Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 90's
This marvellous 1997 series is one to savour. 6 episodes of genius from Steve Coogan and Armando Iannucci. Each episode is a masterpiece in its own right and whilst its difficult to pick a favourite episode I can pick out my favourite moment..

Alan phones down to the Motel reception, and the camera pans back so we can see him sitting on the bed.

"Oh...
Published on 13 Dec 2006 by S J Buck

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I do NOT hate Alan Partridge
I do NOT hate Alan Partridge. But my DVD seems to be a bit of a faulty one. Stops playing towards the end of ep 2. Scene or episode selection doesn't work. I can imagine I'm just unlucky! Have downloaded series one on iTunes instead. I do like the menu at the start - may be confusing for anyone who hasn't watched AP before! I would give the series 5/5 stars, but because...
Published 3 months ago by Georginaaar


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, 14 Dec 2003
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I'm Alan Partridge : Complete BBC Series 1 [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny stuff.
"Allan Partridge" seems like a real character. A funny, stupid, irritating, small-minded character. But a loveable one.
Steve Coogan is amazing in his ability to make all the subtle nuances that makes the character come to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flawless, 6 Sep 2004
This review is from: I'm Alan Partridge : Complete BBC Series 1 [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
up there with the all time comedy greats such as fawlty towers and only fools and horses, im alan partridge is comedy at its best. not one bad episode or bad scene in rhe series, and although steve coogan made a very good attempt at series 2, and it was a very good second series, nothing can beat the quality and genius of this first series. its worth watching knowing me knowing u as well, purely as that too is hysterical, but its not essential in order to find im alan partridge so funny.
after punching the bbc director at the end of his daytime tv show knowing me knowing u, the bbc director destroys his chances of a second series, and this series shows alans life after the bombshell, trying to get back into television. the lines u will get from this, his sarcasm, rudeness to everyone he meets, and how wonderfully bad he treats his fantastic PA lynn, )who puts the icing on the cake of this series), are fantastic. such original humour and comedy, and one of the best dvds you will buy in a long time. you have the whole series here, all 6 wonderful episodes, and after seeing this series 6 or 7 times, im still laughing as much as the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That is Premier League, 9 Jun 2000
By A Customer
Slap me in the face and call me Sally, this is the best comedy ever written by the human hand. You are quite frankly a dribbling fool if you don't find this funny, it's must for anyone who belives they have a sense of humour.
"I've got cheese..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, They're Scumbags Aren't They?, 18 July 2000
By A Customer
- "Why don't you get a life? I've got a life, when don't you get one?" - "What sort of life have you had?" - "I've had a very successful one..." Transcripts from Knowing Me, Knowing You With Alan Partridge, Episode 6.
Now the relevence of this, is that if we trace Alan's career, we can see, sadly, it is on a downward tragectary. By far the funniest Alan series, was actually the KMKYWAP radio series, then The Day Today and KMKYWAP TV series scaled new heights in the chatosphere. However, once Alan is removed from this studio setting, he does lose a bit of an edge.
This is almost top drawer comedy. I use the word 'almost' because I'm Alan Partridge is not quite up to the standards of KMKYWAP or The Day Today, which is superior in essence. That is not to say the IAP isn't any good, as you can probably see I gave it five stars. The format falls short of the better chatshow set-up, which is more concisely funny, plus the canned laughter is of putting within the location shot context.
Coogan develops Alan alot more, making him a more tragic hero. We get to observe his daily routines, desperate attempts at jobs, jokes and general life. We do gain a better insight into the character, it is just part of the genius of KMKYWAP was that it hinted, implied and suggested so well at what Alan was like as a person. It was a cleverer, less blunt comedy. IAP is a tad more obvious, and has a different 'feel' to it.
I don't want to sound too downbeat, keep it light! This series is still very funny. There are some classic moments, and just because it is not as good as KMKYWAP, it remains a brilliant portion of comedy chips, with plenty of salt and vinegar, it is just short of that dollop of comedy tomato ketchup which its predecessors had.
That said, there is still plenty of hilarious escapades to enjoy. From cock piss partridge, to putting infected spinal coloums in a bap, to Jed Maxwell, to Alan's fact of the day, this is still the funniest comedy of the late 1990's. From the Alan's amazing repertoire of TV shows; Knowing M.E. Knowing You, Monkey Tennis, A Partridge Amongst The Pigeons, to his banter with David Clifton, this is an essential purchase. Episodes 3 and 5 are probably the best - but it is all first rate stuff.
Buy this now! Well, buy KMKYWAP radio series, first, then The Day Today, then KMKYWAP TV series, and then this you won't regret it. Well, you might, but if you do, you are probably a bit simple and should not be allowed to have an opinion.
On that bombshell, all the remains for me to say is good night and Aha! And a special Aha to Nico!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Partridge, you've had a phone call from Mr P.Nesshead, 29 May 2000
By A Customer
Great videos. You have to watch the episode with Alan's no. 1 fan where he runs off calling him a spastic. Top quality entertainment, Jurassic Park.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Queen!, 26 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm Alan Partridge : Complete BBC Series 1 [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD like 2 years ago...and it sort of fell behind my cupboard and was forgotten about till like last week. I watched the episodes again...and what can i say......kiss my face! Its like going to a cracking owl sanctuary...lol! Steve Coogan even in his other projects has a great presence...like u know someones watching him and his silly antics....poor guy! But on a serious not, Alan Partridge is one of the best comedies to be released in the UK for a long time, wonder if little britain can have the same success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars vhs, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
didnt really read small print and did not realise it was VHS! I don/t have a player! so have kept it as an antique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Audience laughter really dates this, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: I'm Alan Partridge : Complete BBC Series 1 [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
The Alan Partridge sitcom was quite innovative in a way. The faux-documentary look, hand-held cameras and real locations certainly inspired other TV shows such as Curb and The Office, so why on Earth did Coogan and Iannucci ruin it with the audience laughter track? It completely spoils the realism. I think that if they experimented with a laugh-track-free DVD/Blu Ray release the show would work a lot better. It was ahead of its time in 1997, but seems far too dated now thanks to the laugh track.

The show has Alan living in a travel tavern after being fired from the BBC after a disastrous Xmas Special. His wife has left him and he's slumming it in a graveyard shift in a local radio station. His luck goes from bad to worse as he refuses to change and adapt to the modern world around him. It's pretty dark and depressing stuff, but the rest of the wacky characters like Mike and Jed Maxwell make it intermittently hilarious.

Shot during the very sunny Spring of 1997 you really do have to wonder why Alan spends so much time indoors wearing several layers of clothing. Trapped inside a travel tavern he's clearly screaming for a release. It's hard for me to identify with him and by the end of this series Coogan had turned him from an irreverent, clumsy sports commentator into a public beacon of mental illness and isolation. Not funny, or smart. I guess that's why Coogan has done virtually nothing with Alan in the past decade. Where do you go after crashing and burning a great character like that?

The DVD features a horrible menu system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I'm Alan Partridge : Complete BBC Series 1 [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
Faulty product was falsely advertised, unless, there's someway I've no knowledge of of playing a dreadfully scratched DVD without the thing jamming and sections of the playing missed. Can you describe such a condition as anything but poor? This DVD certainly wasn't described as such. The DVD was absolutely littered with scratches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show - shame about the extras, 27 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: I'm Alan Partridge : Complete BBC Series 1 [1997] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm Alan Partridge was a brilliant follow-up to Knowing Me Knowing You - as well as being hilariously funny, it was also a thouroughly believable story of a third rate chatshow host trying to resurrect his television career. And the cast and characters surrounding Alan were excellent, as they really brought out the great comic potential of the central character.
So this DVD is well worth buying, even with the rather poor selection of extras that have been tacked on. Some of the out takes are amusing, and the improvised scene is interesting (if overlong). But the commentary from Alan and Lynn is of the same calibre as the inferior second series of I'm Alan Partridge.
So my advice is buy the DVD, but throw out disc 2 immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I'm Alan Partridge : Complete BBC Series 1 [1997] [DVD]
£2.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews