Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back To Best
I bought this album on the spur of the moment, wasnt planned but glad I did. Ocean Colour Scene prove once again that they are one of the best creative UK bands around. Unfortunatley they have missed out on the spotlight for some reason, maybe this has lead them to produce some of the best mainstream music that is not classed as popular. They have created an album which...
Published on 26 July 2003 by mecalleddan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars North Atlantic Dross
Their first studio album for more than two years, with a label change in between, but sadly it hasn't been worth the wait.
Only the title track, North Atlantic Drift, and the current single, I Just Need Myself, come close to standing out.
The rest of the album pales into little more than background music, a pastiche of OCS vocal and musical styles, but little of...
Published on 12 July 2003 by Peter Fenton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back To Best, 26 July 2003
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the spur of the moment, wasnt planned but glad I did. Ocean Colour Scene prove once again that they are one of the best creative UK bands around. Unfortunatley they have missed out on the spotlight for some reason, maybe this has lead them to produce some of the best mainstream music that is not classed as popular. They have created an album which will appeal to all age groups, mixing acoustic guitar with uk rock music with a throwback to the super successful Moseley Shoals. The Track "On My Way" is probably the best driving / sing-a-long track they have ever produced, an album that grows on you the more you listen to it. Fantatsic, Buy It, you wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OCS - Summer 2003, 16 July 2003
By 
OCS Fan (Solihull, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
North Atlantic Drift kicks off with ‘I Just Need Myself’, following in the footsteps of opening tracks like ‘The Riverboat Song’ and ‘Hundred Mile High City’ – a great, upbeat beginning that sets the scene for the next 45 minutes. There is always the chance with new albums that the band may completely change the style which has brought them the fanbase, but it was a relief to hear some trademark tracks that don’t disappoint.
I bought the album not having heard any of the songs, which can be a risk, but having bought ‘Mechanical Wonder’ two summers ago and never growing tired of repeated listenings, I had faith that ‘NAD’ would be of similar class.
Title track ‘North Atlantic Drift’ is simply excellent and on first listen is firmly planted in your mind. It is rare for me to instantly click with a new album, but songs such as ‘I Just Need Myself’, ‘For Every Corner’, and of course, the aforementioned ‘NAD’, are perfect the first time round.
It’s so often the case that when a band have been around for a while their material becomes tired, but this is certainly not so with OCS. They have the talent to consistently release music that is fresh and only gets better with every listen. North Atlantic Drift is an album that should be in everyone’s collection this summer, standing up well alongside soundtracks to summer 1996 featured on Moseley Shoals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I dared think!, 12 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
I gave up on new pop/rock music for about ten years, not liking very much of what was played on the radio, happy to play 60's to 80's music which I knew I liked. So when I heard a song called "Make The Deal" one Saturday afternoon in the car I thought that's really good and made a mental note of the groups name, I had known vaguely of their existence, but not of what they were about. Well I bought the album, a bit of a risk not knowing much about them, but I can't stop playing it. It is easily the best album I have heard for years. It makes Travis's 12 Memories sound like insipid muzak.
There are so many excellent tracks but "She's Been Writing" is now one of my favourite songs of all time! and any of half a dozen of the songs could have made me buy this album. One track I don't like too much is, the first single, "I Just Need Myself" if this was all I had heard I would never have bought it so never judge an album by the what is deemed to be the ideal single. I have now started buying their back catalogue of albums and hope I am pleased by what I find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the fans, 11 July 2003
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
Ocean colour scene have been around for many years now and throughout their years have produced some fantastic albums - This album does not break the trend. Each album seems to link to the previous release and continue the story from the last album. North Atlantic Drift simply continues the story on from Mechanical Wonder yet if a listener jumps from Moesley Shouls to the lastest release the difference in styles is quite apparent.
Some of the highlights of this album include "For every Corner" with it's instantly catchy chorus and the title track "North Atlantic Drift"
I'm not sure if this album will appeal so much to new OCS listeners or individuals who have not heard any of their recent material. It will however, definatly appeal to the exhisting fans as at the end of the day this album is another fantastic mix of songs all following the OCS story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves To Sell Millions, 9 July 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
Ocean Colour Scene broke through with their 1996 album ‘Moseley Shoals’ (which most regard as their first proper album). When that album appeared they were labelled one of the ‘Next Big Things’, thanks largely to the Oasis-led rise of ‘Britpop’ and Chris Evans. But while their contemporaries made it on the back of the trend only to vanish soon after, OCS were justified in their success by sheer talent in both their competence as a band and their songwriting. Even their b-sides could be considered as good as anything their albums contained. They could do no wrong. But then at the end of the millennium, Britpop became unfashionable and suddenly the band found themselves out of favour and being accused of ‘not moving with the times’, with their albums receiving lukewarm reviews. But why should they do anything different when what they produce is so well-crafted, satisfying and, well, dependable? If anything, Ocean Colour Scene have only improved with age. This new album could well be considered as their greatest work yet.
‘North Atlantic Drift’ is a luscious set of perfectly-formed tracks, with none of the sporadic-but-unnecessary experimentation found on a few of their previous albums. This may have been influenced by a change of producer for this one. The show kicks off with lead single ‘I Just Need Myself’, which is probably the most like The Scene of years past, with its crunching guitars and pounding rhythm. Things stay intense with second track ‘Oh Collector’ then calm down and coast along nicely for the rest of the album’s first half then suddenly pick up with ‘Make The Deal’ – initially reminiscent of the Manics’ ‘Everything Must Go’ with its Phil Spector-like wall of sound. From there things just get better with the catchy ‘For Every Corner’, the folky ‘Second Hand Car’ and culminating with two of the band’s finest songs to date; the beautiful ‘She’s Been Writing’ (with guest vocals by Linda Thompson – incidentally, one of the ‘I Just Need Myself’ CD singles features a blinding cover of Richard & Linda Thompson’s ‘I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight’) and the album’s best track ‘The Song Goes On’.
With impeccable musicianship, writing and a truly great singer in Simon ‘Foxy’ Fowler, Ocean Colour Scene deserve to be up there with bands such as Travis & Stereophonics in terms of commercial success. Had they emerged a few years later to avoid the unjust Britpop stigma still attached to them, they probably would be. But however unfashionable (a horrible and unfair term) they may seem, you have to admire the band’s determination and resistance to conform. They obviously love what they do and it shows. I hope they keep at it because music this good should never go out of fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absoloute Classis by the OCS boys, 8 July 2003
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
This is an absolouts classic Ocean Colour Scene album it's up there with the best.
If your an OCS fan anyway you will ove this album I have to say that I have listened to it over and over again and it just gets better and better. I have to say my favourite track is 'Oh Collector' an absolutely blindin' track and 'Second hand Car' nothing short of brilliance two completely different tracks in the unmistakeable style of this superb band.
If you haven't bought it yet don't hesitate it's a must for anyone who likes simply brilliant music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for the fans, 11 July 2003
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
Ocean colour scene have been around for many years now and throughout their years have produced some fantastic albums - This album does not break the trend. Each album seems to link to the previous release and continue the story from the last album. North Atlantic Drift simply continues the story on from Mechanical Wonder yet if a listener jumps from Moesley Shouls to the lastest release the difference in styles is quite apparent.
Some of the highlights of this album include "For every Corner" with it's instantly catchy chorus and the title track "North Atlantic Drift"
I'm not sure if this album will appeal so much to new OCS listeners or individuals who have not heard any of their recent material. It will however, definatly appeal to the exhisting fans as at the end of the day this album is another fantastic mix of songs all following the OCS story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One For The Fans !, 3 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. T. Barrett "tlrose" (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
So they arent fashionable any more, but Ocean Colour Scene return to annoy the NME even more with this excellently put together album. "An album for the fans" as the band put it.
After 2001's Folkish Mechanical Wonder this is a welcome return to thier heavy rock style, with glimers of the riffs we've come to know them by. Ocean Colour Scene superbly take all thier albums and combine them into one.
There is a song on this album for all occasions, I Just Need Myself for the Party atmosphere, On My Way for those driving moments, and the excellently penned She's Been Writing (written in tribute to the late Sandy Denny) for the more emotional times.
This album goes to prove good music and talent shine through regardless of fashion. Buy this album you wont be dissapointed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The boys are back in town, 2 Sep 2003
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
There's a good mix of upbeat songs (I Just Need Myself, Oh Collector, On My Way) and more downbeat, and in the case of She's Been Writing, depressing songs which give the album balance, although the more downbeat songs a little bit more concentrated towards the end. Worth buying for their second single 'Make The Deal' which is an excellant song as good as, if not better, than their early hits such as 'The Day We Caught The Train'. Fans of OCS won't be disappointed anyone who likes soft rock music will like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Band Ever, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: North Atlantic Drift (Audio CD)
More amazing music from Ocean Colour Scene. They are the most underated band ever. Can't believe they are not up there with the Beatles etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

North Atlantic Drift
North Atlantic Drift by Ocean Colour Scene (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews