Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Classic
This is the R'n'b, Modern soul album of the year, combines the artistry of D'angelo with toe-tapping of Donnell Jones. This is an amazing album without a bad track, covers every spectrum of soul music, whilst still being inventive. BUY IT!
Published on 28 Nov 2002 by mancsouler1

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars VINTAGE
SOUNDED A LOT BETTER ON THE JULES HOLLAND SHOW ON THE T.V. THIS WILL NOT BE PLAYED IN MY HOME AS LONG AS I AM ALIVE.
Published on 25 Sep 2009 by Mr. A. K. Pritchard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Classic, 28 Nov 2002
This review is from: Instant Vintage (Audio CD)
This is the R'n'b, Modern soul album of the year, combines the artistry of D'angelo with toe-tapping of Donnell Jones. This is an amazing album without a bad track, covers every spectrum of soul music, whilst still being inventive. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 July 2002
By 
Mr. L. G. Mccalla (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very very good album. Makes a refreshing change from a lot of the mediocre music that is around at the moment. Saadiq seems to have been around for lifetime, first with Tone Tone Tone, then Lucy Pearl, now finally on the solo tip.....seems to get better and better. One for a true music lovers collection. Very underated artist.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply beautiful, 28 July 2004
This review is from: Instant Vintage (Audio CD)
fantastically crafted soul and I wouldn't expect less from the ex tony toni tone star. Sometimes listening to the whole album can be a bit draining particularly with the weaker tracks towards the end but once you find a fantastic track you truely find a fantastic track. For me i would have to say bodyparts, be here (with the king of soul himself D'Angelo), excuse me (with angie stone), faithful and Can You Feel Me are my favourite and Make My Day is a great interlude track well worth the !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant vintage, damn right, 18 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Instant Vintage (Audio CD)
what can you say about this album that is not explained in the title. this is the solo album from the producer who started out in R&B group Tony toni tone. He has modernised his older stylings and brought everything back to the present. great appearences from the likes of T-Boz (TLC) and the master of the neo soul generation D'angelo. this album is likely to suit people who are like a more refined sophistcated modern day R&B. This album is quality. well written with expert production provided by Saadiq. to sum up a great album with no fillers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This guy is the best thing since Michael Jackson, 25 Jun 2002
Raphael Saadiq has finally made the frightening steps to become solo. From the brilliant Lucy Pearl he came, which makes it a hard task on beating the tunes he wrote and performed with such spark.
On first impressions i thought he hadn't I was looking for that lucy pearl style in his records. I could not really find it then i knew it would be one of those albums that you need to listen and listen to, to love it. The thing about this guy is he has not stuck to the lucy pearl style at all, he has made his own style which can only be to his outstanding talent that he posses. He calls the type of music on the album GOSPEL/DELIC which is very true as to me he has made a new type of music. It is very gospel especially in 'Blind Man' it could be by Al Green. There is quite alot of duets on this album, but it works he doesn't care about whether there big names its all on talent. The best one for me and probably the best track on the album is 'Skyy, can you feel me' with the beautiful vocals of Rosie Kaye, who is unknown to me, but as soon as she gets a album done i will be the first one to get it.
As I said before this album gets better and better everytime i listen to it. Ok if your getting this because your a lucy pearl fan, do but you won't be getting the same funky rhythms its a lot more soulful but still has the effect to blow you away at this guys incredible talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Title says it all!, 23 Jun 2009
By 
Archi Mark (Kendal, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
I saw Raphael Saadiq on Later with Jules Holland and was blown away by his voice. This is an amazing album and should be in everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great R'n'B album, 7 April 2014
By 
Brynach Jones (WATER VALLEY, MISSISSIPPI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For fans of Erykah Badu, Jill Scott, The Foreign Exchange, D'angelo and the like. Plenty of catchy but clever tunes. Great on first listen and definitely a repeater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!, 25 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Instant Vintage (Audio CD)
I only got this CD two weeks ago and I have played it everyday since!!! It just seems to get better and better everytime I listen to it. There isn't one bad track - the man is a genius...buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT !!, 3 May 2003
By 
KELLY (ADDLESTONE, SURREY United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Instant Vintage (Audio CD)
AN AMAZING ALBUM FROM AN AMAZING ARTIST.. THERE'S NO VOICE QUITE LIKE RAPHAEL SADIQ !
IF YOU LIKE A LOT OF CHOCOLATE ON YOUR BISCUIT.. BUY THIS ALBUM :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars VINTAGE, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. A. K. Pritchard (PONTYPOOL WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Instant Vintage (Audio CD)
SOUNDED A LOT BETTER ON THE JULES HOLLAND SHOW ON THE T.V. THIS WILL NOT BE PLAYED IN MY HOME AS LONG AS I AM ALIVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Instant Vintage
Instant Vintage by Raphael Saadiq (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews