Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice selection of tracks but with a few disappointing tracks
La Suite covers a few bases - from acid jazz through funky house, back to laid-back grooves. Most of the tracks are superb and serve as an invitation to explore more from the original artists (if you like the tracks featured here then be sure to check out the long players from De-Phazz, 45 Dip, Rollercone, Boozoo Bajou, etc).
This compilation is let down by some real...
Published on 6 Feb. 2002 by cafedelmar@hotmail.com

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for its year.. buy etage 3!
I came to "La suite" after hearing the latest 2 Costes releases and can only say Pompougnac has mastered his trade since the release of this double album. 'Dance' music notoriously dates very quickly and this is a prime example. Despite a few stand out tracks of true brilliance the Costes brand, on compilation at least, flatters to deceive and there are a fair...
Published on 24 Mar. 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice selection of tracks but with a few disappointing tracks, 6 Feb. 2002
By 
This review is from: Hotel Costes - La Suite (Audio CD)
La Suite covers a few bases - from acid jazz through funky house, back to laid-back grooves. Most of the tracks are superb and serve as an invitation to explore more from the original artists (if you like the tracks featured here then be sure to check out the long players from De-Phazz, 45 Dip, Rollercone, Boozoo Bajou, etc).
This compilation is let down by some real clangers however. The tracks from Another Level and Femi Kuti, just don't belong here. Also the track sequencing and "mixing" could have been a lot better. There often isn't a sense of flow from track to track. I think Stephane Pompougnac could have dropped some of the slower tracks and included a few more funky songs to keep the feel more upbeat. The mixing between tracks seems to consist of a straightforward crossfade without much consideration for the song. Sometimes this works, but sometimes the result is very sloppy (the mix into Mr Scuff's brilliant "Get a move on" is an example). A good - but not exceptional - collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars La Suite not as good as the other two, but it's still funky., 11 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hotel Costes - La Suite (Audio CD)
I have to admit that La Suite is not as good as the other two volumes. But don't let that put you off, this is definitely a grower and if your into superior funky, uplifting house music with that little bit of whimsy, Stephane Pompougnac is your man.
I absolutely adore what this man does, pray that he keeps on doing it and doing it well. Buy it and the others and I promise that you will not be disappointed. Then wait with baited breath until Hotel Costes release another cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for its year.. buy etage 3!, 24 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hotel Costes - La Suite (Audio CD)
I came to "La suite" after hearing the latest 2 Costes releases and can only say Pompougnac has mastered his trade since the release of this double album. 'Dance' music notoriously dates very quickly and this is a prime example. Despite a few stand out tracks of true brilliance the Costes brand, on compilation at least, flatters to deceive and there are a fair few tracks which don't really deserve their place here. Unless you feel the need to complete a collection of Pompougnac releases I would save your money here if I were you and buy the excellent Etage 3..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Costes - La Suite (Audio CD)
heard this cd on spotify and loved it .know i have my own cd .its a must cd to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My best music purchase this year!, 9 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hotel Costes - La Suite (Audio CD)
Whether you just want to chill out or dance, Costes... La Suite will fit your mood. Having bought this CD I have listened to it constantly... in the car, at work, at home... and now all my friends are dying to buy a copy! It's just a pity that we don't have any local clubs that play this kind of music - I knew there was a reason I don't go clubbing very often! Must go and buy the other two now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groovy funkadelic lounge mix from Paris' coollest hip hotel., 6 Jun. 2000
This review is from: Hotel Costes - La Suite (Audio CD)
From the mix master of the Hotel Costes in Paris, the French capital's coolest hip hotel, comes a compilation of the latest funk/lounge tracks which will have you samba'ing around your living room Chill out with this achingly cool collection....mmmm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel Costes - La Suite (Audio CD)
A great compideliver.lation, never fails to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hotel Costes - 2 (La Suite)
Hotel Costes - 2 (La Suite) by Stéphane Pompougnac (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews