Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lucky to have it, 23 July 2003
By 
A. Smith "Adamsez" (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
Alice completed this recording only months before she succumbed to cystic fibrosis, a lifelong burden she affected to wear lightly as is clear in the BBC TV documentary The Nine Lives Of Alice Martineau, filmed when she had by her own estimation used up about six of them.
Alice wrote or co-wrote all the songs on the album, and there is not a duff one among them. On the contrary, they are filled with interest and bear repeated listening. The CD is also an immense credit to her co-writers, producer, arranger, voice coach, and the Sony team who had the gumption to give Alice a contract. The BBC programme showed how badly Alice's CF impeded her breathing. To hear her sing you would never know it, which is another of this album's mini-miracles.
In my opinion, Baby's Fine is the outstanding track on Daydreams. Packed with imagination and musical professionalism, it encapsulates what a great team Alice had, in this instance including co-writer Howard Toshman and arranger Chris Elliott. A credit to all involved, and Alice an inspiration to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Music, 8 July 2003
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
'Daydreams' is my favourite album of all time. Alice's sound is unique. Her voice is beautiful and she writes all her own songs. Alice suffered from Cystic Fibrosis and sadly died earlier this year but her music continues to inspire many. She had a wonderful attitude to life which is reflected in her songs. She describes her music as some where in between Natalie Imbruglia and Dido- but I think she is far better. All the tracks are amazing but perhaps the best is 'Inside of you'. You MUST buy her album, it won't leave your CD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD!!, 11 Mar 2003
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
...This cd hasn't left my player in over a week and I hear new elements with every listen. 11 fantastic songs here, all with great production and soaring melodies. Fans of Beth Orton, Dido, EBTG, Mae Moore will be thrilled by this. I think the Bjork comparison comes from a particular tone in Alice Martineau's voice which does indeed remind one of Bjork.
The lead off single "If I Fall" is actually my least favorite track here. Give track 4 a listen and fall in love. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable talent, 19 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
This is an unbelievable collection of beautiful songs and every track on this CD is outstanding. Alice had so much talent she deserved so much more recognition that she had. After listening to all genres of music over the past 30 years I can quite honesty say that this album is one of my favourites and the wonderful 'Inside of You' is worthy of being hailed as one of the most powerful and moving songs every recorded. It has now become quite simply my favourite song of all time. An inspirational track and a truly wonderful CD. Buy it, you'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loss of an amazing talent, 16 July 2004
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
from the moment i saw her perform inside of you on top of the pops 2 i was hooked. some of the songs seem a bit too light weight at first but give it time and you realise what a brilliant album it is. her voice is full of character and beauty. top tracks include if i fall, inside of you and forget what i said. breathe again has a hint of the corrs about it and is really catchy. the weakest track is babys fine but saying that it is not too bad a track. this album is certain to cheer you up despite the hint of sadness due to alice's untimely death in 2003.
buy this!!!!! you wont regret it. sony should reissue it with publicity and donate the proceeds to the cystic fibrosis charity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daydreams: Inspirational debut...and ending, 6 Jun 2004
By 
S. Marshall "stevemarshall99" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
This bright and thought-inspiring debut is also tragically Alice Martineau's last album; she suffered from cystic fibrosis and she died only months after finishing recording - a heart, lungs and liver donor could not be found. Her legacy is an unforgettable album that you can listen to whatever your mood or company.
Martineau writes or co-writes all the tracks, and creates a fresh sound with guitar and keyboards reminiscent of Natalie Imbruglia or Lene Marlin.
The opener and first single, 'If I Fall', is real catchy pop with an excellent chorus, and moves smoothly into the slower 'Baby's Fine', one of the stand-out tracks on the album. 'Breathe Tonight' is a blast of a song, which I guarantee will have your stereo at top volume, and keep it there for the touching 'Inside of You'.
The downbeat 'Too Late Now' asks questions of a should-have-been relationship, and then the albums steps up into the big sound of 'The Right Time', a full-on, clap-along pop song.To round off, the street-pop 'Forget What I Said' is mellow, and leeads into the closer, the inspirational 'Nothing Is Forever'. And you know listening to it, that Martineau had her own life in mind when she penned it. A stunning, and poignant end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Martineau - Brilliant, talented singer songwriter, 23 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
I have Alice Martineau's CD and I can honestly say that although I have tried to play it to death, I am unable to get bored of it. The music is brilliant, the lyrics are meaningful and thought inspiring. These are songs you can listen to, unlike most pop these days.
If you want to get an Albumn that you won't ever regret buying, then this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sticks out among many a CD collection!, 19 July 2004
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
I bought this album after hearing 1 track on Radio 1 recently and it's now one of my favourite albums among many more famous and established individuals and groups.
There is not 1 track I dislike, and I can't imagine growing tired of listening to it.
I can see why Robbie Williams is a fan. It has originality without narrowing its market appeal...in other words there will be few who will be disapointed!
It is a great shame there will be no follow up....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She will be remembered..., 3 Jun 2004
By 
W. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
Cystic Fibrosis has been with Alice since she was born - but as Alice says, "The last thing I want is for people to see me as a victim. And really, as I hope people will realise when they hear the music, I'm a singer songwriter who just happens to be ill."
West Londoner Alice, released her debut single "If I Fall" on November 11th 2002- and the album "Daydreams" in the same month. Alice's music is a swirling, wide-eyed paean to childhood, the vocal tones of invoking thoughts of Bjork, Beth Orton and Dido. "It's about living a really simple life in blissful childlike ignorance" she smiles. Alice grew up in a musical family. Her grandmother was a concert pianist, whilst her uncle made his name in the 80s producing the likes of Judas Priest and Def Leppard. Alice's live dates have attracted the likes of Robbie Williams in the audience.
Alice Martineau
Born: 8th June 1972
Died: 6th march 2003
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A small work of genius, 22 May 2003
This review is from: Daydreams (Audio CD)
Every now and then a talent comes along that makes you stop in your tracks, rips you to shreds and sends you on your way a different person. It's not just knowing the incredible courage, tenacity and love that went into creating this album; it's not just knowing that there won't be another - it's knowing this album made it into the world - somehow - and is around for people to find and discover for themselves and be changed by. It's a little bit of magic, a little bit of heaven, utterly wonderful, utterly beguiling. Go find and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daydreams
Daydreams by Alice Martineau (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews