Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


221 of 222 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wrongs righted on the best "Best of..."
There have been compilations before of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac, the band he formed after leaving John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, but this latest one puts right most of the wrongs and omissions of those.

Everything you expect is here including Oh Well Parts 1 & 2 in its full 9 minute glory and without fading out in the middle, where you had to turn over the...
Published on 20 Mar 2006 by Lozarithm

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony could have done better
Fleetwood Mac (1967 to 1970): in my opinion the best ever British blues band. All their hits are here, even the post Blue Horizon recordings. And the band members wrote or co-wrote the majority of their songs, Peter Green of course being the main man.
So why have I deducted two stars?
One star because the penultimate track on this cd, although very good, is not...
Published on 20 Oct 2011 by Colin Cramp


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

221 of 222 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wrongs righted on the best "Best of...", 20 Mar 2006
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
There have been compilations before of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac, the band he formed after leaving John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, but this latest one puts right most of the wrongs and omissions of those.

Everything you expect is here including Oh Well Parts 1 & 2 in its full 9 minute glory and without fading out in the middle, where you had to turn over the single, as previous collected versions had; and the previously unreleased US Version of Need Your Love So Bad, which is a superb extended six minute piece, with strings arranged by Mickey Baker (who played guitar on Little Willie John's original). Stop Messin' Round was on the flipside of Need Your Love So Bad, but it is here in the slighter shorter version used on the album Mr. Wonderful.

The towering magnificence of The Green Manalishi is also re-established by its inclusion. The compilation ends with a token track by Chicken Shack, because of Christine McVie's involvement with the band, and the then-recent hit remix of Albatross by Chris Coco, both of which I could have done without in this particular context, perhaps replaced by their first single, Rambling Pony/I Believe My Time Ain't Long.

Peter Green was up there with Hendrix and Clapton in the sixties and as well as his work with Fleetwood Mac it is well worth checking out the album A Hard Road by John Mayall's Bluesbreakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should buy this, 3 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
For anyone out there (and I've come across one or two) who's only heard post-Green, Stevie Nicks and co. Fleetwood Mac, this album will be a big surprise as they might as well be two completely different bands. Some of the best music you'll ever hear is on this album, including Man of the World - in my opinion the greatest song of all time - and Albatross, surely THE instrumental that no other instrumental will ever match. It seems to me that when people think about THE guitarists of the 20th century it's always Hendrix/Clapton/Page way ahead of Peter Green, which is a great shame as the man is a genius and early Fleetwood Mac was groundbreaking stuff. This album is an essential addition to any 'proper' music collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


149 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last..., 10 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
Up until now it's been impossible to find a sensible and comprehensive overview of this "first iteration" of Fleetwood Mac's music... but here it is. Including virtually all of their best tracks, it pretty much perfectly captures what they were all about. A million miles away from their second (or was that fourth?) iteration that took the world by storm in the mid 70's & early 80's, this is a very different proposition. Featuring Peter Green's exceptional blues guitar playing & singing supported by the mercurial Jeremy Spencer's slide guitar and, latterly, Danny Kirwin's third lead guitar - none of who made it past their late 60's/early 70's implosion - and backed up by John McVie & Mick Fleetwood's ultra-tight rhythm section, they were, quite justifiably, one of the most successful groups to emerge from the UK's mid 60's R&B scene.
Like all "Best of..." compilations it arguably misses a couple of their lesser known "stand-out" tracks, in particular "Long Grey Mare" & "Without You", but just about everything else is here plus, as an added bonus, Christine McVie's wonderful rendition of "I'd Rather Go Blind" from her earlier Chicken Shack days and the excellent and previously difficult to find Danny Kirwin penned 1971 single "Dragonfly". And, on the way, you get all the hits, including the stunningly powerful "Oh Well Part 1" & "The Green Manalishi", the heart rending "Man of the World" and the beautiful, extended USA version of "Need Your Love So Bad", plus some real hidden gems, in particular Peter Green's outstanding vocals and guitar-work on his brilliant "I Loved Another Woman" and his fabulously "raw" harmonica playing on "Looking for Somebody".

So, if you're looking for "Rhiannon" & "Tusk" you've dropped into the wrong section of Fleetwood Mac's notoriously complex back catalogue, but if you're looking for some superb UK blues and R&B then you're most definitely in the right place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Green still sounding good., 17 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
I have recently purchased this C.D. after seeing Peter Green Splinter Group live in concert on the Isle of Wight. It was great to see a hardworking band obviously enjoying entertaining a full house with a diverse collection of work from the early years of Fleetwood Mac together with more recent compositions by the Splinter Group and a selection of work from Robert Johnson and other Blues legends.The highlights of that live performance were undoubtedly the Peter Green compositions which feature on this C.D. Albatross, Green Manalishi and of course Black Magic Woman. Listening to these classic tracks now it is hard to believe they have been with us for 35 years. So go on buy the C.D. re-aquaint yourself with some great music then get onto the Splinter Group website to find out where you can see the band live -You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value - but not quite there..., 27 Mar 2009
By 
Robert Potter "mojowire" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
I haven't bought this, because I've got pretty much all of the P Green era Mac output already. It is, as lots of others have said, an excellent - and stunningly cheap - intro to that band, who were the best British blues band of the time, and outsold even the Beatles at one point. But I would say that there is an absolutely glaring omission: Love That Burns is one of PG's very best compositions and showcases that beautiful choked weeping style of which he was the master. Download that one if you can. And Jumping At Shadows - from the live in Boston set which has appeared on several albums - is a classic of PG's live playing and worth seeking out. Third thought - what about the track Fleetwood Mac, the first solo venture of PG with McVie and Fleetwood, while they were still with John Mayall? Certainly more valid than some remix of Albatross.

Peter Green was (IMHO) by far the best of the British blues guitarists of the late 1960s (B B King apparently said he was the only white boy who could make him sweat), with a touch and soul that no-one else matched. Clapton was the groundbreaker and arguably a bigger influence on the world of blues and rock guitar, but PG had that soul. If you like his stuff, there's some of PG's great pre-Mac playing on the John Mayall album A Hard Road and on the Mayall oddments compilations Looking Back and Thru The Years. And the post-Mac album In the Skies is worth a look for the beautiful reinterpretation of Fool No More and the general dreamy feel. After that, his condition deteriorated and things like Little Dreamer and Watcha Gonna Do are not really worth it. There is an OK album Green and Guitar: The Best of Peter Green 1977-1981 which has some of the better tracks of this period, including Fool No More. F Mac also backed several US bluesmen on various Blue Horizon albums: Eddie Boyd's 7936 South Rhodes has some terrific guitar from PG, as does Otis Spann'sThe Biggest Thing Since Colossus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The forgotten Fleetwood Mac, 1 April 2003
By 
G. Hill "grahamthill" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
It is all too easy to forget that there was a Fleetwood Mac before Rumours. In many of the compliations you see, the Peter Green era is left out in favour of some of the substandard more recent material. To me that is a crime and this album will show you why.
Beginning with Albatross and working through other classics like the pure genius that is Man of the World. These two alone should find their way onto any compilation and there are several others on this album which should be in with a shout. If you haven't got anything from this Fleetwood Mac era, this is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't think of a better way to spend 5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 15 May 2008
By 
Mr. G. Fleming (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
I have loved all these tracks from when they were first released and I was a schoolboy,I managed to see them live twice around that time, at the Ulster Hall in Belfast, I generally don't listen to that much older music and tend to move on,usually staying quite contempory, but just about everything on this CD sounds just as great as it always did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Mac, 29 July 2003
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
If 'Fleetwood Mac' rings a bell with you somewhere, but Lindsey Buckingham or Stevy Nicks are the names that spring to your mind, just take a comfy chair and listen to this grey old grandad. Way back in the 60s, while 'they' were changing the world or so they said, like a bolt from the blue appeared this London-based seminal band fertilized by the clashing titan musical geniuses of Peter Green, Mick Fleetwood and John McVie.
While at the onset, their roots were mainly geared towards blues music, and crossed with rock, the band were soon on their way to developing its very own and honest voice in their own right.
To be true, there was nothing in 60s rock that quite matched the Mac for style; perhaps the ones that came closest were Alexis Korner, Chris Farlowe or (Clapton's) Yardbirds or Cream.
And we were listening to Radio London (was it?) on Sunday evenings with Alan Freeman's dark voice announcing the power blues of Oh Well - part 1 (up six at #7) or, better, the sheer force of The Green Manalishi (listen to those power guitars and forget about Don't stop thinking about tomorrow)...
No wonder, another young guitar genius, Carlos Santana, was later to discover Black Magic Woman.
Meanwhile, now you've already raced to your nearest record shop, young girl or man, listen to the blues breathing from Need your love so bad - just be sure: one tile was more than enough on the dance floor -, the wistfully reflecting Man of the world or imagine your own movie to Oh well part 2 . Mine plays somewhere in inland southern Spain...
And promise along with grandad that "I'd rather go blind" than to think that the 80s Fleetwood Mac have anything to do with these tops guys who helped to shape the musical heritage of the past century and will never cease to impress, philosophize and ring through the years.
This is the only indispensable Fleetwood collection the right-minded music fan will ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real Fleetwood Mac, 2 Dec 2002
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
This was the genuine heart of Fleetwood Mac. Forget that failed Californian pop duo, and even the "legendary" Christine Perfect (later McVie), this is the real deal. Peter Green, bless him, is now an avuncular British blues icon, and finally recapturing some of the form that led many of us to idolise him in the 60's. This collection shows why we all loved him, despite the inclusion of "Need your love so bad" (Fleetwood Mac with strings? - what were they thinking of?). Listening to "Oh Well" again, I'm reminded why I saved all my pocket money for months to try and buy a National Steel guitar from a pawn shop in Battersea. When I finally saved enough, it had gone. Maybe that's why I never joined Fleetwood Mac, but more likely it was because they were so brilliant, I wouldn't have stood a chance. Just listen to the first guitar chord of "Black Magic Woman" - it't make the wee hairs go up on the back of your neck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece!, 5 July 2007
This review is from: The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
I would give this cd 10 stars if I could. I am a great fan of the original Fleetwood Mac with Peter Green when they were first and foremost a blues band. Every song on this is good if not excellent and for me it is a masterpiece and one of my favourite cds in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac
The Best Of Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac by Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews