Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old favourites
3 CD's of all the old favourites. Jean Sablon/Maurice Chevalier/Edith Piaf/Charles Trenet/Tino Rossi.
Original recordings are well done.La Mer/J'attendrai/ Boum etc.
I think the best could have been put on just 2 C D's.though.
Published on 5 Dec. 2010 by Tricia

versus
2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too old
I was very disappointed in this CD as all the songs and singers were from around the 2nd world war era had I been able you to look at which singers and songs were on the CD before buying I wouldn't have made that mistake. I felt I was a little duped, the CD cost less than the postage so I shall just take it down the charity shop, and maybe there is some old soul that...
Published on 9 Aug. 2010 by Littlegadd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old favourites, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
Tricia (Essex England) - See all my reviews
3 CD's of all the old favourites. Jean Sablon/Maurice Chevalier/Edith Piaf/Charles Trenet/Tino Rossi.
Original recordings are well done.La Mer/J'attendrai/ Boum etc.
I think the best could have been put on just 2 C D's.though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value nostalgia from France, 17 Feb. 2011
This collection of popular French songs are beautifully nostalgic, romantic and remind me of very happy schooldays learning French which became my preferred subject at University.
But these songs are so accessable to all, delightfully French, conjuring up the atmosphere of bars, cafes and romance. Lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars La musique nostalgique et romantique, 13 April 2011
As can be seen from the track listings, the CDs contain a collection of songs from the best chansonniers France has ever had. All 3 CDs are great and the original "old" sound recording adds even better atmosphere. A brilliant evocation of Paris!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pull up a croissant, 22 July 2007
By 
LT Randall-Kattner (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: France - Cafe De Paris (Audio CD)
Kicking off with La Mer by Charles Trenet, a song that everyone should have heard of it has been covered that many times, Cafe de Paris gives you three hours of cafe culture from Paris in the thirties and forties. Unless you speak fluent French this is not an album that you can just sit and listen or sing along with but on a warm summer evening whilst sharing a meal with that special someone who appreciates real culture then this music really sets the ambiance for a romantic evening though, no disrespect to the woman, Edith Piaf warbling away did sound a bit like Harry Secombe doing a Ned Seagoon impression at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warning! I ended-up having to leave the country., 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A marvellous compendium of classic French recordings. I admit to being obsessed with France, its' culture and its' history. This set has been "played to death" since it arrived. I challenge any lover of France and French life to listen to this in the garden on a warm summer evening with some wine and cheese, and for them to not be mentally transported to a culture and way of life so different to the UK.
Be warned: I have now ended-up buying a house in rural France and depart soon! Was this CD set the final straw?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of good songs, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my dad's birthday and he seems to enjoy listening to it very much. Fairly quick delivery and product as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect would recommend this product just as described and a high quality, great price for the quality. would order again when needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super authentic sounds, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my dad - he loves the old songs with the original sound quality. A great CD which comes in a smart presentation tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just fabulous!, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love French music and was delighted when I came across these CDs on Amazon. I was not disappointed! The music is lovely and reminds me very much of holidays in France. It's lovely to just have on in the background when having friends and family in for a meal. I am absolutely delighted and so glad that I bought the pack. Excellent value! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good collection of songs, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this collection of French songs for my husband's birthday. Three CDs in a nice collectable tin with French cafe motive. The songs included some very well known ones by artists like Edit Piaf and Jacques Trenet.
Highly recommended to anyone who loves France and French culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

France - Cafe De Paris
France - Cafe De Paris by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews