Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
I bought this film because I love Venice and I am a fan of Hugh Grant.
Hugh Grant is a journalist who has written a book exposing a fascist gang and he is travelling on the sleeper train to Venice in view of getting it published.He meets a gang of fascist skinheads on the train and a mysterious creepy man who seems to know peoples deepest fears.He also meets a...
Published 6 days ago by milly

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely bizarre.
Night Train to Venice is certainly the strangest film I've seen in a long time. Hugh Grant plays a journalist/author who's written a book about neo-nazis. He takes the train to Vienna to see a publisher who may want to publish it. That seems to be the basic plot. But there's lots of strange things going on in the movie. A group of skinheads sneak into the train. Malcolm...
Published on 9 Feb. 2009 by NoWireHangers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely bizarre., 9 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Train To Hell [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Night Train to Venice is certainly the strangest film I've seen in a long time. Hugh Grant plays a journalist/author who's written a book about neo-nazis. He takes the train to Vienna to see a publisher who may want to publish it. That seems to be the basic plot. But there's lots of strange things going on in the movie. A group of skinheads sneak into the train. Malcolm McDowell appears as a mysterious man. He's mostly shown in slow motion sequences, staring at people. This is intercut with various nonsensical dream sequences, some of which involve a young girl who's also on the train with an old woman. It's all very pretentious but made without any talent. Neither the director or the writers seem interested in telling a story. The movie is about 70 minutes long (there seem to be a 98 minute version too), but were it not for the many slow motion sequences (more than in any John Derek movie) and the long video music style montage sequences it would have been even shorter. Grant eventually arrives in Venice. At this point there's a bizarre plot twist that's played very melodramatically, with Mozart on the soundtrack. The old woman and the girl appear again and the movie ends with a "climax" that's even more bizarre than the rest of the movie, and doesn't seem to have anything to do with the rest of the story. This movie should be studied as an example on how not to write a screenplay or direct a movie.

To sum up, this is an awful movie, but it's also strangely fascinating, because it's like no other movie I've seen. I'm glad I have seen it. And on a side note, as mentioned, the plot involves neo-nazis, and as if things weren't already bizarre enough, the old woman is played by Kristina Söderbaum, who was a big star of Nazi propaganda movies in Germany during World War II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Were McDowell & Grant skint in 1993?, 19 Aug. 2008
By 
Mrs. Sharon L. Lawson "Sadakohere" (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Train To Hell [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
What an absolutely appalling waste of talent! Hugh Grant and Malcolm McDowell must have simply wanted to pay their overdrafts off to agree to take roles in this.
Very incoherent film with no character development or clarity as to where the Nazi gang stemmed from. What on earth was McDowell's character supposed to represent? Dreadfulll. There were too mnay scenes where the camera focused on the character's face for a ridiculously long time as they recollected a past event.
Just one big muddled, unclear mess.
Recommended only if you enjoy watching atrocious films for amusement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cinematic History, 11 Dec. 2003
I have watched many films during my life - some great, plenty of average, and a few awful. This film sets the benchmark for me as being memorably the worst film ever made. I would actually recommend watching it (no... it's not 'so bad it's funny'... it's way below that category). Watch it because it may increase your viewing pleasure of the many average and below par films out there - you will be glad that you are not watching this (I hesitate to call it a film - it's more like dental surgery)again. Also, it may be useful to have at hand, as I guarantee it will settle any arguments about candidates for the title 'worst ever' way before the closing credits (did I actually make it that far?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An hour of my life I won't get back, 20 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Train To Hell [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a truly awful film, if I were Hugh Grant I'd buy the mastertape and throw it in the Grand Canal. All the acting and plots were wooden and totally unbelievable. A woman's little girl goes missing on the Orient Express, and she hardly even panics. Then when she's found, by a very shifty Malcolm McDowell whom she remembers from a shady episode in her childhood, she puts the kid back to bed, goes out on the lash again to the bar, picks up Hugh Grant and has him on the sofa! She calls her Venetian palazzo a 'house', is meant to be playing Juliet but is pushing 30, People walk off into dead ends (I know Venice quite well, and when Macolm McDowell walks off at one point, he is on the Dogona which is a drop into the Grand Canal.)I wish the whole lot of them had followed him, it was so incredibly, unutterably terrible. Even the dubbing was strange and Eastern European, and the Neo Nazis just plain weird. Nothing was explained and that scene when Hugh Grant ran through a glass panel to show he had regained his memory was not even in the realms of childhood film making. The scenes of Venice were lovely though, but not worth the sacrifice of watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't even watch this movie, 19 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
The movie Night train to Venice was the worst movie. It was the worst movie because you couldn't really tell what was going on. For example Martin (Hugh Grant) lost his memory because he fell off a motor bike. Martin was a report or a writer. The best part of the movie was when it ended. Don't even buy it if it is 90% off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the worst film ever....., 27 Jan. 2012
By 
Casper (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train To Hell [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I confess I bought this because I collect films that feature Venice and I am rather partial to Hugh Grant. I am so glad I only spent 60p on this rubbish. It's an hour or so of my life I won't get back. Just farcical. I'm only giving it one star for the scenes of venice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 23 May 2015
This review is from: Train To Hell [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film because I love Venice and I am a fan of Hugh Grant.
Hugh Grant is a journalist who has written a book exposing a fascist gang and he is travelling on the sleeper train to Venice in view of getting it published.He meets a gang of fascist skinheads on the train and a mysterious creepy man who seems to know peoples deepest fears.He also meets a beautiful actress and they begin an affair.

It may be true that the plot is baffling and bizarre and the dialogue and acting rather poor but we both found it strangely enjoyable, entertaining and also very funny.For me it falls into the 'so bad its good' category.Also there is lots of really lovely footage of Venice and a very good soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Train To Hell, 12 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Train To Hell [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
Without doubt, the biggest load of rubbish I've ever watched. So bad I couldn't even laugh at it.

Watched it once then gave the DVD to the local charity shop.

Can't rate it with no stars so I've had to give it one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate train movie, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train To Hell [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This film without doubt has the finest acting and indeed script writing ever to adorn a film. Hugh grant's performance was not only oscar worthy but would give pacino or indeed any of the classic actors an object lesson in how to negotiate a script with a mesmerizing plot such as this. Mcdowell pops up here there and everywhere with all the menace of a used bog roll. The dubbing used throughout is spot on and doesn't induce bouts of barrel laughter at all. If you can get your head around this film then you probably have been experimenting with hallucinogenic drugs. Worth buying as an example of comedy in its purest form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, under-rated piece of genius., 25 Jan. 2009
By 
Andrew P. Hughes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Train To Hell [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is excellent. Now, it will perhaps appear boring, and even confusing. You may think the storyline doesnt seem to have anything going for it. But I watched it and found it to be the funniest thing I have ever witnessed. Malcolm McDowell is at his best here, there are plenty of slow motion camera shots of him which I found hilarious and a real show case of 'the man with the most wrinkly face in existance'. Hugh Grant is on top form, stuttering his way through the film with grace. You even get to see him fly off a motorcycle at high speed as Malcolm watches on with a keen eye. Please buy this, get your friends round, will be laughs aplenty. Cult classic. Pioneer of its genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Train To Hell [1993] [DVD]
Train To Hell [1993] [DVD] by Carlo U. Quinterio (DVD - 2002)
£2.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews