Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!!!!
Excellent value for money.....a DVD with 2 hours 20 of concert footage and Alanis' ramblings (sometimes in an amusing fashion, sometimes in a way that makes you want to scream for your mummy). On top of that you get a bonus CD with extra songs from the Under Rug Swept Sessions...all of which I must say are excellent. Although they are described as B-sides, or surplus to...
Published on 16 Mar. 2003 by melchizedekpr

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somente para fãs...
Por mais que eu goste da Alanis, a edição desse DVD deixou muito a desejar. O histerismo dos fãs dá nos nervos... A qualidade AV é muito prejudicada pela edição, que é da própria Alanis.
Não vale a pena...
Published on 19 Jun. 2011 by Wilson Capelli Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!!!!, 16 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps (DVD & Enchanced CD) [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
Excellent value for money.....a DVD with 2 hours 20 of concert footage and Alanis' ramblings (sometimes in an amusing fashion, sometimes in a way that makes you want to scream for your mummy). On top of that you get a bonus CD with extra songs from the Under Rug Swept Sessions...all of which I must say are excellent. Although they are described as B-sides, or surplus to requirement, me thinks the lady is simply being modest. Not a filler in sight (unless I guess you count the acoustic version of "Hands Clean"...which is a nice version nontheless). "Sorry for myself", "Prodigal Daughter", and the beautiful "Simple Together" are stand out tracks.
There's also some multi media stuff you can stream onto your computer, not available unless you have the album, which is always nice. Anything for nothing I always say....way hey !!
And Alanis looks as hot as ever. Very sexy indeed....hair all over the shop as she headbangs her way through song after song. She's a class performer. The only criticism I can make is the sometime clumsy jumping from concert to concert during a song. Often the sound quality is a bit naff here and there, but thankfully this technique isnt employed on every song
If you like Alanis...go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 18 Nov. 2002
By 
Richard Rainbow "Rich" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps (DVD & Enchanced CD) [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'm going to start here with the CD that goes with the DVD. The Feast on Scraps CD (disc 2 of the package) contains the "b sides" that didn't make it on the the fantastic "Under Rug Swept" released earlier this year. There are 8 new songs which just go to show how talented this woman is! If these are the reject songs then roll on the next full album! Unprodigal daughter (also featured in it's live form on the DVD) is supurb and one of her best songs ever. Simple together is one of the most beautiful and thought provoking songs i've heard in ages, and sorry to myself sounds like a bizarre Peter Gabriel/Alanis collaboration. If this were to be released as an album it would be as good as some of her preivous albums if not better.
The DVD, featuring "the making of URS" and a concert from the URS tour is fantastic. The live show is supurbly mixed, but perhaps doesn't capture all of the excitement of the gig in the way that Muse did with their "hulaballo" DVD. None-the-less it is a fantastic performance, with All I really want, Unprodigal Daughter and You learn being particularlly good. The vocals are a little off every now and then - but it is literally every now and then, and in a two hours show that's impressive!!! The extras on the DVD are cool - exerpts from Alanis on tour, chatting about random stuff, talking dirty, being insane, talking psychobabble - what she does best!
All in all it's a very enjoyable package, maybe if you bought Jagged little Pill and then forgot about her, it's time to find her again - she's a singer getting back to her peak as this DVD/CD package shows, and an artist who has maybe just "found" her ability to write fantastic songs again. Roll on Alanis CD 7 :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing - Best Alanis DVD, 26 Jun. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps (DVD & Enchanced CD) [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
Based along the lines of Jagged Little Pill live with live concert performances and talks from Alanis and the band - but in soo many ways better. It's mainly featuring live performances from the Under Rug Swept tour but showing mutliple other camera shots from cam corders and other cameras. The concert songs are shown in 16:9 format but the interviews and talks from Alanis inbetween songs are in 4:3 format - even this doesn't take away from the dvd. It's a long dvd but doesn't get boring at any point - it shows Alanis' personality brilliantly. Most of the time I was laughing at her mucking about with the band members. There is a little strong language - but nothing too bad. All round a great dvd. The added audio cd is also brilliant - it's b sides and acoustic performances. Obviously if you have bought every Alanis single you'll already have all the songs on the cd but it's a great cd none-the-less. If you like concert dvds this is a great package and if you like Alanis this is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good scraps!, 29 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps (DVD & Enchanced CD) [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
Alanis' cleverly titled 'Feast On Scraps' is an amazing buy for Alanis fans. The DVD consists of a live concert plus 'scraps' of backstage and studio footage which gives viewers an insight into all things Alanis. The distorted sound quality in places makes the concert a little offputting at times, but the backstage footage is both interesting and funny and the DVD showcases what a brilliant live voice Alanis has.
The CD (the 'scraps' that didn't fit on 'Under Rug Swept') consists of eight new songs and an acoustic version of 'Hands Clean'. The songs once again show Alanis' excellent songwriting and production skills (all the songs on the disc are written and produced solely by her). Tracks range from the rocky 'Fear of Bliss' (reminiscent of 'Pollyanna Flower' from Alanis' 'Thank U' CD) and 'Sister Blister' to the sensitive ballads like' Offer' and 'Simple Together' and to the darker moody tracks such as 'Sorry To Myself' and 'Purgatorying'.
Overall, a great package which is guaranteed to please Alanis fans. If you're a fan of the 'Feast On Scraps' CD, two more 'scraps', 'Symptoms' and 'Awakening Americans' are available on the 'Hands Clean' single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any true fan must own this!, 23 April 2005
By 
Ms. C. M. White "blackeyed316" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps (DVD & Enchanced CD) [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this DVD two days before I went to see Alanis in Manchester on 22nd April 2005. I wanted to know what to expect from one of her gigs before I went, as this is the first I had been to. It gave me a real insight as to what I should expect from her and also in to the personaility of Alanis herself. It shows her laughing, crying, talking about her friends, surfing, getting her hair braided, dancing in a shop, songwriting and basically all the things she gets up to between shows. It's a must for any true fan, I love it. Very entertaining!! Plus, a good selection of songs performed live of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The scraps are worth feasting on!, 31 Aug. 2003
By 
Adil Choudhry "always learning" (Austria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps (DVD & Enchanced CD) [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
For me, being objective about the works of Alanis doesnt come easy.Since i personally believe that she is one of the most outstanding musicians of the late 90's and early 00's, some of that bias filters into the comments I give on her music:)
Nevertheless, here goes objectivity! Like my title suggests, the scraps (if they can be called such) are definately worth feasting on.However, while others have praised the style and layout of the DVD, I found it to be somewhat of a drag after a while. While the 'no frills' footage is refreshing intially, there comes a point where one wonders whether the crew is actually making a forced (and obvious) effort to appear as laid back and unstructured as possible.
The sound quality is acceptable, but the sound differences at various points in the concerts are stark, and can be distracting.
I would recomend this as a buy for those who already own all there is to own on Alanis Morissette. For those just venturing into her realm, there are some better treats out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps (DVD & Enchanced CD) [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
Fantastic DVD. Not only filled with beautiful music, it shows snippets of Alanis' life. I recommend to any true fan! xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alanis Morissette-Feast On Scraps (DVD/Enchanced CD) [2002], 26 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps (DVD & Enchanced CD) [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
It's Alanis' best concert...Absolutely I recommend to this DVD for everybody...Also it contains a bonus CD album (unreleased studio tracks which left off Morissette's album Under Rug Swept)...

Mustafa...

Turkey...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent double album containing a full DVD concert and a CD of several rarities, you really cannot knock this as a value for money piece of work. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really great dvd if you like Alanis. I knw she is not everybody's cup of tea, but she is mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alanis Morissette - Feast on Scraps (DVD & Enchanced CD) [2002] [NTSC]
£7.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews