Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roxette - The Sad-hit Makers!, 2 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
ROXETTE's ballad hits are awesome! It's really cool to hear ballads when you're with a special person or when you're on your own... The album includes Roxette's greatest ballad hits:
1. A Thing About You - the single released from the album, didn't make on the charts but it's great.
2. It Must Have Been Love - Roxette's biggest hit to date (included on the Pretty Woman soundtrack) made No.3 in June 1990.
3. Listen To Your Heart - double a-sided with Dangerous, re-issued in August 1990, came at UK No6, though it's first release was in 1989 (time in which the single made US No1)
4. Fading Like A Flower - power-pop ballad, Fading Like A Flower made No2 in the US but didn't have a big moment in the UK, making No12 in 1991, it deserved a higher position.
5. Spending My Time - another underrated song, it only managed a No22 in October 1991.
6. Queen Of Rain - brilliant in all aspects, this song is the second single-off the Tourism album. A UK No28 in late 1992.
7. Almost Unreal - Roxette's return to the Top Ten, Almost Unreal is the main hit from the outrageous Super Mario Bros. movie, and came at UK No7 in 1993. The single would be followed in the same year by a re-release of It Must Have Been Love, due to a Pretty Woman VHS re-issue. It Must Have Been Love made No10 in 1993.
8. Crash! Boom! Bang! - follow up to the successive Sleeping In My Car, UK No14 in March 1994, this single didn't have any chance in the UK Top 20, but managed a No26 the same year.
9. Vulnerable - a huge hit throughout Europe and Latin America, Vulnerable failed to make the UK Top 40.
10. You Don't Understand Me - the first single released from 3 new hits taken out Roxette's first greatest hits compilation Don't Bore Us, Get To The Chorus! A UK chart failure.
11. Wish I Could Fly - Roxette's first sizeable hit in years, it was the swedish band's return. The single made No11 in February 1999 and it was the first from the respectable Have A Nice Day album released the same year.
12. Anyone - follow up to Wish I Could Fly, didn't have a chance on the Top 40, but is still a great song!
13. Salvation - last single-off Have A Nice Day album, is really great to listen to it.
14. Milk And Toast And Honey - the ballad hit from Roxette's 2001 album Room Service, it's very nice and sweet and it was a huge hit in Europe and Latin America. Never released in the UK.
15. Breathe - a great and fresh new song. Listen to it, you'll love it!
Overall the album is a 10 stars. It was released on Valentine's week 2003 and made No11 on the Album charts. Buy it and don't forget Roxette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballad hits, 22 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
A must have for Roxette fans! Don't let the Ballad title fool you, its not depressing mush that some may associate with the word ballad!
It's got the classics on it, the most famous being "It Must Have Been Love" which always makes me think of Pretty Woman, which can only be a good thing in my eyes!
My other personal favourites have got to be "Fading Like a Flower" and the brilliant "Almost Unreal".
This is an album thats easy to listen to and way too easy to sing a long to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Home!, 3 Mar 2003
By 
L. Foxall "foxall" (Warrington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
I found this album waiting for me when I came back from my holiday and after listening to it, I thought it's good to be back.

There are songs which I am familiar with from their greatest hits album such as the legendary "It Must Have Been Love" and "Listen To Your Heart" and other nice songs such as "Spending My Time", "You Don't Understand Me" and "Crash, Boom! Bang!" but there are other songs such as "Queen Of Rain", "Milk & Toast & Honey (what a sweet song!)" and "Salvation" which fit into the nature of the album extremely well and are as good as the better known songs.

For anyone wondering why I got this when I have their greatest hits, their newer songs are on this and because they do both ballads and rock-pop, I prefer to have one type of music on 1 album and the other on another rather than have them mixed together.

Overall, I found this a very nice album which I would recommend to all fans of Roxette. The music is typically passionate but not heavy which makes it easy to listen to (for myself anyway).

I am now looking forward to the Pop Hits album which is due soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ultimate popwer balleds, 17 Jun 2003
By 
M. Kuryliw "Orson" (England yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
This is an album full of power ballads & great songs. The new song 'A thing about you' is a new fresh sound from roxette. then the second new song 'Breathe' is a great modern power ballad which should of been a single !! the rest of the songs are 15 years of the best love song's .some form smash hit movies which you will know when you hear the song .
'The pop hits' goes great with this 'The balladhits' album to complete the best music/roxette collection around .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roxette The Ballad Hits, 25 Feb 2003
By 
R. J. Bristow "Rbee" (Beds United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
Don't be fooled into thinking that this is yet another Greatest Hits package, it is a must buy for Roxette fans both old and new alike. Most Roxette fans will already have songs like 'It Must Have Been Love' and 'Fading Like A Flower' in their collection but this package gives you the best tracks from the groups last two disappointing keyboard-based albums. Songs like 'Anyone' and 'Milk And Toast And Honey' are amongst Roxette's best as is the superb 'You Don't Understand Me' from the group's previous greatest hits package.
The two new songs included here are 'A Thing About You' which is currently receiving a lot of airplay here in The United Kingdom, and the even better 'Breathe.' 'Breathe' is Roxette at their very best, Per Gessle's ability to write a catchy melody and Marie Fredrickson's powerful yet sweet voice.
Buy the album now and you receive a bonus CD containing four brand new ballads. All four songs are very good but the highlight is the hauntingly beautiful 'The Weight Of The World.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE best valentine's gift for 2003, 5 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
A Thing About You is just as beautiful as ballads get. Simple, melodic and charming. Roxette have never been trendy, but that is what makes them so trendy. Simply by listening to this albm you will be able to hear the changes in their music styles ... the big american FM early 90s stunners of Listen To Your Heart and It Must Have Been Love - through to mid 90s bubblegum ballads such as Crash! Boom! Bang! and Vulnerable. Then to the present day with Salvation and Breathe. Stylish and sophisticated - but without all of the trash that you can get clogged up with around valentine's day. brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Marion Cooper "Tankman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of their ballads, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Williams Mark Thomas "le géographe" (Madrid, Espagne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
This is a good collection of the Swedish groups romantic ballads that those of us in our fifties still find enjoyable to listen to. Nevertheless, nowadays you can get them for free on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roxette forever!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
I just love Roxette. This CD is just full of great songs. I could listen to it forever. Just love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best ballad albums to own, 23 Feb 2003
By 
M. Lomax (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ballad Hits (Audio CD)
This album is a gem. I've yet to stop listening to it since purchasing it! From start to finish, this is a very listenable collection of songs.
A thing about you, sung by Per puts the album of to a great start - I particually like the layered chorus with Per singing with Marie's vocals interjecting over the top.. All important track 2 is "It must have been love" - which is probably one of the better known tracks - still stands against time as one of those classic songs to listen to when having a night in.
Moving on through the album and you are given more and more classic Roxette - Listen to your heart, Fading Like a flower the list goes on.
If you want an album for nights in or for driving, falling asleep to, waking up to - this should cover most needs quite easily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ballad Hits
The Ballad Hits by Roxette (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews