Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fond Memories
Steps were one of my favourite groups growing up, along with the Spice Girls. These artists are fine when you're 8, but when fan bases mature, the music should too. With H & Claire they have failed to do this. Yes the music is good on the whole, but it's not credible. Fans need substance and this is not provided on this album. I agree with a previous review when they said...
Published on 13 July 2005 by Dutch and Red

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another you another me? Same old H & Claire.
After the split of STEPS and H & Claire's formation of a duo, I think much was expected of them, as they assured their existing fans that they would now develop their own place in the pop world and "grow". Sadly, the fans who's expectations have been encouraged, will I think, be disappointed.
With one top 5, the catchy 'DJ' and the follow ups, the rather weak 'Half a...
Published on 18 Nov 2002 by Philip Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fond Memories, 13 July 2005
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
Steps were one of my favourite groups growing up, along with the Spice Girls. These artists are fine when you're 8, but when fan bases mature, the music should too. With H & Claire they have failed to do this. Yes the music is good on the whole, but it's not credible. Fans need substance and this is not provided on this album. I agree with a previous review when they said that Claire should have gone solo. H takes a backseat on this album, and it's Claire's talent that's carrying him through.
Despite this the tracks are good, and it does sound like a Steps album. 'All Out Of Love' is a beautiful track with powerful vocals from Claire. 'DJ' is a fun track and will have you dancing. 'Beauty And The Beast' is a beautiful cover version. The song is delicate and both sing well. 'Half A Heart' was the second single and a good choice. Shock horror, H sings as much as Claire!
Other standout tracks include 'Too Close To Tears' and 'Nothing At All'. Both have a dance feel that Steps did very well. Feel good tracks on the album include 'You're A Love Song' and 'Centre Of Your Heart'.
'Two Hearts Beat As One' and 'Let Me Carry You' are the weakest tracks on the album. Neither have anything special and both are quite boring.
The album as a whole is good, but I expected that being that I was a fan of Steps. I would have liked to hear more upbeat tracks as too many of the tracks are slow and this is not what H and Claire are famous for. It's a shame that it can never be publicly owned, especially by a teenager, due to the embarrassment. If Claire had gone solo, and credible, I'm sure she'd be recording her third album by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H & Claire : Another You, Another Me, 20 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
Just got the album yesterday which is over a year and a half after its release. After listening to it, I wish I got it earlier. A great price for a fantastic 15 track album from H & Claire who were 2/5 of pop charts toppers, Steps. I love the album except for one song which is 'You're A Love Song'. Don't like the song at all but one song out of 15 isn't bad. H & Claire have released an album that Steps fans will love. I think that the album sounds like Steps but a bit more grown up. Sadly, the album flopped and now H & Claire are no longer together. If pop music is up your street, buy this. Hopefully Claire will come back as a solo artist or even according to rumours that Steps can get back together. Doubt it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another You, Another Me-Fantastic!, 8 Mar 2003
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
WOW! I am amazed at the sheer awesomeness of this album! When I first got this album, I didn't quite know what to expect. I had heard "DJ", "Half A Heart", and "All Out Of Love", before, but I was wondering if Another You Another Me would live up to it's lofty expections. Well, I believe that it has. The album is balanced nicely, consisting of a perfect slow to fast song ratio. The actual songs themselves are brilliant, the songwriting is just incredible! I mean, who knew that these songs could so easily get stuck in your head? I hope that H&Claire have an awesome career!
P.S. If you liked STEPS you're almost guaranteed to like Another You Another Me, vocally and lyrically they're totally different but like all good pop music, it's catchy! Peace out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SURPRISINGLY GOOD, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
Gold - Greatest HitsThis album is a bit of a guilty pleasure, when they were in steps I really fancied claire and have done ever since. These two were my favourite in the band and if you listen to there tracks you will understand what I'm saying. Theres a rumour going round that the band are going to reform, lets hope it comes true. Its the ideal cd to have on in the back whilst your flicking trough a magazine or having a drink with freinds before a big night out. My girlfriend has even put it on her ipod for the gym.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another You, Another Me - another fantastic piece of work!!, 26 Nov 2002
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
What can I say about this. It's a fantastic piece of work from the two ex-steppers! Yes the album went in low, but that is no reflection of how good this album really is. From the Steps like DJ to the Carpenter-esque Two Hearts Beat As One - one word describes it - AMAZING.
This recording is better than any Steps album ever was. Vocally it is STUNNING, song content is STUNNING.
Both get the chance to shine, and both had a hand in writing two of the songs on the album. No Turning Back is a lovely song, with one of the catchiest beats ever! Too Close Too Tears - now if there was ever a song written about the spilt of Steps than this is the one.
With a hint of Anastascia on All I Want Is You, this makes possibly one of the best albums of the year.
Claire sounds better than I've ever heard her and H - where has that boy been hiding that voice!
If you were expecting Steps rip-offs, well you couldn't be more wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H&Claire well Done!!!!!!, 21 Jan 2003
By 
P. Clarke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
All Out Of Love
This track is 1 part of their 3rd single and what an excellent and well sung song this is. Their voices are excellent. Claire's voice is just amazing on this track and H proves himself as a good singer. This song deserved to get higher in the charts than number 10. It's a good song to start the album and with this song as the opener to the album you knew that you're in for a good album.
5/5
DJ
'DJ' was H&Claire's first single as a duo. This is a disco/club song where you can just get up and dance to. 'DJ' was number one in the club charts and entered the charts at number 3. Sounding a little bit like S Club 7's 'Don't Stop Movin' it simply got everyone dancing and singing along to it.
5/5
Another You Another Me
H&Claire go all Abba style on this song. The song written by two of the members of Abba is simply a gorgeous ballad with Claire reaching those very, and I mean VERY high notes - I don't know how she does it.!!! This song might appeal to older fans and will certainly keep the fans H&Claire have now.
4/5
Beauty & The Beast
The second part to their 3rd single is a cover of the Celine Dion classic 'Beauty & The Beast'. H&Claire have always said they would like to do a Disney song and now that they have had the chance to do one it's just amazing. This song proves to everyone that H&Claire can actually sing!! When singing this live it's even better. Their voices are just amazing - it's such a beautiful song.
Half A Heart
Their second single released in August 2002 reaching number 8 in the charts. Following up their first single 'DJ' would be hard but they managed it by slowing the pace down a bit and bringing us this wonderful ballad.
4/5
All I Want Is You
The first line of the song 'It's like a river to the ocean, love keeps bringing me back to you....' surely starts this song off well, telling you that the song is going to be an up-tempo one. I first heard this when they performed it on SMTV Live and it grabbed my attention as I love it when they do up-tempo songs. Now if this was a single it would do well as it will attract more fans as it is really catchy.
5/5
Centre Of My Heart
H&Claire can do no wrong as they prove with this ballad. They sing it well. I just love Claire's voice in this song it's beautiful. I also can't believe the quality of H's voice, he's improved a bit from the Steps days. This is another song that could be released as it is a strong ballad and would attract new fans.
5/5
You're A Love Song
This is possibly the weakest song on the album. Claire's voice goes well with this song, but I just think H's voice doesn't suit the song - well that's my opinion anyway!! It's still a beautiful ballad but I just think Claire should have sung all of it.
3.5/5
Two Hearts Beat As One
Another well sung ballad. Both H&Claire's voices fit in well with the song. It's such a beautiful ballad. When they sing this live it will be amazing because it is such an amazing song to sing.
5/5
No Turning Back
This is one of two songs co-written by H&Claire. I can't believe it the lyrics are amazing. 'I'll sing you a love, write you a letter' is the line I'm always singing. It's such a strong song that everyone should enjoy listening to. This is one of my favourites on the album, by the fact that they wrote it, and by the fact that they both sing it well. I don't know how anyone can call H&Claire rubbish singers. When anyone listens to this they will realise what talent this duo have.
5/5
Nothing At All
It's just an amazing up-tempo disco song with both singing well once again. This could be released as a single as a lot of Steps fans will like it as it is similar to what Steps might have done.
5/5
There You Were
This song was originally recorded by Jessica Simpson & Marc Anthony. When you hear that version you will notice that Jessica struggles to reach the high parts of the song, but when you listen to H&Claire's version you will hear that Claire reaches them perfectly and doesn't sound like she is being strangled. 'There You Were' sounds as if it should be a soundtrack to a movie. It would be good if it was because soundtracks do well in the charts.
5/5
Invincible
This is my favourite song on the album as it is a perfectly sung ballad. Their voices carry the song superbly and I love their voices on the chorus. This song will grab your attention as you can't believe how good it is. More high notes from Claire - she always manages to do them well!!!!!
5/5
Too Close To Tears
This is the second song co-written by the fantastic duo. If you thought the album couldn't get any better after 'Invincible' think again as this song certainly gets you moving. It's a good song and the lyrics are good. It sounds like it should have been a Steps song but it isn't its H&Claire and they sing it well. Claire & H do the pop industry proud with this song,
5/5
Let Me Carry You
This song is an excellent ending to a fantastic album. Claire sings well & so does H. Claire's voice suits ballads and H's suits some of them especially this one. You will automatically love this.
5/5
Overall I give this album a whopping 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Jan 2009
By 
Darren Watkins (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
This CD has a good mix between dance tunes and ballads.

Some of them ballads are really, really good. I have found myself just sitting silently listening to the words. I think it is tracks 8, 9, 12, 13, 14 and 15 I really like. One of them nearly made me cry. Must be the time of the year!!

It's a shame that they never released a few more singles or even had another album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Next Step, 7 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
This was a great follow up to the Steps albums. Unfortunately from what I can gather, the fans turned against H&C when they split up the band, resulting in poor sales which in turn cost them their recording contract. It is a shame as this is a superb CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!!, 21 Nov 2002
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
I can't praise this album enough!!Being a fan of Steps,I was crushed when they split last year.When I learned of these guys going it as a duo,I was intrigued.Their stuff is reminiscent of Steps but with something added as well.This album is testament to that!!From the ABBA-sounding title track to the beautiful "You're A Love Song",this album is great quality pop with substance that the majority of music around now is lacking.If you buy 1 album,make it this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H & Claire - GREAT album, 18 Nov 2002
This review is from: Another You Another Me (Audio CD)
When Steps split, we were all shocked and upset. But most of us got over it quickly, and were relieved when H & Claire decided to join forces and release as a duo. This album is a collection of fantastic songs, using a large number of different writers, even the guys who did alot of steps song.
We start off with the recent hit,
All out of love.
A ballad start, moving into a trancy chorus. unfortunately, the remix in the video, with the dance sequence is not the same version as is here on the album. This track is reminiscent of many great steps songs.
DJ.
the first single. This is a close copy of Sclub7's don't stop moving, but with better vocals. The backing is quite europop, but still quite classy, with both singers sounding spot-on.
Another you, another me.
This was written by Bjorn & benny from Abba, and is VERY agnetha. It's a bit dramatic, and just wait for the shocking climax in the chorus. how high does this girl sing!? This seems similar in parts to Winner takes it all.
Beauty & the beast.
Ah, the Disney track. This is sung expertly by Claire, and you have to give it to H for singing an Alto part(womans). He really does make all those high notes! This version is quite superior to Celine and Peabo's effort.
Half a Heart.
The funky second single is next, this song is quite different to anything else, so some people didnt connect with it, but give it a few listens and it's catchy, you'll be singin it all week.
All i want is you.
A fast paced, thumping dance song. They shouldve released this instead of Half a heart. It's instantly memorable. If steps had released this, it'd DEFINATELY been number one for weeks and weeks. Some say it's a mix between 'It's raining men' and 'deeper shade of blue'. You can almost picture a steps dance to go with this song.
Centre of my Heart.
A beautiful ballad, with a sort of acoustic feel. There's guitars in the backing. Imagine them sitting down on stools singing live. The words are quite sweet, if not a bit soppy. It seems like a song the Corrs, would record.
You're a love song.
Ok, This is the carpenters! even Claire sounds remarkably similar to Karen. This is a really moving, sad ballad. The words almost make you stare out the window and dream.....
Two hearts beat as one.
Um, another Carpenters song? well it starts almost exactly the same as 'Close to you'. But this song build to the chorus, to create another beautiful, pretty ballad.
No turning back from here.
This is a mid-tempo track, with an acoustic feel. This is a happy song, that's difficult to describe. It's almost like a westlife song, but no, it's not THAT bad! this is nice, not exactly shocking though.
Nothing at all.
Woo-hoo another dance song. The vocal effects seem to make the guys sound somewhat underwater. but the chorus is quite anthemic, and catchy.
There you were.
Claire's favourite on the album. a touching ballad, you can almost picture a Kylie & Jason style video. For a change, H gets to sing the first verse. You have to be in the right mood for this one, as it can seem a bit boring.
Invincible.
Another Carpenters sounding track. Starts quite sad, and bare. The words are quite upsetting, but then the chorus happens, and it cheers you up. This is a VERY moving song, almost brings tears to your eyes.
Too Close to tears.
A up-tempo, with a guitar backing. It's like acoustic dance. Another track that's lyrically about love lost. It's got a good beat though, so it'll grow on you.
Let me carry you.
The 15th and last song on the album, another sad ballad. but with a bit of a romantic tinge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Another You Another Me
Another You Another Me by H & Claire (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews