Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Collection of Beautiful Songs.
Until this very day to say I wasn't a Lighthouse Family fan would have been a complete understatement. I have just bought this greatest hits collection of theirs and I'm astonished at how good they are. 'Lifted' is just the perfect song to listen to. 'Ocean Drive' keeps up the standard and I also adore 'Raincloud'.

This is a sublime album and whatever style of...
Published on 9 Sep 2007 by Madonna Fan 1988

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift
I bought the Lighthouse Family greatest hits CD as a gift for my fiance and he was very pleased with it,
Published 6 months ago by Theresa Podmore


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Collection of Beautiful Songs., 9 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Until this very day to say I wasn't a Lighthouse Family fan would have been a complete understatement. I have just bought this greatest hits collection of theirs and I'm astonished at how good they are. 'Lifted' is just the perfect song to listen to. 'Ocean Drive' keeps up the standard and I also adore 'Raincloud'.

This is a sublime album and whatever style of music you're into it's bound to impress - the thoughtful lyrics and fantastic melodies are a winning combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loving every minute!, 22 Nov 2002
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Although The Lighthouse Family may not be everybodies favourite cup of tea, their music is definately something that everybody can happily listen to. This is the fourth album from this spectacular duo and consists of some of the best tracks taken from their previous three albums plus a couple of extra unreleased tracks to boot.
Some of the standout tracks on here include Lifted, the song featured in the Vectra advertisements, which is taken from their first album Ocean Drive. Lifted is probably the Lighthouse Family's best known song, although the likes of Ocean Drive, taken from the same titled album is equally as good.
My personal favourite, however, is Raincloud taken from the second album Postcards From Heaven. This track is uplifting, positive and meaningful. For a more upbeat flavour, Question of Faith is perfect. This track is also taken from the second album, and like Lifted on the first album, is probably one of Lighthouse Family's better known tracks.
Easily the weakest tracks on this collaboration are those taken from the third album, Whatever Gets You Through The Day. Although I would highly rate the duo's first two albums, the third seems to lack that certain spark that makes the first two albums so enjoyable and addictive. Even so, The Lighthouse Family have never failed yet to deliver a song that overflows with beauty or emotion within its lyrics.
This is a fantastic addition to any CD collection, and would probably be highly favoured by those who like music by Savage Garden, David Gray or generally deep and meaningful music to chill out and live your life to! Perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're Gonna Get So High, 14 Jan 2005
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Lighthouse Family, are without a doubt the best Soul/Pop/Easy Listening band of the 90's. With their unfortunate demise (What's wrong with you people? There's still a market for this music, surely?), it is only necessary that a Greatest Hits anthology is released. This CD provides the three best Lighthouse Family tracks: "Lifted", "Ocean Drive" & "High". "(I Wish It New How It Would Feel To Be) Free/One" and "Run" are also great songs.
The Lighthouse Family were formed in 1993 from two musical fans from Newcastle. The keyboardist/programmer and singer duo from up north was hardly a formula for sucess in that dance-teen orientated music scene, and this did hamper the Lighthouse Family's sucess. Reportedly overcoming trepedations about his vocal abilities, Tunde and Paul finally recorded "Lifted" in 1995, but not until 1997 did it become a hit, with the susbequent release of their debut album, "Ocean Drive". The pair never looked back.
This Greatest Hits package is simply amazing. "Ocean Drive" is an empowering song, "Lifted" is their staple hit, a beautiful track. The whole album is brilliant; lyrically and musically it triumphs with uplifting melodies, deep chords and exceptional vocals. Buy this album, even if you're not a fan of the Lighthouse Family... because this sure will make you one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful music to sit by the fire with., 27 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Given this album for my birthday it combines all the very best of Lighthouse Family. I now have all of my favourite titles on one CD and it will be an excellent addition to an in car collection. The songs are well written often with thought provoking words and accompanied by gifted musicians it is a truly excellent album for a winters night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighthouse Family, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Although not currently the flavour of the month, some of their music is excellent and a lot of this recording reflects that. Well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighting Up The Sky, 10 Mar 2011
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Lighthouse Family are a band that simply cheer me up. Every song they wrote was smooth, beautiful, eloquent and frequently touching. They were a band that captured the hearts of many during the musically barren mid-90s and this is a great collection of their best work.

The album starts strongly with "Lifted", "Ocean Drive" and "High" as the opening salvo of genius. Tunde's vocals are calming and great to put on after a long day at work and the music is well crafted by Paul Tucker. Everything about them exudes a calm, mellow aura and they really can lull you into a sense that everything is all right in the world.

The album does weaken slightly as it goes through, although the "Ain't no Sunshine" cover is worth a listen. Overall, a great collection of a really good band's greatest hits. Simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bright lighthouse, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
this is a fantastic album, all their hits and a bit more, if you liked any of their hits then buy this disc, a bargain at this price, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 15 July 2014
By 
simon armstrong (hemel hempstead united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I didn,t take any notice of Lighthouse Family when they first came on the scene but I,m so pleased to have discovered them now!! This CD is never out of my player. I just love it. What a beautiful voice Tunde has. I can,t hear enough of it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I bought the Lighthouse Family greatest hits CD as a gift for my fiance and he was very pleased with it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Lighthouse Family (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews