Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irish Folk Compilation
This is good. About the best with original artists. Ronnie Drew and Luke Kelly make up for the weaknesses of The Briers.
Published on 19 Jun. 2005 by xhkjt

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good
This was Ok some of the songs you could hardly hear I think some of them have been recorded live and very good.

Give it a miss.
Published on 14 Sept. 2009 by Mrs. C. Messenger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Irish Folk Compilation, 19 Jun. 2005
This review is from: 20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar (Audio CD)
This is good. About the best with original artists. Ronnie Drew and Luke Kelly make up for the weaknesses of The Briers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 4 Mar. 2009
By 
Something to change your life if only for a short while, going back to a style that makes you smile and think of the past, Greatttttttt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: 20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar (Audio CD)
This was Ok some of the songs you could hardly hear I think some of them have been recorded live and very good.

Give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lively folk record, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar (Audio CD)
this c.d. is great to have on while i am busy as I can sing along to it. It's easy to brighten your mood with these lively timeless folk songs. It was delivered quickly and there have been no problems with this purchase whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thanks a million., 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar (Audio CD)
The CD was a gift for my brother, he loves it,
our Mother was Irish, so anything to do with Ireland is great..
Thank you for the wonderful Cd's by the 'Highway Men' I love every single one, just about worn them out through over playing!!
Many thanks to you.
happy new Year
Mo Clarke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great showcase for Luke kelly, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar (Audio CD)
It has become one of my all time favourite CD, this is because it as many fine tunes on it. There are plenty of songs ( live) of Luke Kelly and of him as the lead singer of live Dubliner songs . To me the live versions add to the recordings - often making me sing along with the audience. All the classic Irish songs are there :- seven drunken nights, the wild rover, black velvet band and many more.The best in my opinion are the fields of Athenry, and the outstanding the town I loved as well.It shows the immense talent of Luke Kelly one of the founding members of the Dubliners who died in his early 40`s. I brought it through the Amazon sellers for just over £2. Such a bargain that I bought another to play in the car.By the way it not all luke Kelly and the Dubliners on the disc, the Briers are also good ( fields of Athenry ). If you like old time Irish music give it a go at that price !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
S. Jeffrey (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar (Audio CD)
I work with the Elderly in a small Irish town, and brought this for them to listen too during dinner time.
They were all singing along and the comments from them were that there is a good mix of all the good oldies :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whiskey, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar (Audio CD)
Go on buy this Irish C.D. and stand by for an hours music stands up to what was advertised, go on put it in your collection, Edwin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bargain, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
M. Jones (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar (Audio CD)
bought for a few songs I was missing off another Irish CD I have. None of these compilations are perfect therefore mix.Wanted the Wild Colonial Boy but the version on here is a bit of a let down. Not sure if there are better versions but i should imagine there would be.
Best song is the Fields of Athenry though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great songs, 24 Oct. 2013
By 
L. Goodman "ms red" (n ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar (Audio CD)
love all the old songs and really enjoy listening to music, which I detested as a child because my parents listened to it, but now it reminds me so much of my dad especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar
20 Great Irish Drinking Songs: Whiskey in the Jar by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews