Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars virtua tennis... smashing
This is a quality tennis game. Having played other tennis games I can safely say that this is the best.
A very good arade style game, with a strong career mode and an excellent multiplayer or singleplayer arcade.
In career mode you start of 300th in the world, and very bad stats you have to enter into tournaments to get up your ranking and to win money, to buy...
Published on 5 April 2005 by P. Campbell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of tennis games.
If you are a big tennis fan like I am, I do not recommend this game, there are newer versions of tennis games now.
The problem i had with this game itself was that when i was playing it there is nothing new, no real excitement.
Just game after game, the same tournaments. The same tournaments are played in tennis yes i know, but this game had no thrill to it, no...
Published on 16 Feb. 2009 by Edward Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars virtua tennis... smashing, 5 April 2005
By 
P. Campbell "ppc115" (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a quality tennis game. Having played other tennis games I can safely say that this is the best.
A very good arade style game, with a strong career mode and an excellent multiplayer or singleplayer arcade.
In career mode you start of 300th in the world, and very bad stats you have to enter into tournaments to get up your ranking and to win money, to buy better raquets, shoes etc. You also do a number of challanes to get up your stats.
These include a "space invaders" style challange where serving machines hit balls at you and you volley them back. If you hit them then they dissapear. Or one where you have to serve at a number of bowling pins. It's really good fun and also hard enough to keep you going for a while but not hard enough to have you throw down the ontroller in frustration.
The multiplayer is terrific and if you have a multi-tap you'll be getting this game out over and over again to play 2 on 2 doubles tournaments with your friends its really good.
If you complete arade without losing a math you get to challange the king and/or queen, who are dresset in old fashioned aps and clothes and weild wooden raquets.
The graphics however aren't the best, My friends and I have dubbed Tim Henman "Clay man" as he looks like he has been made out of plastercene.
Over all I'd give this game about a 9/10 a very good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb gameplay, 19 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Bought this game and haven't stopped playing it. It has superb gameplay and is extremely addictive. I bought this as i had played it in arcades over the years and it is even better on the PS2. Anyone would like the game. I urge anyone and everyone to buy it now!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Federer of Tennis Games!, 6 Jan. 2005
By 
Mr. M. Hussain (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
There are tennis games and then there is Virtua Tennis 2! It's absolutely brilliant! The graphics are bright, vibrant and highly detailed! The motion capture is very good and the stars like Rafter, Henman and Moya really do bear resemblance to their real life counter parts. Except Henman looks a little to beefy and on steroids in this game! However the control method is the real winner though! I don't think you will ever get better, intuitive arcade controls on any game! King and Queen need to be defeated in order to gain number 1 ranking. And believe me they are rock to beat! I've finally managed to do it after two months of pain and heartbreak! This will keep you coming back for more again and again. Buy it now! Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the cash, 14 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is an instantly gripping game. There is no doubt that there has been a lot of effort put into the playability. The graphics and the feel of the controls are very fluid, helping you to become familiar with the skills quickly and yet with enough scope to allow you to develop some talent over time.
Career mode, which has the lasting appeal of the game, allows you to develop the skills of your characters (one male, one female) by playing several sub-games, each of which focuses on a particular skill such as stroke, volley, serve & footwork. Tournaments are played which advance your world ranking (the objective being to become world number 1) and give prizes of rackets, sports shops in which equipment can be bought, etc.
The look of the game is great. I am sure that the designers have somehow managed to give the character's some of their actual characteristics, for example the stance of Venus Williams, the way Tim Henman reacts after winning a shot etc, are all spookily accurate!
The only thing that keeps me from giving the game five stars is that in the later stages of the game where most of the skills have been developed beyond half way, it becomes unnecessarily difficult to advance further, thus making you quickly lose interest. Despite this, it is well worth anyone playing.
Action 7/10
Graphics 8/10
Gameplay 8/10
Atmosphere 6/10
Lastability 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arcade-style impact with considerable depth, 18 Jun. 2004
By 
M. Appleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Being an arcade conversion, VT2 is all about impact. It is the kind of game that takes almost no time to figure out how to play (you can literally dive straight in and be playing expert-looking shots inside three minutes). In the arcade this would be counter-balanced by a distinct lack of depth (who's going to stand there all day shoving 50p pieces in to see a custom-designed player through to Wimbledon...)
However, the console incarnations of VT2 feature an excellent World Tour mode, where one can develop a player from absolute scratch and add to his/her abilities at will (infuriatingly, though, it takes an awful lot of training to get into your first match, just like in real life).
Graphically VT2 is definitely of the "Virtua" caste, with that distinctive "unfinished polygon" look which, IMO, is not as appropriate as the "simulation" style look of Smash Court Pro Tournament. Also, I have yet to hit a ball "out" on anything except a serve (no doubt to keep arcade goers happy...)
There are only 16 players to choose from, something that seems destined to blight ALL the recent console tennis games (even the new SCPT2 only has 16. Hmm...)
If it's a straight "get up and go" tennis game you're after, you might prefer this over SCPT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smasher!, 30 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
You're on centre court. The crowd is cheering. You walk over and onto the baseline. You throw the ball up. What happens next?
Finally, Virtua Tennis 2, the hit game produces by Acclaim, is here and it doesn't dissapoint. It is without a doubt the most realistic tennis simulation, ever to grace a console.
It has everything. Top players, real world events, a career mode and an arcade mode for those who just want to have fun.
Real-life players include Tim Henman, Yevgeny Kafelnikov and Pat Rafter. you have a choice between grass, hard and clay courts depending on the style of tennis you prefer.
The graphics are superb, and the attention to detail ecstatic. A gust of wind will have a big impact on the flight of the ball and the movement of players clothing.
This game is serious on tennis. It doesn't try to show tennis in a form that is pathetic, such as the awful 'Hard Hitter'. Instead, it pays attention to what people what from a tennis simulation. it has the sunshine, the cheering of the crowd, the changes in weather conditions, everything you would expect in a real match.
However, the game may flaw in some areas. It doesn't have a commentary system. It doesn't have as many players as you would like. The cheesy music can get annoying.
In spite of this, it is an excellent game and it is a must for tennis fans and recommended to every Playstation 2 owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of too few quality tennis games, 2 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
The lookability of this game might not be stunning, but the gameplay more than makes up for it. The graphics aren't bad but in this day and age could be better, but the realism and the way the game plays makes it the best tennis game available on the PS2. Great multiplayer fun is guarenteed, and single player mode is made a hell of a lot more fun by the inclusion of a 'World Tour' mode. It allows the user to create a male and female tennis player and train them up using fun mini-games and tournements to become number 1 male and female in the world. A must have for tennis fans especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tasty tennis game, 29 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
this game is a great tennis game. you can play exhibition which allows you to play in differnt courts in different places such as wimbeldon or one like cape town you have to unlock.you can chose to either play 1-6 games on easy,normal,hard,veryhard. that all aplys also for doubles and mixed doubles.you can play tournament which has 5 rounds on singles and on doubles or mixed doubles has 3 rounds.but the bad thing is it goes to differnt places eg 1st round in melbourne 2nd in paris quater finals in wimbeldon (london)
there are 16 players 8 male 8 female
8 MALE 8 FEMALE

pat rafter AUS venus wllliams USA
tim henman UK serena williams USA
cederic pioline FRA lindsay davenport USA
yevgeny kafelnikov RUS monica seles USA
tommy hass GER mary pierce FRA
thomas enqvist SWE arantax sanches vicario ESP
magnus norman SWE ai sugiyama JPN
carlos moya ESP alexandra stevenson USA
on world tour you start off at 300th and try to get to no.1 every time you do an exercise eg trainning for sereveing that takes up a week or a. the more you do the more your player gets tired so their stamina goes down and you have to rest at your home for a week. you start off with a man and a women. each tournament which depending on your rank each last 2 games for lower ranks 3 games for a middle rank and 6 games for a high rank such as french open wimbeldon australian open us open.you win money for winning a tournament or if you win the semi final and lose the final you get half the money you would if you won the tournament.you train to be exellent at serveing strokeing vollying and dashing and turning.the more you train at that thing the better youll be ive got the best for strokeing the different bits that make up a brilliant stroke which are power acuracy and control, topest level for serveing control and power with the best raquet i got a 219km (137mph) serve.best level for side dash net dash and turn but i still need to improve my volleying. this is all on my male player. once your in the final of the world tour with both of your players male and female you play the king and queen in 6 games in mixed doubles.graphics great. brill game terific buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best tennis game ever!!, 7 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
There have not been hardly any quality tennis games around since the original virtua tennis which made its debut back on the arcades then shortly on the dreamcast. this tennis game was completly different from the rest which is why it was so special at the time. It offered players the chance to realy play an accurate and realistic tennis game for the first time. When rumours where flying that sega was going to make a sequal to this game it is no surprise why everyone was on the edge of there seats. The rumours happened to be true and in that sega released virtua tennis 2 a follow up to the smash it virtua tennis. But the question is would it live up to the hype. for me it is a yes. the graphics have been improved from the original with smother and more detailed players. the gamplay as been improved providing the players the chance to it topspins and lobs all in all female players. this was one of the major critisms that the original recieved no female players. well i can assure you that there in virtua tennis 2 including the likes of monica seles and the williams sisters. all in all quality sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of tennis games., 16 Feb. 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
If you are a big tennis fan like I am, I do not recommend this game, there are newer versions of tennis games now.
The problem i had with this game itself was that when i was playing it there is nothing new, no real excitement.
Just game after game, the same tournaments. The same tournaments are played in tennis yes i know, but this game had no thrill to it, no real excitment. Once you have completed a tournament it is repeated again.
The delivery was quite slow but i was glad to have the game at last, but it wasn't a real enjoyment to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2)
Virtua Tennis 2 (PS2) by Acclaim (PlayStation2)
£8.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews