Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treat for Ticklemas Eve!, 4 Dec 2002
By 
Brian (South Ruislip, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ken Dodd: Another Audience With Ken Dodd [DVD] (DVD)
What a wonderful DVD for sticking under the Xmas tree, and saying, "How's that for supporting a branch of Littlewoods!" What a wonderful gift for giving to any of your family or friends to keep the chuckle muscles working overtime and in fifth gear. Ken Dodd never, ever disappoints and this is classic comedy from a living legend - the last of the greatest "front cloth" comics who mastered his art early on in his career, and in nearly fifty years has given his public enormous value at every performance. On this DVD, whether singing grand opera or clowning with the musicals, Ken displays the stamina of a man half his age and can relate to any age group in his audience.
As well as his "well-tried", but certainly not, "well-tired" routines, Ken goes for several of those "most-titters-to-a-minute" slots and that just makes you laugh and laugh as one quip follows the previous and leads into the next, with the result that convulsions set in, and the Doddy King achieves exactly what he set out to do.
With Ken Dodd, and this DVD, it certainly is "Happiness Always!" You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another audiance with ken dodd, 27 Dec 2010
I HAVE BEEN A FAN OF KEN SINCE THE EARLY FIFTIES, AND CAN SAY WHEN WILL HE EVER REPEAT A JOKE ? I FIRST SAW HIM ON CENTRAL PIER AT BLACKPOOL AND YOU CERTAINLY GOT YOUR MONIES WORTH AND ALL THESE YEARS LATER HE IS STILL AS GOOD OR BETTER A REALLY
MAGNIFICENT DISC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real British Comedy, 10 Dec 2010
By 
W. Coward (Angleterre) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is British stand-up comedy at its funniest. Ken Dodd follows in the footsteps of the comedians of the past. Today's TV comedians have lost the plot somehow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chuckle every time, 23 Sep 2004
This review is from: Ken Dodd: Another Audience With Ken Dodd [DVD] (DVD)
What can one say about Ken Dodd. It's mostly familiar material but so what. He cheers me up and that's worth playing this dvd over and over. Good value in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bover, 11 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to watch a true comedian who is at the top of the tree then go no further,no swearing and no crude jokes just fun fun fun all the way.A very funny man who does not have to make crude jokes about people to be funny.Even granny will remember this one and will not be offended,very good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a performer, 9 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Ken Dodd: Another Audience With Ken Dodd [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen many comedy routines on various dvds, videos etc. but I can offifically confirm that no other comedian/artist has ever made me laugh so much. I had tears running down my face the whole time I was watching this. Such a great man, he is without any doubt the master of this craft, no-one even comes close. He is also a fantastic singer. Modern comedy is very lazy observational material which is funny but this man wipes the floor with all of them with his timing his jokes which are so hilarious, his whole character. A true Icon of comedy and we need more of the marvel that is Ken Dodd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Master Class, 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When "An Audience with Ken Dodd" was first broadcast all those years ago, I was able to record it on tape. The tape has long since worn out, and when I discovered it in DVD form on Amazon I purchased it immediately, together with its successor "Another Audience with Ken Dodd". This reveiew is really for both.

All I can say is that I have seldom watched or listened to any comedian in recent years who comes remotely close to Ken Dodd. He is brilliantly funny, with a rapid-fire sense of, and manifest enjoyment of, the utterly ludicrous. Far too many of today's so-called comedians can't tell the difference between puerile schoolboy smut and sparkling wit. They must have a very low view of the humorous capacity of their audiences. Maybe I'm just getting old, but for my money none of them comes anywhere near his level.

Comedian, singer and ventriloquist - the man is up there on his own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ken Dodd master comedian, 31 Aug 2011
Ken Dodd has a brain like mercury (quicksilver). His jokes roll off so quickly that you are still catching up 2 jokes later. Good family humour with a hidden cheeky sideline of Knotty Ash tickling stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the laugh a second show., 10 May 2011
this is one of the funniest shows we have ever seen. You could watch this over and over again and we have, never get tired of seeing this. It's the timing of the jokes that makes them so funny. Worth the money over again. 5 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for elderly parents, 15 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought as a present for my elderly parents. My dad is 96 and has Alzheimers but this DVD of Ken Dodd's brought a smile to my Dad's face which was a pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ken Dodd: Another Audience With Ken Dodd [DVD]
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews