Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people make out
God, I'm sick of people slagging this performance off. The older material is performed in a lacklustre manner true, also the technical problems didn't help although I feel that Jimi's struggling with the equipment produced a far more emotive set than for example, the Berkeley concert.
The IOW set has much more passion and feeling than many of his '70's gigs...
Published on 22 May 2004 by bamboozee

versus
10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars oh so sad
Don't buy this, you have been warned. Jimi's playing was all over the place sometimes inspired but mostly tired and on a few occasions veering off into tuneless wilderness. He forgets the words and is on and off the stage talking to the backline crew and grimacing. I have the audio cd of this gig and that is all you need. Seeing Jimi struggle and wish for the end is...
Published on 14 April 2003 by 70s


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people make out, 22 May 2004
God, I'm sick of people slagging this performance off. The older material is performed in a lacklustre manner true, also the technical problems didn't help although I feel that Jimi's struggling with the equipment produced a far more emotive set than for example, the Berkeley concert.
The IOW set has much more passion and feeling than many of his '70's gigs especially the newer material such as Dolly Dagger, Ezy Rider, In from the Storm etc, and the version of Machine Gun is right out there in the stratosphere. If you want to here a bad Jimi performance then track down a bootleg copy of his Arhus gig 02/09/70 - now that is a bad gig!!!
The IOW gig shows a more passionate and humane version of the performer, even if he wasn't in the best of shape.
The 5.1 mix is excellent too
My main gripe with this DVD is that it's not the full set but hey, there's still enough.
Maybe not ideal as an intro to the man, but an absolute classic performance (even tho lots of people including Mr Chandler, stated it was dreadful) in that the struggle with the equipment brings out more passion and feel to the songs in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Hendrix DVD i've seen, 2 Nov 2006
By 
Macca "Macca" (Swindon, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a great DVD, capturing one of Hendrix's final performances.

It's a strange film, it looks like it was filmed in a tiny club - considering there were hundred's of thousands of people in the crowd!!

That said you do get a fantastic view of Hendrix in action and the performances of Red House and Machine Gun show his full command of the instrument, switching from rock and blues with ease.

Excellent stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars isle of might!!!, 23 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. J. P. Ham "jonnytwinkle" (torpoint , cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
people in general have always said it wasnt the best documented
gig he has done. i bought the vhs reissue back in 1990. This new version gives it total justice,what you get is a full concert from backstage before, through to the end,murray learner had full access to the stage and the filming is pure class for the period
ok, for the first half of the gig jimi struggles to get into it, but his playing is pure virtuoso.. top stuff. and the film restoration is superb, complete with a build up documentary before. Interviews with mitch,billy cox and his road manager.
I recomend this purely as a musician and a fan if you are either get it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimi is a God, 26 July 2004
By 
Aidan S (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I do not have a clue what everyone is talking about. This is by far the best hendrix performance available to purchase on DVD. There are some truly fantastic moments that should go down in history. The solo to "ezy rider" brought a tear to my eye and it is worth just buying this DVD to see Jimi finally open his eyes fully in the middle of "All along the watchtower." Jimi's great sense of humour is brought to life in this concert and his offhand remarks regarding the sheer amount of wars going on bring this piece of footage into the context of the late '60s/early 70s.
Granted, jimi suffers from some technical problems involving his guitar (it appears to be the pick-ups)but the fact that jimi is still playing when he trails around backstage establishes him once again as the pure genius he is.
The features are commendable with merchandise from the concert open for viewing among others. This is a must buy for any Hendrix fan, period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated and really worth it if you like First Rays of the New Rising Sun, 19 April 2010
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Jimi Hendrix - Blue Wild Angel Live at the Isle of Wight Festival DVD is a pretty essential purchase for Hendrix fans, the boxset contains the concert on two cds, a DVD film with extras and a great booklet with detailed linear notes.
The CD version of the concert boasts three extra songs: 'Hey Joe,' 'Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)' and the excellent rare blues number 'Midnight Lightning.'
The main reason to buy the set however, is for the almost 2 hour DVD, which begins as the band wait to take the stage and features the tracks:
"God Save the Queen," "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band," "Spanish Castle Magic," "All Along the Watchtower," "Machine Gun," "Lover Man," "Freedom," "Red House," "Dolly Dagger," "Foxey Lady," "Message to Love," "Ezy Ryder," "Purple Haze," "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" and finally "In From the Storm."
The sound and visuals are pretty great, and look a little better than the other Hendrix DVDs and have a more balanced set of shots of the whole band and the individual members. There has been a lot of talk about the two occasions on which security walkie-talkie signals can be heard over the main speakers but it is so for so short a period of time and is inconsequential that potential buyer needn't worry about it.
The performance begins excellently and the band are on top form, nailing every second up until the very end of 'All Along the Watchtower,' when Mitch keeps a beat going instead of playing the floor toms, which seems to cause Jimi to lose confidence.
The 20 minute version of 'Machine Gun,' is mostly excellent and features a drum solo from Mitch, some lengthy improved sections and would be pretty flawless if it didn't end to abruptly and had the transition from Drum Solo back into the song been smoother.
From then on, the show is mostly fantastic.. especially on the newer songs like 'Freedom,' 'Dolly Dagger,' and closer 'In From the Storm,' where the only breaks in quality are when Jimi will mess around with the amps or the volume dials on his guitar.
Some fans claim that this is a terrible show, however there are a only few bad mistakes, like on 'Foxey Lady,' when Jimi leaves the stage to check he hasn't ripped the crotch of his trousers and leave a noisey guitar feedback coming out of the speakers while Mitch and Billy continue on, or at the end of the drum solos when, like at Woodstock the band are unsure how to get out of the drum solo and back into the song and make a few stumbling attempts before getting back into the swing of it.
Overall this is a pretty good performance and in places a very good one, plus its the only film with the Billy, Mitch, Jimi trio and features a lot of material from 'First Rays of the New Rising Sun,' as well as a 20 minute version of 'Machine Gun,' all of which are reasons to give this set a chance.
To summarise, this is a well shot and edited film with an interesting and lengthy set list and is full of improvisations and you shouldn't be too put off by the 'bad show,' claims if you enjoyed the other Hendrix dvds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...classic document of a terrible gig.., 12 Feb 2003
By 
Shane Pacey (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...which is the reason for the 5 star rating.
This is a perfect (and rare)example of a musician struggling through a bad performance.
Hendrix is visibly unhappy with the stage sound,his own amplifier sound,his singing and the playing of Mitchell and Cox.
No-one should read too much into the fact that this was Jimis last UK gig.I'm sure the band turned out many superb performances around this time,but this isn't one of them.
It is also a glaring testament to the fact that concert technology had in no way caught up with the advanced ideas in Hendrixs head.
By all means buy it for the odd moment when the band manages to pull itself out of the sludge,but don't buy it as an introduction to the masters work,you'll wonder what all the fuss was about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How every concert DVD should be presented, 6 Jan 2003
By 
Whilst the I.O.W. festival didn't capture the feeling of Woodstock, Jimi's performance was exceptional and well worth seeing again and again. He was back in Britain after a long time, with the traditional three-man combo (Buddy Cox replacing Noel Redding on bass and Mitch Mitchell on drums). He wore simply the best outfit you've ever seen, and came onto the stage knowing that this, not Monterrey, was his real home-coming.
I've heard many of Jimi's live concerts, and think I have a good ear for when he was playing well or not. For much of his I.O.W. set I think Jimi was at his best, especially when performing the newer material (In From the Storm is excellent). It's well known that Jimi was tiring of some of his older material, and Mitch Mitchell comments that they felt obliged to play Foxy Lady, despite feeling they had moved on from there. But you would never believe that as Jimi fires through an excellent playlist that will keep any Hendrix fan happy.
While I am a big fan of Jimi's Woodstock performance, I thought he blew a bit hot and cold that day - some great moments, but some bum notes too (maybe because of the new format of his larger backing group?) For the I.O.W. concert he was back to the trio, which he knew best, and it shows as the performance was more consistent through the set. But what really sets this DVD apart from the Woodstock DVD is not the music but the more thorough presentation. This is the whole concert, not half of it, and it was brilliantly filmed and recorded and now remixed for surround sound (compare all these points with Woodstock!) There is some great additional material - like some tracks with picture-in-picture, and an extended interview with the director of the film.
This is a must for any Hendrix fan who thinks that Woodstock was his best ever performance - this isn't either, but it compares very well. For that accolade you need to hear "The Albert Hall Experience" C.D. (sadly the film of that concert has never seen the light of day). But there is much to enjoy from the I.O.W. Just sit close to the T.V., arrange your DVD surround-sound speakers carefully and near to your head, and turn up the volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite wha=t was expected but...., 10 Mar 2010
By 
Catfish Knight "Catfish Knight" (Peterborough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Given the hour and the problems being had, JH still managed to put in a decent performance. I wonder how many of today's bands would have even played.

Not his greatest gig but given the circumstances a stirling performance from the man with the guitar, even more so, that less than three weeks later he was no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than being there? I think so!, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Kevin Fitzmaurice (London W10) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Wild Angel: Live at the Isle of Wight [DVD] [1971] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Okay, I love Jimi Hendrix - watching this just made me love him more. Why? Well, I grew up with the 'Isle of Wight' LP containing several of these performances and visualised the intensity of the show - the extraordinary focus there must have been behind his fantastic guitar playing and so on.

I then see this and, God, he's just so cool and detached. The beautiful noise comes out but he's behind the amps talking with a roadie, or trying to force some magic to happen with Billy Cox, the bassist, or looking simply bored.

He's obviously really NOT enjoying the show - which looks like it was chaotically organised - plus he was VERY late on - but the music is, in places, WONDERFUL! Other bits are just rubbish, but you can see he knew that and you can forgive anything for the genius bits! So I can't give it five stars - though it's worth six in places - and it's never average - so four stars it is!

Finally, I'm so glad I can watch it at home because it looks like there was very little fun in being there and most people wouldn't have seen a thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jimi Still Shines., 23 May 2013
By 
Mr. Philip Mitchell "philjimi" (Valley Of Neptune) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This latest version of Jimi at the Isle of Wight is stunning. Brilliant picture apart from the original film scratches that have been partly sorted, the 5.1 sound is awesome, I am surprised that this version wasn't advertised more by EXP Hendrix. As I said, this version is a million miles away from the original video release and a must have DVD for any music fan. One question though, why isn't it on Blue Ray? But this will do for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews