Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair Dinkum!
I'm a big fan of Steve Irwin -he's one of those guys that you think is fantastic/mega brill or you just don't get him at all. Therefore, I loved Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course.
It's got all those classic 'Stevo' moments - grappling with some of the most dangerous/poisonous critters on the planet, classic 'Stevo' catchphrases - "Don't muck with it!", "This is...
Published on 19 Nov. 2002 by Samantha Poulter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lame plot, but Steve Irwin!
I wasn't expecting great things from this film, Crocodile Hunter was always better as a series and for the most part, this film follows the formula of Steve Irwin tracking down extremely dangerous animals and looking like he's trying to agitate them. Then there's a lame story about a satellite device being swallowed by a crocodile and a trio of secret agents being sent to...
Published on 22 Feb. 2010 by Random Hero


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fair Dinkum!, 19 Nov. 2002
By 
Samantha Poulter (West Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Steve Irwin -he's one of those guys that you think is fantastic/mega brill or you just don't get him at all. Therefore, I loved Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course.
It's got all those classic 'Stevo' moments - grappling with some of the most dangerous/poisonous critters on the planet, classic 'Stevo' catchphrases - "Don't muck with it!", "This is where the flies drink from your eyeballs!" (Yes, honestly!!). All highly entertaining & fascinating stuff!
The DVD looks & sounds good with several behind the scenes featurettes, which are just as entertaining as the film. These go into more detail regarding filming with the snakes & the croc - see just how close Steve got to having his head chomped off...! You also get a neat 'Croc Track' feature - if you've ever seen 'Pop Up Video' on VH1, its a little similar, with facts about the film in funky shapes!!!
As far as I was concerned, the film didn't need the CIA agents storyline - Steve Irwin is the one who makes this film (with a generous nod to Terri his wife) & the story was a little hit & miss at times, but nevertheless, this DVD has gone onto my Christmas wish list.
If you love his TV programmes then go & get a copy at once, if you're not sure, rent before you buy. Whichever, you will be thoroughly entertained AND informed by Steve Irwin - the one and only Crocodile Hunter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crikey!, 5 Jan. 2003
By 
Mr. M. Metcalf (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
Danger, danger!
There, I said it. I got the quotes out of my system. This is one film you'll be quoting forever, it's brill! The Crocodile Hunter is one of those movies that is so fun and visually interesting, it doesn't need a plot. Yes, the film's plot is bad, but I find it hard to criticise it because of that. The setting is vibrant and colourful, and the action never stops. Steve Irwin is, without a doubt, the most incredibly enthusiastic man on the planet, and he carries this film on his shoulders. He makes this film what it is. He's a good man, too, he's always making sure not to harm the animals, and make sure of their safety. Such a lively man, and a man so willing to throw himself into the path of poisonous snakes and spiders, pick them up, and say, "Hello little guy! How ya doin?" deserves a medal.
All the actors and actresses do a fine job, although Magda Szubanski, playin Brozzie Drewitt, especially stands out as the obnoxious, but hilarious, bad guy (girl). It is hard to realise the skill of the other actors, as Steve, Terri (his wife), and Brozzie are pretty much the only guys on screen at any given time.
The DVD has some nice extras, behind the scenes, etc. They really give you an insight into how real this guy is, and how all the animals he deals with are real.
All in all, great fun for all the family. One of my favourite films of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Aussie humor!, 16 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this film when it came out, but it was showing on TV today, so I thought, what the heck, it's raining outside, might as well give it a look. Now I'm ordering a copy on DVD.

Reading other reviewers on this site, I see most of them praised the Irwins, but rather disparaged the so-called 'plot' and the other characters. However, the total insanity of the storyline, the inspired one-liners by many of the characters, the juxtaposition of deadpan scenarios involving the American agents with the hilarious antics of the Aussies -- all were priceless. I enjoyed this movie from start to finish.

I'm certain this incredible slice of Aussie bang-the-head humour was never meant to be a Cannes award-winning film. It is, however, a great showcase for the sadly-late Steve Irwin to strut his stuff.

Okay, so an American satellite fragment containing sensitive information which drops out of the sky over Queensland and gets swallowed by a cow-eating crocodile is not exactly an intellectual plotline, but nobody could ever accuse Steve Irwin of being too intellectual in his approach, could they? Crocodile Dundee On Speed = Steve Irwin.

There is no sane reason I can think of, for a man to jump into murky waters to wrestle a large, "grumpy" crocodile, or waltz around in circles dangling "the most venomous snake in the world" by its tail, or to tickle huge spiders with sticks in order to demonstrate the size of their fangs.

Steve enacted that kind of wild nonsense onscreen --yakking incessantly all the while -- because he was a bonzo Aussie, through and through. That's the tack he chose to raise awareness of his version of the natural world. Insane. But effective. And a heck of a lot of fun.

The scene where Irwin finally gets his (grubby) hands on the satellite fragment is priceless, and kept me laughing out loud all the way through to the end of the film, plus the credits.

This is one of the funniest films I've seen in ages. Don't worry about the plot being believable -- it's not meant to be. It's great stuff.

And now it's quit raining as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lame plot, but Steve Irwin!, 22 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting great things from this film, Crocodile Hunter was always better as a series and for the most part, this film follows the formula of Steve Irwin tracking down extremely dangerous animals and looking like he's trying to agitate them. Then there's a lame story about a satellite device being swallowed by a crocodile and a trio of secret agents being sent to track it down, mistaking Steve and his wife for enemy spies.

This is not a great film, if you liked the Crocodile Hunter series with Steve tempting death whilst firing off animal facts, stick with that. However if you are a diehard Steve Irwin fan, then buy this but don't expect a great plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a look at this!, 20 Jan. 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
Here is a movie that both adults and children can enjoy and even learn from. To some degree, the Crocodile Hunter movie is much like the Crocodile Hunter television series--Steve and Terri personally introduce us to some of the most misunderstood, wildly beautiful animals on the planet--crocodiles, venomous snakes, monstrous spiders, etc. The Irwins are basically in the middle of one of their typical outings into nature, rescuing an orphaned little kangaroo, getting snakes off the road and away from the danger of vehicles, and rescuing wild crocodiles who have come into too close contact with humans (actually, it is humans who have invaded crocodile territory). Interspersed throughout all this, though, the plot of this movie is developed. A very important little piece of spyware has been lost from an orbiting satellite over Queensland, Australia. Two competing factions within the CIA (who would have thunk it?) dispatch agents to recover the information at any cost. Meanwhile, a very disagreeable old woman in the Outback is trying to kill the crocodile threatening her cows; as fate would have it, this particular crocodile has swallowed the spyware the U.S. agents are after. Luckily, the Irwins come along and rescue the crocodile before the old lady can kill him. When they find the agents suddenly on their tail, they believe them to be poachers, and they go to great pains to ensure the safety of the long-suffering crocodile by transplanting him into another river system. The funniest part of the movie, in my opinion, was the conclusions drawn by the CIA about Steve Irwin. Citing the facts that Irwin had been in South America at the time of two coups, in Kenya at the time of the embassy bombing, and in East Timor soon after its civil war, they consider him to be some kind of dangerous criminal element.
I hope people won't interpret the making of this movie as an attempt by Steve Irwin to go Hollywood. The only reason the Irwins made this movie was to further increase awareness about the beauty of nature's wild creatures and to encourage any and all efforts at conservation of wildlife. This movie especially highlighted the dangers poachers continue to present for wildlife everywhere. Any fan of the TV series will certainly enjoy this movie as much as I did, and most likely some new Crocodile Hunters fans will be brought into the fold. This is certainly a movie parents will have no qualms about letting their children see, as it is more than appropriate for all audiences. The animals are quite real here, and there were quite real dangers involved in making this movie. As such, it is as educational as it is entertaining. The ending is a little weird, but enjoyably so; it is the message and not the plot that is important here. This isn't about Steve Irwin getting rich and famous; it is about saving the animals we share the planet with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steve Irwin - Acting, 8 May 2013
By 
Lez (Newcastle upon Tyne. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because I loved watching Crocodile Hunter on the television. Steve did magnificent work with wild life and was a larger than life character - when I first caught Croc Hunter by accident I though that he was acting up for the cameras - quickly discovered otherwise from what people said about him. Obviously in this he is 'acting' for the cameras - and it doesn't look much different - the story line is a bit far fetched which is why I have deducted a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film for the kids., 19 April 2013
By 
J. W. Craig - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately my daughter missed Steves antics during his lifetime, but this film is a hit in this house as my daughter is a big fan of deadly 60. She really enjoys this film and it brings back a lot of memories for the rest of us. Fans of Steve will enjoy this (even if it was made for the kiddies) and kids who love Deadly 60 will enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 21 Nov. 2009
By 
R. J. Ashley "Becci" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
Steve Irwin is my child's hero and so I bought this for him for a present. He absolutely loves it and I've even sneaked a peak or two as well! Typical Steve Irwin style DVD - loads of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steveo you're the best, 18 Nov. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
You're alright mate, you're alright...
If you haven't seen his series of Crocodile Hunter then this is a great introduction into his mode of presentation, you either love it or hate it... I love it. Steveo and Terri are out on another adventure and come accross snakes crocs and a spider as well as a few poachers that need a Steveo education.
It's a good laugh and as I'm a hardcore Steveo fan I loved it, I'm sure someone who hasen't seen Steve in action before will find it entertaining. Also the extra scenes were very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] (DVD)
Parcel came really quickly after ordering, excellent value and brilliantly packaged would reccommend this site to anyone who what good value and service,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD]
The Crocodile Hunter - Collision Course [DVD] by John Stainton (DVD - 2002)
£3.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews