Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts the pretenders in their place!
After a mountain of hype and a couple of false starts, Audioslave finally release their first album. The problem with a group like this (like you didn't know, 3/4 Rage, 1/4 Soundgarden) is that even before people have heard them - and music critics in particular - it's too easy to dismiss them as a gimmick, or to attempt to pigeonhole the music before you hear it...
Published on 23 Jan 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars yeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaahhhhhhh
this album is pretty rushed and samey, but still well good. cornell is a little bit shouty, very much like al pacino has become but he's still all good. the production is better than on the early soundgarden albums, where it was a bit quiet and ploddy, on this album its much more mr boombastic.
best songs are:shadow of the sun which is lovely to hear in the film...
Published on 28 Jan 2005 by daveabnormal


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts the pretenders in their place!, 23 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
After a mountain of hype and a couple of false starts, Audioslave finally release their first album. The problem with a group like this (like you didn't know, 3/4 Rage, 1/4 Soundgarden) is that even before people have heard them - and music critics in particular - it's too easy to dismiss them as a gimmick, or to attempt to pigeonhole the music before you hear it.
Strangely I've read the odd review slating the lyrics as OTT, which to me is completely ridiculous. Yes, a lot of the lines are very reaching psychedelically, but with Chris Cornell's voice sounding better (and showing better range than ever before), it's so right! Anyway, slagging off they lyrics just points back to the original naysayers looking for flaws.
So, to the music. Tom Morello said a while back that this album would show how wrong people are to suggest that rock returned with chumps like The Vines, and how right he was. The opening track sets the tone, sounding a perfect amalgamation of RATM and Soundgarden. 'Cochise' has to be one of the best opening tracks to an album ever, with Cornell's voice the absolute epitomy of 'rock vocals' while the frenzied drumming and ever present guitar creat a truly brilliant tune.
Tracks like 'Gasoline', 'What You Are' and (next single) 'Like a Stone' continue in this vein, until you get to 'I Am the Highway'. This song is the business, the kind of rock (I'm loathe to say this) 'ballad' that just isn't around these days. Cornell's voice is at it's most sensitive here and, coupled with some of the aforementioned lyrics ("I am not your autumn moon, I am the night") this is an epic rock tune in the finest 70s mould. As a single, it could potentially be huge.
With tunes like 'Light my Way' and 'Last Remaining Light' to come, there's enough variety here to suggest a long career for Audioslave. Every part of the group seems to have had an equal say so that while you'll recognise RATM and Soundgarden, this is unmistakably something else. Something better in my opinion and, considering Superunknown and RATM's debut in their back catalogues, that about sums up this album.
One final thought is that, obviously just in my opinion, what makes this album is Chris Cornell. They guy is a total one off with a voice that suggests he could rip your head off one minute and recite poetry with the next. The best rock vocals of a generation.
So, in conclusion, go buy the album. It's fresh and important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audioslave "Set it Off" with debut album!, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Herry Van Ruerk (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
Wow! This is an amazing album! I was, and still am, a huge fan of Soundgarden and Rage Against the Machine so I had been eagerly awaiting the release of this one. Like others I was unsure of how Chris Cornell's voice would fit with the music, but after a mere minute of the album I realised how wrong I'd been! He always had a great voice, and it sounds as fantastic and emotional as ever. This should come as no surprise to Soundgarden fans of course, but what is surprising is how well it melds with the music.
This album is so much more than just Chris singing over the top of Rage riffs. Tom Morello, Brad Wilk, and Tim Commerford continue to sound innovative and inspiring, but have adapted their mucial direction somewhat to fit more closely with Chris's awesome voice. The Rage influence is still obvious of course (see opening track "Cochise" for a particualrly Rage-like example!), but there are some important differences which give "Audioslave" a sound all of their own. Some of those Tom Morello guitar sounds are truly amazing! They may have shed Rage's overt political edge, but Chris's existential lyrics are still extremely impressive and thought-provoking, and completely relevant to the here and now
In short, this is a magnificent album and one that remains an essential purchase for fans of Soundgarden and Rage Against the Machine alike, but even for those of you who don't like these two bands, there is so much going on with this album that I would still recommend it. Let's just hope it isn't a one-off album like so many releases of such so-called "supergroups" can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock's newest "supergroup" triumph!, 20 Nov 2002
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
“Audioslave”, the long-awaited collaboration between ex-Soundgarden vocalist and occasional guitarist Chris Cornell and “the other three” from Rage Against the Machine, is finally here. And it’s very, very good. The lead-off track, “Cochise”, was a wily choice as a single, as it suckers the public with just what they’re expecting: Rage-style hard-rock backing topped with Soundgarden-style screaming from Cornell. However, the rest of the LP reveals that there’s more to Audioslave than the sum of their old bands’ parts. “The Last Remaining Light” is a widescreen number which probably deserves the dubious accolade of “epic”, if one only had the stomach to use it, and “I Am the Highway” is as grand as the title suggests.
Produced by Rick Rubin, who also produced the final Rage Against the Machine album, “Renagades”, along with such fare as the Red Hot Chili Peppers’ 1991 mega-seller “Blood Sugar Sex Magik”, the album is an eclectic brew which manages to retain a cohesive identity. Rubin brings out the best in his charges, and it seems they bring out the best in one another, pushing themselves and their bandmates to new heights of endeavour. Cornell has never screamed better (or more often), but there’s a light and shade, a maturity to be found in his vocal performances that was sorely lacking from 1999’s pin-up album “Euphoria Morning”. Guitarist Tom Morello also shines, his trademark rhythmic dissonance and almost Dadaist approach to guitar soloing joined here by playing of remarkable emotional depth. Who would have thought that the man who gave us “Bombtrack” could also play the blues? “Audioslave” demonstrates that indeed he can. It would seem churlish, having praised Cornell and Morello so highly, to neglect the bedrock upon which this remarkable album is built. Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk have always been a rhythm section of seismic impact, but here they are given room to stretch and groove in a way more smooth than earthy. Commerford’s basslines have an elasticity about them and Wilk’s drumming an adventurousness that RATM’s message-not-the-medium approach simply didn’t have room for.
To sum up, “Audioslave” is more than fans could have hoped for. While the faithful of RATM may miss Zack de la Rocha’s reactionary rapping, and Soundgarden devotees may miss the skewed-meter acrobatics of that act (they went with Matt Cameron; go buy Pearl Jam’s “Riot Act”), Audioslave is neither of these bands, and the stronger for it. The elementary power of Rage’s music is to be found on this record, as is Cornell’s primal roar. But there is more, much more within the grooves or encoded upon the compact disc as zeroes and ones. This album represents a progression for all the musicians involved, a leap into the unknown without a neglecting of the roots. This album is viable, it lives. Let’s hope there’s more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audioslave - saviours of rock, 22 Jan 2003
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
Audioslave, combines the forces of Chris Cornell (Soundgarden) and the former members of Rage Against The Machine, and has been labelled as the "Must-have" album since the demos, under the name of Civilian were leaked onto Internet.
Cornell is in his element, and his influence is striking on the album, which naturally prompts accusations of this being the follow up to Euphoria Morning, but it isn't. While there are the quirky guitar effects and the harsh percussion, the former RATM-ers have had to adapt themselves to a singer rather than a rapper- and have done a good job too. Cochise is a powerful and enigmatic way to start the album and Show Me How To Live has an irresistible hip swinging quality to it, but it isn't all hard rock. What You Are, is a fantastic slower paced offering and Getaway Car is absolutely perfect with The Last Remaining Light ending the album on a thoughtful note. Is Audioslave one of the 'albums of the year'? Undoubtedly yes, and I hope that they continue with this project for a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rage Against the Machine/Soundgarden supergroup, 25 July 2003
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
A band featuring Tom Morello, Tim Commerford and Brad Wilk from Rage Against the Machine, fronted by Soundgarden's Chris Cornell are bound to receive a lot of attention. But do they live up to the hype?
For the most part, the answer would have to be 'yes'. Rather than simply sounding like Rage with a the Soundgarden vocalist, however, they take a step away from RATM's hardcore/rap metal and Soundgarden's grunge rock into a more traditional sounding hard rock.
Certainly, the riffs are trademark Morello, particularly on the likes of Zeppelin-esque opener, 'Cochise' and the explosive (no pun intended) 'Gasoline', and Cornell's wail is still very much Cornell's wail, but they still rarely sound as though they're treading old ground.
However, despite some good variety in the earlier tracks, and a couple of softer, more reflective songs, the album does tend to drag a bit towards the end, as the last few songs do become somewhat repetitive.
That aside, Audioslave are, as you would expect, a great band with a lot of potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cornell is back with a vengeance!, 19 Nov 2002
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
Given the members of this band you might expect something a little special. Well, you've got it. This album kicks ass, serious ass. Imagine thick, chunky Rage riffs combined with the vocal genius of Chris Cornell, and that pretty much sums it up. But not completely, because Cornell's influence goes much further than just great vocals. Tracks like 'I am the Highway','Getaway Car' and 'Last Remaining Light' echo moments from his solo project, 'Euphoria Morning'. Which to me is no bad thing, because I could listen to this man's voice and melody lines forever. And to hear the former Rage boys play songs that involve a little bit of delicacy and creativity is refreshing, because they do it well. But these tracks are in contrast to the funky, chunky Rage-like riffs on tracks such as 'Gasoline','Set It Off' and 'Bring'em Back Alive'. You can't help but get up move when you hear these tracks, they rock big-time!
So if you liked Soundgarden, although it's a little different, I think you're gonna love it. If you're a Rage fan I suspect you'll like it less, because at the end of the day it's far more creative than what you're used to. But give it a chance, because this album ROCKS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RAGE IT IS NOT!, 19 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
if you thought that this album was going to be anything like RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE, then you were wrong. if you thought it would be RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE with a new vocalist, you would be wrong again. if however, you thought that you were going to hear the sensational musical talents of Tim Commerford, Brad Wilk, and Tom Morello combined with the extraordinary vocal powers of Chris Cornell you would be bang on the mark. this is alternative music at its best.
explosive, high energy tracks like COCHISE are subtley blended with more mellow tracks like THE LAST REMAINING LIGHT to form a debut album of exceptional quality.
think of RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE and AUDIOSLAVE as brothers. where RAGE are the older, louder, more agressive of the two, AUDIOSLAVE are the quieter, calmer, more peacefull sibling. what both bands have in common is that they are both brilliant.
this album is perfect for anyone who calls themself a fan of rock music or a music lover in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but it's not right, 29 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
I'd like to give this five stars but I can only give it four.
Let me explain....
I always liked Rage, and LOVED Soundgarden & anything Chris Cornell ever did. To hear that we were going to be getting some new CC was fantastic; to hear that it would be with three hard-rocking musicians whose work I already knew I liked was brilliant.
I downloaded the 'Civilian' demos after I had heard the band had split up, as I thought this album was never going to see the light of day. The first one I listened to was Cochise (Save Yourself) - wow! Unmistakeably Rage Against The Machine, unmistakeably Chris Cornell - exactly what I was expecting, in a very, very good way!
The rest of the album however isn't just more of the same; there are some very un-Rage-like tunes on there, for example Getaway Car, Like a Stone and I Am The Highway which are softer, gentler ballads, allowing the musicians to show us a defter musical touch. The Last Remaining Light is a beautiful Chris Cornell lament, in the mould of Preaching The End Of The World. Gasoline is a punching straight-ahead rock song, angry and insistent. Hypnotize is.... err, hard to describe - I'd have preferred the demo song "Turn To Gold" on the album instead (this song had a brilliant Tom Morello solo on it by the way).
But there are plenty of powerful, riff-driven hard rock tunes on there to please fans of both Rage and Soundgarden alike. Show Me How To Live, Set It Off, What You Are, Light My Way and Exploder all fit into that category. My favourite song on the album, Shadow On The Sun, starts gently and builds up to a thunderous crescendo finale with Cornell screaming as loud as ever before - it just sends shivers down my spine.
This leaves just one song I haven't yet discussed - Bring 'Em Back Alive. I loved the demo of this song, I thought it was the most Soundgarden-like song of all the demos, reminiscent of Mailman or Slaves And Bulldozers. But the album version is horrible; I just can't listen to it. There's a vocal effect on Cornell's voice that's completely unnecessary, and the guitar 'solo' in the middle is so embarassingly awful it makes me cringe.
That's the problem with this album (in my not-so-humble opinion) - they should've just tidied up the demos and released that as the album. Raw, rough, loud and dirty rock n' roll. But after the demos got leaked, I think they've tried too hard to make it different, which wasn't necessary and for the most part hasn't added anything to the songs. Rick Rubin, who's done such a great job producing the Chilli Pepper's albums, hasn't got it right on this one, the production is overdone and too polished; it doesn't have the earthy rawk feel it deserves. Some of Tom Morello's solos are too clever for their own good - not that I don't like him as a guitar player, because some of the solos on Audioslave and on RATM's albums are perfect, but on this some of them don't fit the songs at all, and the demo versions were way better.
The album is for sure one of the best of this year, and this band is going to be phenomenal live; the songs are great, but the final album cuts leave me a little disappointed. I think these musicians will mesh together perfectly as they play together live, and they'll get it right on the second album. Even though this one's only just out, I can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fusion of that old seattle grunge with a fresh RATM vibe!, 11 Jan 2003
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
Being a very very huge SG fan I have eagerly anticipated this album for about a year. When I first heard that RATM musicians and Chris Cornell were combining to make a new band I had mixed feelings. I prayed that Chris Cornell wouldn't try to rap because...basically....he's a singer...he's born to sing and Commerford, Wilk and Morello were born to play instruments.
The album opens with the exploding 'Cochise'. As soon as cornell started singing along to the music that sounds like it is being played by the gods of rock, it sent a shiver down my spine. I knew I had made the right choice by buying this album (as well as getting a free poster!).
Some of my personal favourites are 'I am the highway' with the haunting lyrics 'I am not your rolling wheels, I am the highway, I am not your carpet ride, I am the sky'. Although Cornell's lyrical style is fantastic I feel he has only progressed slightly from SG but then again I am not dissapointed because SG are one of the most famous grunge bands in history.
'Shadow on the sun' shows off the musical talent of RATM, Morello in particular with a fantastic guitar solo.
Overall fans of RATM&SG will not be disappointed. Once you have listened to the album a feeling of euphoria will run through your veins like an infinitive adrenaline rush. There was must hype before the album release and many high expectations were made, and Audioslave met them, perfected them and perhaps, even raised them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coruscating Album from Soundgarden/Rage 'Supergroup', 10 Dec 2002
This review is from: Audioslave (Audio CD)
From start to finish this album is a terrific breakthrough for both Chris Cornell and the remaining members of Rage Against The Machine.
I must admit that I was more of a fan of R.A.T.M than I was of soundgarden but this album really got me going!
I have had 'Superunknown'(soundgarden album) in my collection for about three/four years and its always a regular to the cd player but only after hearing Audioslave do you get to appreciate the full power of Chris' voice as it booms over the brilliant guitar effects created by Tom Morello.
Even though it is a new start for all guilty parties, you can easily pick out the R.A.T.M styling and structure of the music which I personally feel is an essential part of the album.
The top three tracks would have to be 'Show Me How To Live' which is a "smash it up" rock stomper, 'Light My Way' which is a beautiful example of a mellow side of the R.A.T.M talent as it simmers into this blissful beat with soothing gentle vocals and of course 'I Am The Highway' which is set to be a release in the near future.
Overall exciting,dynamic,inscrutable,dazzling,ESSENTIAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Audioslave
Audioslave by Audioslave (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews