Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first outing of the peppers prooves one of their best...
When I first picked up 'The Red Hot Chili Peppers', I was dubious. Made in the early 80s, I didn't think it had a lot of promise, but when I listened to the first track, 'True Men Don't Kill Coyotes', I knew I was in for a treat. The Red Hot Chili Peppers, minus Slovak and Irons proved to he World that they could begin a reniassance of 80s music, fusing funk with rock...
Published on 10 Sept. 2000 by comedydave80@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CG-Red Hot Chili Peppers Album Review
Im afraid this is the worst Chili Peppers album and would agree that the prescence of Hillel Slovak and Jackie Irons would have turned it round.It starts well with True Men Dont Kill Coyotes and looks vaguely promising.

The second song almost made my heart internally bleed.As a big chili peppers fan I was shocked that Baby Appeal was even recorded it is the...
Published on 22 Jan. 2007 by Cameron Kiedis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first outing of the peppers prooves one of their best..., 10 Sept. 2000
By 
When I first picked up 'The Red Hot Chili Peppers', I was dubious. Made in the early 80s, I didn't think it had a lot of promise, but when I listened to the first track, 'True Men Don't Kill Coyotes', I knew I was in for a treat. The Red Hot Chili Peppers, minus Slovak and Irons proved to he World that they could begin a reniassance of 80s music, fusing funk with rock and altogether showing everyone how original they could be. Flea and Anthoney Kiedis come into their own with self penned composition 'Get up and Jump'. Influences like George Clinton and the Ohio Players show on the track, 'Mommy Where's Daddy?'.The Peppers also showed how ready they were to challenge society in songs like 'Green Heaven' and 'Police Helicopter'. The album tails off with 'Grand Pappa Du Plenty'. This track is obviously an experiment becasue it is so different to the rest of the album. Atogether, to summarise this CD, you could say it was the combination of lyrical excellence head popping bass that makes it the funky rock it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Album Here!!, 25 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD)
for those who love the chili's, this album is a definite one to have in your collection. The album shows the true red hot chili peppers style, with the funk bass and stylish playing from hillel. it is fresh and exciting and is fun to listen to..i cannot comment on any song in particular, because they all show the passion and style in the chili's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential!!!, 30 Aug. 2001
This was the first red hot chili peppers album, but that doesn't make it any less brilliant than the others. It has fast, funny tracks like 'get up and jump' and 'out in l.a' which was their first ever song, and more serious sounding songs like 'green heaven' and 'true men don't kill coyotes'. 'Grand pappy du plenty' is really different from the rest of the album, but it's still brilliant, plus it's an instrumental. The best songs are true men don't kill coyotes, get up and jump, why don't you love me, out in l.a and grand pappy du plenty. Essential for any red hot chili peppers fan. The bass in 'Out In L.A' is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Hot Chili Peppers - Debut album, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD)
Amazing debut album from the Red Hot Chili Peppers, which introduces the listener to the very roots of this awesome band. Energetic, non-stop, crazy music that leaves you wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it the chillies what else do you need!, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD)
Like all chilli pepper stuff, worth having and wil be listened to again and again.

The best group out of america since the doors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Underated album., 16 Jun. 2006
By 
C. A. French "stranger2odd" (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD)
People have been giving this album a bad name ever since it came out, but personally; its not bad at all. Its much more better than "The Up-lift Mofo Party Plan" and "Freaky Styley". I personally think that "Freaky Styley" is their worst. The tracks to miss are "Buckle Down" and all the demo tracks excluding "What It Is (Aka Nina's Song)" which is great and they should record a full version of it. For me this is one of their best albums, so buy it! And remember none, and I mean NONE! of The Red Hot Chili Peppers albums are completely bad enough not to buy, but if you don't want to bother get all of them I suggest you miss "Freaky Styley", some people say its better, but I don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CG-Red Hot Chili Peppers Album Review, 22 Jan. 2007
By 
Cameron Kiedis "Cg22FAFC" (Irvine,Ayrshire,Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD)
Im afraid this is the worst Chili Peppers album and would agree that the prescence of Hillel Slovak and Jackie Irons would have turned it round.It starts well with True Men Dont Kill Coyotes and looks vaguely promising.

The second song almost made my heart internally bleed.As a big chili peppers fan I was shocked that Baby Appeal was even recorded it is the worst song I have ever heard,ever.Buckle Down isnt bad,Green Heaven could be a classic on another record.Get up and Jumps ok but beware of Out in La.The original demo on this record is way better.THis is slightly dissappointing for thier first record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Funky Debut, 3 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD)
Band: Red Hot Chilli Peppers
Album: Self-titled
Number: 01 (debut album)
I really like this album, and here are my reasons why.
First off, this is the Peppers' debut album, so you can't expect it to be an insanely memorable classic, although it does have it's good moments.
It starts off brilliantly with the funky 'True Men Don't Kill Coyotes'. This is probably the most musically correct song on the album, and its my second favourite.
The best song is the slightly deranged 'Mommy Where's Daddy?'.
Other good tracks are 'Baby Appeal', 'Buckle Down' and 'Get Up and Jump'. 'Green Heaven' is also quite good.
The other tracks aren't really proper songs - some of them are just over 30seconds long. 'Out in LA' is the standout of these tracks.
The demos are a welcome addition to end the album.
Let me point out that I'm not the biggest Chilli Peppers' fan in the world, and this is a good review. With that cleared up, buy this album.
P.S. Please visit [...] for some funky music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic sound, 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nothing like a bit of classic rhcp, works well, good price , been looking for cassettes everywhere. Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant Album Fast Postage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Hot Chili Peppers
Red Hot Chili Peppers by Red Hot Chili Peppers (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews