Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great British Rock/Metal Band, 31 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Unexpected Guest: Remastered (Audio CD)
This was the follow up to "Night Of The Demon" & it`s a much more complete album than Demons debut. The band continue there wonderfull intros to there albums with the opening " An Observation" before the brilliant " Don`t Break The Circle" kicks in. This is one of the finest songs Demon ever wrote. A stomping, thumping rocker, with a chorus you`ll be singing for days. "The Spell" "Total Possession" continue the commercial edged rockers with "Sign Of A Madman" also having a great singable hook filled chorus."Victim Of Fortune" continues the up tempo pace with "Have We Been Here Before" picking up the singable chorus banner again. Infact it`s not untill "Strange Institution" [track 8] that the tempo slows up. "The Grand Illusion" "Beyond The Gates Of Hell" & "Deliver Us From Evil" have the air of being album fillers i`m afraid. Demon had a great name that unfortunatley stereotyped the band as a bad Black Sabbath type band. Nothing could be further from the trueth they were infact a great band with great songs in there own right. It`s fair to say that this album is playing up to there name, just look at the song titles, but don`t let this fact put you off from buying this great album. It in no way glorifies the devil or any of that type of thing. Infact the band allways thought of it as a lyrical version of a Hammer House Of Horror" film & this is a very acurate discription of the bands lyrical style. As for the album this shows a great British band holding up there own in a market that was at the time dominated by American artists. If you want to hear what a great British Heavy Rock/Metal band of the mid 80`s sounded like or you just want to listen to a great album with songs you`ll walk away singing then this is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd gym of this NWOBHM band., 15 Feb 2002
By 
E. Qudoos "Sweet long Lizzard" (Bahrain, Middle East) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unexpected Guest (Audio CD)
This album realesed in 1982 was the second offering of British band Demon, and what an album.
Full of dark heavy songs it made Demon a force to recon amung NWOBHM inspiring alot of american bands.
Full of classic songs like "Don't Break the Circle" this remastred Swedish release contains four bonus tracks as well.
So if you still did not discover the world of Demon I hope you rush for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Hammer, 22 Nov 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unexpected Guest: Remastered (Audio CD)
Demon's 'Unexpected Guest' didn't grab me at first. Their style is pretty much bog-standard hard rock, sort of UFO but a bit angrier and abrasive. There are a couple of instant songs to keep you interested though and, ultimately, it turns out to be a consistently engaging paean to Hammer horror, something that's hinted at in the sleeve notes. The short opening track could easily work as a soundtrack to the opening of a Hammer film. Then comes the anthemic 'Don't Break The Circle,' a song that keeps you interested. Though Demon tend not vary their style much, they carry their music off well and, musically, the material is very good. Lyrically, it can be cliched ('Deliver us from evil, gimme shelter' is a bit obvious) and isn't especially imaginative. Instead, they hook you with the odd infectious melody, such as 'Have We Been Here Before,' while 'Strange Institution' is especially spooky and hard-hitting. The bonuses don't add a great deal, but this is nevertheless a fine example of hard rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unexpected maesterpiece !!, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Unexpected Guest: Remastered (Audio CD)
where to begin ,well with the opening power chords and organ that usher in the most majestic platter of heavy metal on record;im not overstating the impact of this composition it simply tastes like Turkish Delight! the pace of the tracks is subtly measured the vocal staggeringly strong and guitar breaks that epitomise every thing that is great in the metal genre if and its a weird "if" you only ever own a single heavy metal album then in my humble opinion make it this one ; it so typifies the ambition of metallers to raise the musical bar with effortless capability ,thats not to say its easy but honed in their craft they make it sound that way and there in lies the strength of this piece in that as in when trying to sound brilliant it can sound like you are trying too hard and therefore it doesnt quite come off,Demmon are playing with in an inch of their collective lives while making it sound easy ;making the magnificent sound like a successful rocket launch where all the elements are in place and you kinda know you are about to go into orbit - well thats what this cd does - period.Maximus Metallicus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NWOBM, 6 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: The Unexpected Guest: Remastered (Audio CD)
Back in 1979 Demon were born as part of the new wave of british heavy metal. This is their second offering after the "Night of the Demon". The lyrics are more satanic, darker vocals but melodic. Not thrash or goth (despite the satanic lyrica). The music is lyrical and if you are into rock/metal of the lighter side then give this album a try. I am an ardent Demon fan and have bought every album they have released, this is my personal favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Proper music, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a soft spot for this album as I heard it when it came out. A friend already had Night Of The Demon and i thought this was the next step up.
Not for everyone - this band seem to have a Marmite effect on people a bit like Nazareth or Krokus.
Dave Hill has a unique voice and together with the very special Mal Spooner on guitars this creates a band feel genuine like no other.
For me, this; Night of the Demon and the Plague are some of the best Heavy Metal albums ever written.
A very under-rated band and I would highly recommend giving this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars demon rocks, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Unexpected Guest: Remastered (Audio CD)
this takes me back, demons second offering, boy it's still brilliant today, catchy as hell, one of the best, if not the best NWOBHM lp.
just makes me wonder why this band never blow the roof off the scene, they didn't, but this is a classic, metal fan or not, a semi fogotten gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supreme album, 11 May 2012
By 
Mrs. G. Deegan-hall "Kevin Deegan-Hall" (Kidsgrove staffordshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unexpected Guest: Remastered (Audio CD)
What can I say other than WOW what an awsum album 80's rock at its best. Don't break the circle is the most requested Demon track by Demon fans and was a big rock chart hit for this most underrated band highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Has It Stood The Test Of Time ???, 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unexpected Guest: Remastered (Audio CD)
I've been listening to this album since it's release date and I can honestly say I never get tired of it. I have at last just got myself the cd version and wow I wasn't disapointed.
I mention the word 'disappointed' because more often than not I buy a 'Remastered' copy of an album to find that some idiot that has obviously never even heard the original finished masterpiece, so has p****d and fa*t*d about with volumes and levels till it ends up how they want to hear it ..... and not how it was. So well done Mr Remasterer you done good, have a gold star :-)
So in answer to the question 'Has It Stood The Test Of Time ???
You bet your soul on it ;-)
Quinny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unexpected Guest: Remastered
The Unexpected Guest: Remastered by Demon (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews