Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it and hug it
Thank god this CD got made. It makes you worry now that we have lost dear old John, who is going to pick up the baton and keep pushing the different and the unusual to an increasingly spoon fed public? Nothing beat flicking through the radio, quickly switching away from banal trance and bland R&B, to find John Peel on Radio 1 ... kicking out some furious drum and bass...
Published on 26 Feb 2005 by Simon J. Whight

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different
As with the great man's shows, this is all about contrast. There are bound to be tracks you will like, but also probably ones which you won't.

The one thing Peely did well was to put odd things together and make them fit quite nicely. This is evident here, but the compilation does contain the odd track that's either a bit tired or just not that special.
Published on 18 Sep 2006 by Mr. Peter Barrett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it and hug it, 26 Feb 2005
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
Thank god this CD got made. It makes you worry now that we have lost dear old John, who is going to pick up the baton and keep pushing the different and the unusual to an increasingly spoon fed public? Nothing beat flicking through the radio, quickly switching away from banal trance and bland R&B, to find John Peel on Radio 1 ... kicking out some furious drum and bass. Who do we have now? Peel was an institution, the Radio moguls will never let anyone take risks with music like he did have a free reign now. *sigh*
This CD encapsulates the essence of Peel. Classic moments from The Fall, The Undertones and New Order make appearences on the mix, this sits along side some bizarre country and western covers of classic punk tracks, crazy hardcore, proper ragga drum & bass and thunderous techno. Its a mix that puts all other 'eclectic' DJs to shame. Plus the veteran doesn't do a bad job of mixing it all together, certainly better than what the likes of Howie B mashed together on his Fabric mix!
The mix is full of personal touches, the little snippets of classic Liverpool european excursions, the Kop crowd and just the spirit of a man who loved music oozing throughout the track selections. It would expose any Ministry compilation as the soulless marketed guff that it truely is any day.
The packaging is nifty, the recordings timeless, this is one collection for you to own. Once owned, go pick up all those Peel Session CDs that you can find out there (I can thoroughly recommend the Autechre, Boards Of Canada, Plaid/Black Dog and Orb ones ... tasty, and a testament to a man who would push 'different' acts to a mainstream audience).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange but entertaining!, 7 Dec 2002
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
I don't think any reviewer will be able to avoid using the word 'eclectic' to describe this album, but I'd like to add 'surreal' as well - I wondered if my stereo was broken when I heard Joy Division's tragic 'Love Will Tear Us Apart' interrupted by some football commentary. It seems that Mr Peel wanted to relive some of Liverpool's past triumphs... whether it annoys you or not probably depends on whether you are a Liverpool fan!
As to the music, most of the album is very enjoyable, but a bit crazy - if you listen to John's radio shows you should have a fair idea of what to expect. I'll be honest and admit that I only knew a few of the songs before buying the album (I bought it because I like John Peel and I liked the metal CD case!) but it was great 'discovering' a few new things. A few of the tracks annoy me - the Smith and Selway one definitely drags on too long. But I particularly like 'Elementz of Noise' and 'Break 'Em On Down', and 'Teenage Kicks' is simply a classic.
This album has such a variety of types of music that it really doesn't fit into any category, and I can't really say 'if you like so-and-so you'll love this'. But if you have an open mind and want something a bit different, I definitely recommnend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The mix CD evolves, 8 Dec 2002
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
When I heard that Fabric were doing a session with legendary music anorak (and i mean that affectionately hehehe) John Peel i sat up and took notice. Peel is arguably the worlds most best radio DJ, his show on Radio 1 is listened to by thousands and each week he plays a hugely diverse range of music. This CD does not disappoint, over 24 tracks Peel manages to pull together reggae, dub, house, drum and bass, breakbeat, rock, punk and ska to produce a Soulwaxesque genrebusting mix which for me redefines the dance mix CD. Comparing Peel's mix to Soulwax is inevitable but it's a different ball game here, where Soulwax pick tunes we all know and love and lay them together in an interesting way, Peel goes for a more eclectic collection of tunes, the highlight being the banjo led cover of Iggy Pop's Lust for Life. This CD is essential in the collections of so many and has inspired me to go out and mix records which i might not usually do in my sets. Don't pontificate over this one, go buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, 21 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
Its funny how time can change perspective on an album. What was, less than a year ago, a joyously diverse and creative mix of tunes has now also aquired a sense of knockout emotion. Its difficult to listen to 'You'll Never Walk Alone' bleeding into the clattering opening chords of 'Teenage Kicks' without a small tear in the eye or lump in the throat. In other words, this electrifying album remains a fitting tribute to its curator, John Peel, who would famously burst into tears at anything he found remotely and often oddly emotional.
Listening to the album again (it fully repays repeat listens), its impossible not to smile at the obvious joy that Peel would have found in contriving such bizarre juxtapositions of musical styles on one album. Opening with a piece drenched in lush strings and intercut with commentary from a Liverpool Champion's League match, it then summersaults into a piece of grinding dirty blues, followed by a reggae blast, a pulsating drum and bass track and then a hopelessly infectious piece of 60's American girl group doo-wap, itself tumbling into a bluegrass cover of 'Lust For Life'. And this is just the first few tracks. The rest of the album continues in a similarly vivid and playful way.
It even has a 40-second snatch of a morris dance shanty, until that gives way under the weight of pounding trance beats. Indeed, so audacious is the sequencing that its difficult to know whether to be amused by Peel's mischievious enthusiasm, or gasp at the sheer range of sounds that he's assembled. Either way, its rather like the aural equivalent of finding yourself with a huge plate of cheeses in the biggest wine cellar you can imagine. There are some pretty sublime combinations to be had.
Few compilation albums can lay claim to being works of art in their own right, but this is exactly what Peel's Fabriclive mix album can boast. Not only for the characteristic ecleticism of it's curator, but for his childlike enthusiasm for cutting and pasting the contradictory styles together. There can't be many albums that would be as brave as to segue a piece of soul-infused American disco-funk with the majestic arrival of Joy Division's 'Love Will Tear Us Apart' (itself shot through with more snatches of Liverpool football commentary), yet somehow, amazingly it just works.
A truly magnificent album in it's own right. As it was before he died, it remains a wonderful tribute to the unique specialness of John Peel's massive contribution to his country's cultural life. Highly recommended, and definitely one of those albums you'd want to save first in the event of a fire. In fact the only thing thats missing is Peel's endearing voice informing you that he's accidentally put one of the tunes on at the wrong speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen at the wrong speed!, 2 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
While this release sits a little at odds with some of the other titles in the Fabric collection, this is most definitely a gem for anyone who loved and admired the late John Peel. This is a genuinely eclectic, and playful collection of dance, reggae, punk and country etc tunes all played (sadly) at the correct speed. A few of the tracks even feature on John's all time Festive 50 and it pays homage to two of his life's loves - music and Liverpool FC. I don't believe that he ever released another compilation of his own so for that reason alone this is a great record of his contribution to popular music. If you're feeling very nostalgic, listen while under the bed covers and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars long overdue, eclectic and flawless, 11 April 2003
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
The only thing I could possibly criticise about this compilation album, which is essentially a collection of Radio One DJ John Peel's all-time favourite tracks, is that it should've been released years ago. Because of that, Peel listeners will pretty much be able to guess the tracklisting before they've set eyes on the CD. That aside, this is an amazing collection of songs as you might expect from Mr. Peel and you should get endless enjoyment from it. Hard to say what the highlights are (because it's all so good) but The Fall's "Mr. Pharmacist" is definately up there for me. I could give or take the Datsuns' "In Love" but perhaps that's only because it's up against such stupendously stiff competition. Plus, as a non-football type, it even made me get all emotional about the beautiful game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Peel you will be missed, 26 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
Lucky this collection came out when it did, little did we all know that John Peel wouldn't be with us for much longer. It seemed that he was eternal and would always be on the radio, the fact that he has gone with no warning is beyond words. Buy this album as a tribute and play the last track on repeat, it's what he would have wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Eclectic Stuff, 11 Dec 2002
By 
Holmefield (Haddington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
seeing as i support liverpool and also much admire john peel for his very open-minded taste in music, it is difficult for me to criticise this cd - peel is a reds fan also, i should note. anyway, i have no reason to criticise it because it is simply brilliant. full of all different styles of music, from d&b to smith and selway's always brilliant techno, the kop chant, and joy division. not mixed, but then john peel will readily admit he can't mix, and in any case it is much better a compilation cd for being sequenced anyway, rather than someone mess-up an impossible task: try mixing smith & selway's 15.5 into jimmy reed's too much.
a must purchase for anyone keen on preserving national institutions - fabric, john peel and unadulterated good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ecletic wonders !!, 14 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
I bought this cd, with some trepidation, as a seasoned listener of the John Peel Show on Radio 1, i know that whilst he introduces us to plenty of gems, there can be quite a few clunkers. However i need not have worried, this cd is fab, quite the best cd i have bought this year. The 2nd track from the Soledad Brothers is great, and the last track from the Undertones, well what can you say...it certainly features in my top three favourite tracks of all time, a pleasure to see it in the mix. Fair play to John and i will be certainly looking for more from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories of John Peel's radio show, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fabriclive. 07 (Audio CD)
A great and eclectic mix of music from Drum & Bass to Country & Western covers.

Sits well alongside my collection of unusual tunes from the 'Late Night Tales' & 'Back To Mine' series.

Overlays of commentary on Liverpool FC's European Cup match help to remind us that this collection was specially made up by a popular old scouser - John Peel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fabriclive. 07
Fabriclive. 07 by Portishead (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews