Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 18 December 2008
There weren't many artists shunning electronic instruments in 1986. This brilliant debut married infectious songwriting to timeless analogue production and originality worthy of Kevin Coyne, early Bowie or Syd Barrett. Sadly the world at the time cared only for Phil Collins, Tina Turner, Simply Red and Sting, with MS&D relegated to student fare. Mind you, the group didn't exactly help the cause with the obscure title, stylised & out of focus front cover and wilfully eclectic song choice. In my view, the follow-up, Gladsome Humour and Blue flows far better as an album. But with superb tracks like Crocodile Cryer, Little Red Bottle, Rain and Running Water, this is a joyous and timeless collection of great songs.

For no particularly obvious reason, this reissue also contains a 'best of the Kitchenware albums' second disc - maybe for those returning 1986 fans who never bothered to make a follow-on purchase all those years ago? It's more of a sampler than a best of really, and Kitchenware are still clearly convinced that their desperate, cod-sophisticated remaster of Wholly Humble Heart improves on the perfection of the original.

Anyway, lie back, absorb and imagine a world where genius like this gets recognised and Bryan Adams, Sting, Phil Collins et al are reduced to playing private parties for cash on the side. And this is the perfect soundtrack album for any wishful daydreams.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 18 August 2006
This album was and still is one of my favourites from 1986.
I originally bought it on vinyl having seen the Daintees live on many occasions around that time.

The songs are pure quality and were captured perfectly by Gil Norton's (Bunnymen, Pixies) production.

Its all here from mellow Jazz, to country to rock and roll and the lyrics are just pure genius, from a man with a big heart and plenty of stories to tell.

I thought it was time to buy this classic album on cd, especially with the enticement of extra tracks like Troubletowm and Roll on Summertime.

However these are demo versions which pale next to the original singles recordings. It is a shame that these were not included
instead as to my knowledge they have not yet been made available on cd. I can only think that these recordings could not be used for copyright reasons.

This you can live with I guess as the actual songs shine through and even in their demo forms it is better to have them there than not at all.

However the real problem comes in the middle of the actual album itself. I could not beleive my ears when it got to one of my favourite tracks 'Piece of the Cake' and instead of the beautiful
version that appears on the original album you now get a substandard demo recording of the song (apparently recorded around the same time as the bonus tracks). This ruins the whole mood and flow of an otherwise perfect album. I would really like to know the reasoning for this apparent tinkering. There is room on the cd to have included this version at the end and left the original tracklist intact. Leaving out the actual album version altogether seems absurd.

In short by all means buy this cd, but if you have an original version keep hold of it. Maybe one day this wonderful album will
get the reissue it deserves and be restored to it former glory and perhaps the superior versions of the bonus tracks could be included.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 7 January 2007
Been a fan for 20 years and never get sick of listening to this album. Now its on CD don't need to worry about damaging the vinyl. Some differences from the big black disc I bought back in 87 but what the hell - its a fantastic album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
I heard Boat to Bolivia ( the single) in a nightclub in Rhyl in the late eighties. I heard it once and it was so good compared to the rest of the playlist that I had to seek out the album - which didn't include the titular track, confusingly. I then played it a LOT. Martin Stephenson's lyrics are intriguing, albeit gauche, but the music is amazing. So, I was really looking forward to this CD, and to hearing the single again after 25yrs. CD1 is exactly as I remembered... apart from 'Piece of the Cake', which is inexplicably an entirely different version. Gone is the lush production entirely fitting a song about a Hollywood fantasy of life, and now there is what sounds like a demo. The song is still good, but I would have preferred the album I remember note for note.

Disc 2 has a few great songs, but there was little as joyous as the first album in later releases.

Worth it for that one CD, but all I wanted was a piece of the cake...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 February 2009
Whilst not as commercially great as Gladsome, Humour and Blue, this album is a must to complete your understanding of where Mr. Stephenson came from. Slightly more 'real' and soulful. Take it like a tin of Golden Syrup. Long and slow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Odd to start with a quote from a Coventry-born poet but there is a connection and it has to be the sheer poetry in this fabulous album that perhaps one's younger self didn't fully appreciate at the time in watching and listening to the boys back in the dirty eighties - Edinburgh 'Coaster's Club' springs to mind, great show and as one other reviewer pointed out, great stand-up, too, after which Martin generously offered me a lift back to Sunderland afterwards and I watched that seriously musical face playing chess in the back of the van with one of the Dunn brothers...priceless! Cheers, mate - unforgotten, as indeed is this fine collection of songs...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 October 2010
So good to hear this again! It's a timeless album and worth buying for an old fan or a new one!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 14 August 2009
Put simply the best album ever made.If you are serious about true honest music buy this album you will not be dissapointed. Martin Stephenson and the Daintees were a real breath of fresh air at the end of the eighties with a cross over between country ,pop ,folk and rockabilly with a little reggea thrown in at the end with the tile track boat to boliva. This album changed my view of music forever and for that Martin I thankyou!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
An almost forgotten gem hidden in my vinyl collection, my memory was stirred when I was trawling the site, so after almost 30 years I bought it again - superb! (As was the case with most Kitchenware releases at that time.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Heard this again recently and just couldn't get it out of my head.
Old saddo taken back to my youth lost my old vinyl copies and just had to buy this. would love a Martin Stephenson revival........................
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Salutation Road
Salutation Road by Martin Stephenson (Audio CD - 1990)

There Comes a Time (The Best Of)
There Comes a Time (The Best Of) by Martin Stephenson (Audio CD)

Gladsome Humour and Blue
Gladsome Humour and Blue by Martin Stephenson (Audio CD - 2003)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.