Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, engaging and beautiful - and lots of fun!
An absolute delight, with excellent acting and great production values. Rachael Stirling is utterly endearing and hard to forget, Keeley Hawes is simply delicious, and the rest of the cast are equally good. As a love story, Tipping the Velvet works perfectly - the romantic buildup and sex scenes are gorgeous and entirely believable, especially for a gay or lesbian...
Published on 3 Jan 2003 by Londonist

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, Bad and Ugly
What's good:

- The visuals. The colour, background, sights, sounds and (imagined) smells of Victorian London are just wonderful.

-Kitty Butler; what a beautiful woman Keely Hawes is. Perfect for Kitty, that sort-of upper class cockney accent and she looks flawless (and hot) dressed as a boy.

-The acting in general; well, you'd expect that...
Published on 10 Oct 2006 by R. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, engaging and beautiful - and lots of fun!, 3 Jan 2003
By 
Londonist (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
An absolute delight, with excellent acting and great production values. Rachael Stirling is utterly endearing and hard to forget, Keeley Hawes is simply delicious, and the rest of the cast are equally good. As a love story, Tipping the Velvet works perfectly - the romantic buildup and sex scenes are gorgeous and entirely believable, especially for a gay or lesbian audience. But there is so much more to be enjoyed - the vivid evocation of provincial music halls and oyster parlours, Kentish seaside and family life, and the world of Victorian London, with all its quirky contradictions and seamy undercurrents. There is also a wonderful depth of characterisation, and an avoidance of cliche, which is perhaps best illustrated by Sarah Waters' own subtle gender politics: the male characters are benign, often kind, and never vilified, while the real wielders of emotional power and pain are the lesbian characters themselves. There's a great deal here to discuss, if you ever happen to tire of gazing happily at the screen. Buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished and daring adaptation, 4 May 2005
By 
N. Clarke (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I was sceptical when this first aired - the subject matter seemed too risque for mainstream TV to do anything other than skirt nervously around, the marketing too slanted towards a voyeuristic male audience. Two years on, I rented the DVD and was more than pleasantly surprised.
Andrews Davies' screenplay is excellent, sticking close to the novel while judiciously trimming the plot down to essentials. Together with some clever direction and editing, it intelligently explores the novel's interlinked themes of performance, display, gender and identity. The sound and visual effects of the music hall pursue Nan throughout her journey from innocence to experience. Drumrolls, cymbal clashes and fade-to-black 'spotlights' accompany pivotal moments in her life. A recurring motif of dressing in front of mirrors subtly underlines how Nan variously expresses, hides and reinvents herself - sexually, physically, emotionally - as she moves from oyster girl to male impersonator to kept woman to socialist campaigner. At times, the series comes into its own beautifully, as with the intercut sequence of Nan and Kitty rehearsing their act together.
Surprisingly, too, none of the novel's bawdiness is lost - Nan's story is here in all its joys, pains and dildos - but again the production proves itself worthy. The sex scenes are explicit - but rather than just providing titillation, they always further the themes and character development.
The acting is a little uneven - certain cast members play it straighter than others (excuse the pun) - but the leads all do well with the material. Florence is less forthright and assured than in the book, but Jodhi May gives her grace and sweetness enough to make us root for her at the end. The only problem - to this reviewer - lies in Kitty, Nan's first love. The script misses a trick when it skips the novel's pivotal moment for her character (her crisis after a performance is interrupted by hecklers accusing the pair of being lesbians). Where she could have presented yet another facet of the theme of appearance and identity - her rushed, concealing marriage prompted by paranoia that exposure as a lesbian will blight her career and cost her the public adulation she craves - instead she emerges simply as a cliched, confused bisexual, unable to choose between Nan and Walter until it is too late.
On the whole, though, this is an brave and admirable adaptation that captures the essence of the novel and is highly entertaining in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queering the Period Drama, 30 Mar 2005
By 
Ms. V. Hoyle (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't get the chance to watch "Tipping the Velvet" when it was first screened by the BBC in 2002, and have only recently had the pleasure. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn't such sumptuous sexual and gendered liberalness - thankfully, the BBC took the book (beautifully written and themed to the teeth) and gave it the scriptural freedom it needed to express itself properly.
The product is "Tipping the Velvet", an unashamed exploration of gender and lesbian sexuality in Victorian England that deliberately questions manhood and womanhood, and the space between the two. We follow the protagonist, Nan Astley, on a bildungsroman from innocence to experience, through love and betrayal, from cross-dressing entertainment halls to dildo-wielding dominatrixes to proto-socialist paradise. If it sounds at all crude, it isn't - "Tipping the Velvet" *is* explicit, but the focus of the adaptation is not Nan's sexual initiations but her emotional trials. Her sexual explorations are part and parcel of this, but at no point does it degenerate into gratuitous displays. On the contrary, the sex scenes are accomplished with a commendable grace and poise, removing the usual aura of sordidness that surrounds the portrayal of same-sex relationships. The themed imagery comes thick and fact - the title itself being a euphemism - and begs us to think about the implications of acting, queerness, femininity, moral norms and love.
Furthermore, the overall standard of production itself is high, while Andrew Davies' script is spot-on for tone and characterisation. A few anachronistic slips can be forgiven I think. :-)
Overall, excellent thought-provoking entertainment for people of all sexual persuasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tipping the velvet........., 8 Nov 2002
This review is from: Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
From start to finish,this is a wonderful adaption of Sarah Waters' novel of rags to riches,with love for good measure.A lesbian "Moll Flanders"!
Rachael Stirling is wonderful as Nan, a girl on the brink of womanhood discovering her true sexuality.Keeley Hawes turn in a brillaint performance as the male impersonator,Kitty,who becomes Nan's first love.
Bravo!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 9 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best films I have ever seen. Definitely worth seeing. Compellingly beautiful story, great screen writing, wonderful acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tip-top velvet!, 12 Nov 2002
By A Customer
A fantastic and accurate production of the book by Sarah Waters.
Rachel Stirling and Keeley Hawes play the parts of Nan and Kitty brilliantly.
For once its refreshing to watch a TV dramatisation that reflects the book and not the directors taste!If you enjoyed the book you will most definitely love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tipping the Velvet: Love and Real Life, 9 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
What a refreshing change to see a drama involving lesbians in which the focus for the story is one of love and real life, rather than a sordid depiction of lesbians solely as sexual figures.
While watching Tipping the Velvet I found myself being drawn into the world of Nan (played perfectly by Rachael Stirling), and seeing her struggle to find her real self. I immediately grew fond of the character Nan, and found my empathy growing throughout. I laughed with her, rejoyced with her and cried with her.
The dynamics of the relationship between Nan and Kitty (played by Keeley Hawes) moved and excited me, and would strike a note in the heart of any viewer who has ever felt the excitement of being in love, or wishing for it.
Those viewers expecting scenes of a sexual nature will not be disappointed - but this production is not about sex, it is about love and real life.
I loved the period costumes, and the set. However, at points the camera shots and angles resembled a low budget version of a Baz Luhrmann production - in particular a repeated shot of a rather plastic looking rose.
Overall though I can not hesitate to tell you all to buy the DVD and read the book... This story does not only take you on an emotional journey of Nan's life, but will take you on a remarkable journey of your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tipping the Velvet, 19 Feb 2003
By 
Seamas Honohan (Cheshire, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this movie to see Keeley Hawes, who I thought was fantastic as Lizzy Hexam in Our Mutual friend, but I discovered Rachel Stirling! As an innocent girl on her journey of life, love and self awareness, she is at once beautiful, innocent and completely believable in this lovely, wonderfully acted story which, though classified as a lesbian film, goes way beyond mere sexuality and gender.
As usual, British filmmakers get it right with their casting, as even the smaller characters just fit. You'll recognize familiar faces, but you'll not be able to keep your eyes or heart off Stirling.
Go get this movie; you will have a new perspective on love, friendship and , well, maybe life in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Book?, 30 Mar 2005
This review is from: Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I adored this fantastic adaption from Sarah Water's Novel from beginning to end and would even recommend it to someone who disliked the book. I particularly enjoyed the scenes with Diane as she is my favourite character. Though it is not entireley faithful with the book, readers shouldn't be disappointed. The actors do a fanatstic job of portraying the characters and deserve praise. Tipping is a wonderful piece of Drama and isn't as shocking and many people think it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but not as good as the book, 18 Dec 2005
This review is from: Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this on the BBC when it was first on and loved every minute of it. It is beautifully acted and put together so well that it really was a pleasure to watch.
However, having watched it several times, i felt is should really read the book, which is absolutely superb. It is so well written. If you are thinkng about renting or buying this i would strongly suggest doing so but i would say read the book first!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tipping the Velvet : The Complete BBC Series [2002] [DVD]
Used & New from: 7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews