 29 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Colonel Jack (Two L’s) O’Neill (Richard Dean Anderson), Captain Samantha Carter (Amanda Tapping), Dr. Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) and Teal’c (Christopher Judge) return for a second season of pure Sci-Fi gold in ‘Stargate SG-1 Season 2’. From the cliffhanger finale of Season 1 we find the team, and the planet, in trouble, in the opening episode ‘The Serpent’s Lair’.
We however expect the team to pull through, not because it’s the first episode and it would make the continuation of the series impossible if the main characters were wiped out but because of the amazing character interaction that was set up in Season 1 and brought into Season 2.
From the first season, SG-1 and the SGC have made quiet a few powerful enemies so Season 2 sets about finding the team some allies. In the episode ‘Thor’s Chariot’ we get our first real indication of the might of the Asgard – a species of alien that look very like our stereotypical view of beings from other planets. However, this should not be looked at as a failing as, Stargate SG-1 has time and again tried to bring ‘real life’ into its shows.
The series really begins to come alive with the episodes ‘The Tok’ra (Part 1)’ and ‘The Tok’ra (Part 2)’ when we meet a group of friendly Goa’uld. This friendship puts fun new weapons and gadgets at the team’s disposal and we know that things are about to kick off.
However, alien gadgets are not what really sets Stargate out from the crowded science-fiction marketplace. It is the show’s adherence to science that makes some of the team’s amazing feats seem plausible, be it travelling through time (‘1969’) or experiencing the effects of a black hole (‘A Matter of Time’).
One thing that ‘Stargate SG-1 Season 2’ fails to deliver on however is special features. With approximately fifteen hours of actual episodes this is merely something disappointing rather than a reason not to buy the series.
To sum up – this is one box set that is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Stargate, 4 Mar. 2006
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season two is where Stargate SG-1 really began to hit its stride. The strengths were all there in the first season, but the quality of the episodes was rather uneven; the show's second year is a much smoother ride. While season one had a number of classic episodes, season two is really packed full of them.
The season begins by resolving one cliffhanger and ends on another, so it makes most sense watch the box sets in order. If you don't, I doubt you'll be lost - the show is fairly episodic, especially this early on in its run - but it may spoil parts of season one for you. The box set includes a pair of first-season episodes to pad it out (no other extras, sadly) so if you haven't seen season one, "Thor's Hammer" and "Hathor" provide useful backstory for "Thor's Chariot" and the season finale respectively.
Like the first, this year lays a lot of groundwork for later seasons of the show. We learn more about the pasts of the members of SG-1, are introduced to some more of the galaxy's major races, and meet some characters who'll be popping up again years later. The episodes are a good mix of action, moral dilemmas, science fiction, and pure fun. A great year for the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The second half is best, 2 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Stargate has always been special, as it follows it's own unique path (not just a Star Trek clone), and brilliantly links ancient Egyptian culture to a modern day sci-fi storyline.
With the first season establishing the characters, setting and enemies, it was season two's job to develop those stories and move the series onwards. For the most part, it suceeded.
The season opens with 'The Serpent's Lair', the cliff hanger from season one, where the SG-1 team must stop the Goa'uld from reaching Earth. The next nine episodes, although not terrible, mainly concentrate on character building and finishing off stories started in season one. The two-parter, 'The Tok'ra', is the episode that makes season two really exciting, with new allies and the interesting situation where Carter's father becomes a Tok'ra.
The next episodes are also excellent, for example there is 'The Fifth Race', where O'Neil meets the Asgard, a powerful race who look like the well known 'Greys', the aliens people think they see after an abduction experience. Another good episode is 'A Matter of Time', where the stargate opens up to a world about to be destroyed by a blackhole. Many theories about blackholes are excellently brought into play with this story, such as the slowdown of time. '1969' involves the good old time travelling storyline, but it is actually very good and funny. The season concludes with 'Out of Mind', where the Goa'uld try to trick the SG-1 members into thinking it is 80 years into the future and they have been in stasis.
Overall a good season, paving the way for even greater stories in the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast From The Past - Season 2, 18 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
SG1 are back right where we left off from season 1.

Season 2 just makes the show double what it used to be (pardon the pun), introducing more System Lords on par with Apophis (Socar & Heru'ur), and this time Earth actually makes friends worth mentioning - the Tok'ra, who play an instumental role in this and following seasons to come. Also, we get to meet anoher Alien race (briefly) much more powerful than the Goa'uld, called the Asgard, who bare quite a resemblance to the Roswell Greys (which makes me smile at the fact that once again the writers have hit the nail on the head relating Stargate to the real world).

The show does it's usual, going from good to not so good stories, but overall gripping and providing great escapeism, with the season ending on another cliffhanger, again leaving you wanting more.

This is a big improvement on Season 1, and they now have included behind the scenes footage and commentaries. What baffles me is the numbering for each disc. The first disc is "Volume 2" - shouldn't it be "Volume 6" as Season 1 had 5 discs?? And how can an entire Season be 1 volume?? It confuses me more than it confuses fans why we never got to see the Furlings....woops to soon.

Anyway - overall the season is just as good as the first one, if not better. If Stargate SG1 has got your attention, then this is a must buy, because trust me, with each season it just keeps getting better.. If you still aren't sure about the series, then I'd still advise buying it, give it some more time and keep watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars General, request permission to beat the c**p out of this man, 1 Feb. 2008
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
When we last left Our Heroes, they were on Apophis' ship, facing the impending destruction and/or enslavement of everyone on Earth.

So unsurprisingly, the second season of "Stargate SG-1" can only get better from there on. In fact, this is when the clever, innovative sci-fi series really started to gel together, with more intriguing storylines, character arcs, and some new alien allies -- basically, it all blooms.

Intending to blow up Apophis' ship, our heroes get captured by the Jaffa and thrown in a cell -- only to be unexpectedly rescued by Bra'tac (Tony Amendola), Teal'c's old teacher. As Earth mounts a pitiful defense against the Goa'uld, SG-1 joins with a small band of rebel Jaffa to stop Apophis' invasion -- but they may have to leave one of their number behind.

Obviously the Goa'uld make things awkward throughout the season, with the second episode featuring Sam (Amanda Tapping) being possessed by a Goa'uld during a rescue mission -- but it seems that it's part of a rebel Goa'uld faction called the Tok'ra. Teal'c's (Christopher Judge) son is kidnapped and brainwashed, and Daniel (Michael Shanks) finds that his beloved wife is pregnant with Apophis' child.

And of course, SG-1 has to deal with lots of other stuff -- insectile transformations, black holes, prison planets, Native American "spirits," invisible bugs, hostile alien orbs, reliving their most traumatic memories in a VR world, and time traveling to 1969. And O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) gets an ancient repository of knowledge downloaded into his head -- and he'll die if they can't reverse it.

"Stargate SG-1" really got into its stride in the second season -- the basic Air-Force-versus-evil-headsnakes story gets expanded out into a bunch of arcs. We get new villains, some surprising new allies, hints about the true origins of the Stargates and the human race, and corrupt factions on Earth who use the spare Stargate for evil ends.

The writing gets even steadier and the alien worlds more interesting -- even stuff that sounds goofy, like the planet of singing mushroom-people, somehow works. The drama is stronger, and the sci-fi usage of the Stargate ever more creative, such as when a black hole's gravity well keeps the gate open, and is slowly sucking Earth through the wormhole. Good, tense stuff.

Of course, all the action and sci-fi is heavily tempered with comedy. Even in grim situations, there's usually at least a few funny moments, such as Daniel's tour of the custodial closet. And of course, the dialogue is priceless -- most of the good stuff comes from O'Neill ("That's between you and your god. Oh, wait a minute! You are your god! That's a problem"), but Teal'c ("In my culture, I would be well within my rights to dismember you") and the others usually get some good ones as well.

Of the main cast, Amanda Tapping gets the juiciest role in this season -- Sam deals with the impending death of her father, becoming a Goa'uld host, and trying to deal with the feelings it left behind. Including a cute Tok'ra boyfriend. Yet when we see Sam's vulnerable sides, Tapping never lets her character be anything but a strong, capable military woman.

But the other actors aren't neglected -- Shanks' Daniel grapples with the news that his wife is pregnant with Apophis' baby, while Teal'c faces losing his entire family. Anderson is brilliant as the quirky, capable O'Neill, but he really gets brilliant when Jack's brain is being overwritten -- he has to emote and communicate without a comprehensible word.

The second season of "Stargate SG-1" is where the story began to really get great, building up a series of strong story arcs, funny dialogue, and strong characters. Definitely a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A STARGATE ATLANTIS FAN AND NOW A SG-1 FAN, 15 Aug. 2009
By 
TMAC "tmac" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
My first Stargate experience was watching Atlantis for five years. Then I saw the stargate movie and then Stargate The ark of truth and Stargate Continumum. I really enjoyed all of these and knew I had to starting watching SG-1 the series. I have not been disappointed. Season 1 was good. Season 2 is that and more and takes everything a step further. The serpent's Lair was an exciting opener. Then in the Line of Duty, Sam is taken over by a Goa'uld and from that we learn about the Tok'ra from that come a great two parter which is fast moving with a twist. Each character develops, Sam with the Tok'ra, Daniel gaining more knowledge about the people from varies planets and showing just one that he can play the bad guy in NEED. Teal'c shows how far he will go to save has son in Family and how he is growing closer with the team. Last but not less Jack O'Neill who is amazing in every episode and in the Fifth Race gets to meet his first asguard. There is only one downside and that is the finale, although still enjoyable it feels the same as the season 1 finale in some ways, but that said Season 2 ROCKS and I can't wait to see the rest of the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite seasons, 29 Mar. 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This second volume of the Stargate SG-1 TV series is probably one of my favourite of the entire run of the show. The season sees a number of my new fractions introduced to the Stargate universe with debuts for the Asgard and the Tok'ra, and sees the ranks of the Goa'uld increased with Sokar and Heru-ur introduced.

This season includes many very good episodes such as `Thor's Chariot', `Secrets' and `A Matter of Time' but my favourite episode has to be the time travel story `1969' which is brilliantly funny and is probably one of my top five favourite SG-1 episodes. On the downside there are some poor episodes such as `Holiday' and `One False Step' but even these aren't as bad as some episodes from other sci0fi shows.

Season two of Stargate SG-1 is very good and well worth the full five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars StarGreat, 18 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After the SG1 team thwart the advances of the evil Goa'uld from destroying the planet, it's back to business as usual as the team discover and take on new challenges on the other side of the galaxy.

In this season we see much more character development, and deeper narrative threads appear which begin steadily to solidify the shaky grounds of first seasons indirection. Where season one paved the way, season two picks up the trail and cuts it cleaner, we learn more of the Goa'uld, and how the SGC (Stargate command) make new allies in worlds beyond.

The season as a whole feels more planted and seems to follow a more steady narrative thread as Teal'c's family ties are explored and Sam's dad becomes a host for the Tok'ra. We learn more of other worlds that fight against the Goa'uld, and of other threats besides them, which makes a nice change.

The usual stand alone episodes still exist, and keep the exploratory idea of the Stargate underpinned nicely. The season also introduces a number of characters that may well pop up in further seasons as well, so this gives a feel of longevity and depth to the whole thing, and also creates a feeling of wanting to know what happens on season three.

In all the preemies of SG1 has not changed so much that the missions still feel and same, if the acting of the off-world civilisations has become a little better as well, new characters are well placed and introduced and ties with family and allies are created to lead on into future episodes. SG1 is definitely finding it's feet here in season two.

Well worth watching, and begins to create the difference between what will become "hardcore" fans from casual watchers. Great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, continues to build on first series, 2 Jun. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having succeeded in laying down the groundworks for the series in Season 1 the Sg-1 creators were able to break out of the box a little due to the success of the first installment. Now that the writers knew the series was here to stay they could afford to take a few risks and begin to set up storylines for future episodes.

Whereas in Season 1 we had a few episodes that were lacking in the area of action Season 2 manages to more than make up for this. There are multiple exciting and mind boggling episodes including the hilarious episode "1969".

The only bust in the season is the final episode. While the idea is great I get the feeling that they found it difficult to make the installment last for two episodes so we end up watching through clips (not short clips either) of previous events. This is really the only problem with the season as the somewhat poor last episode succeeds in creating a "come back for more" cliffhanger.

If you are a fan of Stargate or the SG-1 Series then I would highly recommend this boxset. It has hours of entertainment for only 20 pounds which is an absolute bargain considering you pay 15 for a 2 hour dvd. Your getting around 20 hours worth of Stargate action. Add this to your collection now, I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

And in the words of Jack O'Neill:

"I am Captain James T. Kirk of the Starship enterprise"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Enjoyable Season, 8 May 2004
By 
J. Burling (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
After several hours contemplating over which series I should buy first, I came to the conclusion that season 2 of Stargate SG-1 was the most worthy of my hard earned cash.
Personally, I feel that this season contains the most seeds from which greater storylines stem. Whilst season one started the franchise, it is still possible to not have watched season 1, and still understand everything that is going on. Season two, however, lays the foundations for many future episodes involving the Asgard, the Tok'ra, and more. Simply, this season does not contain the token "bad egg" episode that most sci-fi shows seem to inadvertandly end up with.
The characters, as in every season, are fantastic, and the real-life bonding makes them seem all the more believable.
The only real disappoinment here is that there are no extras, which MGM rectified in later series.
If you only want to buy one season of Stargate SG-1, make sure it's this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD]
Stargate SG-1 - Season 2 [DVD] by Brad Turner (DVD - 2003)
£19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews