Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...I Can't Get Along With Society..." - Survival by GRAND FUNK RAILROAD (2002 Capitol Expanded CD Remaster)
With three studio efforts - "On Time" and "Grand Funk" in 1969, "Closer To Home" and the double "Live Album" (both in 1970) under their Capitol Records belt - GRAND FUNK RAILROAD finally delivered what most feel was their best 'studio' album ever - "Survival" (credited simply as GRAND FUNK). It comes complete with the band literally looking like society outcasts and...
Published 5 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars End of the line??
Its hard to think back to when this came out, I do remember it sold absolutly millions in the US. My biggest complaint is the sound of the drums, the remasterd CD booklet says, Don Brewer the drummer wanted a kinda 60`s studio sound which meant covering the kit with towels , and even today it bugs me .the snare and tom tom`s sound like a kids crimbo kit! The 1st two...
Published on 16 Nov. 2006 by G. G. Saunders


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...I Can't Get Along With Society..." - Survival by GRAND FUNK RAILROAD (2002 Capitol Expanded CD Remaster), 7 Dec. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survival + 5 (Audio CD)
With three studio efforts - "On Time" and "Grand Funk" in 1969, "Closer To Home" and the double "Live Album" (both in 1970) under their Capitol Records belt - GRAND FUNK RAILROAD finally delivered what most feel was their best 'studio' album ever - "Survival" (credited simply as GRAND FUNK). It comes complete with the band literally looking like society outcasts and not-to-be-messed-with Neanderthals on the front cover. And with 5 cracking bonus tracks actually worthy of inclusion - this cheap-as-chips CD remaster is a fantastic way into this most American of Rock bands. Here are the cave men details...

Released November 2002 - "Survival" CD is on Capitol 5417252 (Barcode 724354172526) and breaks down as follows (73:14 minutes):

1. Country Road
2. All You've Got Is Money
3. Comfort Me
4. Feelin' Alright
5. I Want Freedom [Side 2]
6. I Can Feel Him In The Morning
7. Gimme Shelter
Tracks 1 to 7 are their 5th album "Survival" - released April 1971 in the USA on Capitol SW 764 and June 1971 in the UK on Capitol E-SW 764
BONUS TRACKS (all Previously Unreleased):
8. I Can't Get Along With Society (2002 Remix)
9. Jam (Footstompin' Music)
10. Country Road (Unedited Original Version)
11. All You've Got Is Money (Unedited Original Version)
12. Feelin' Alright (Unedited Original Version)

The CD remaster on all of their early albums was always going to be tricky - notoriously recorded with no sense of audiophile - but every sense of 'how it feels'. This is down 'n' dirty American Rock with hiss levels that takes no prisoners. EVREN GOKNAR has 24-bit remastered from original tapes and while the hiss is still there - he's given more muscle to the overall sound. These tracks come at you with renewed power - not dampened down - but allowed to breath. The all-over-the-place vocals are there - as are the guitar/drum combos - and keyboard interludes - but with more punch. It's well done.

"All You've Got Is Money" sounds like Ten Years After unleashed and wild. Once again it's rough and raw production is the song's making - this is gritty unapologetic American Rock and is very much the better for it. The remaster lifts up the great duet vocals between Farner and Brewer on the near seven-minute "Comfort" (even if it is hissy) - an unusually `soft and melodic' song in many ways for GFR and one of Side One's highlights. We hit the album's first single - their cover of Traffic's "Feelin' Alright" (Capitol Records 3095 in April 1971 - reached No. 54). Written by Dave Mason - its staggering Soulful-Rock crossover potential was spotted almost instantly and covered by a slew of huge artists in a very short period of time - Joe Cocker, David Ruffin, Lulu, Rare Earth, Three Dog Night, The Chairmen Of The Board and even Jazzers Hubert Laws and Wade Marcus all had a go. Grand Funk start the song out slow but build into that fantastic groove with Don Brewer's drums shining throughout.

The near two-minutes of in-studio pissing about at the beginning of the Side 2 opener "I Want Freedom" sounded cool back in the day but irritates now. Better is when the actual song kicks in with Farner's keyboards to the fore and that cross-speaker drum thing at the end sounding just great. "If you're bad...you'll die when you die..." echoes after children explain God and what it means to be `good' at the beginning of "I Can Feel Him In The Morning". It's a fabulously over-the-top track but next to their wild finisher - one of my favourites. Speaking of which - their fuzzy-up manic guitar version of the Stones' "Gimme Shelter" is Grand Funk Railroad" in full sway - boogieing like mad men - to hell with the critics - damn the musical torpedoes.

But what puts this CD into special is the quality of the Bonus Material. "I'll tell you mister you'd better watch your mouth or you'll get busted by the police..." Farner sings on the Alternate Mix of the `censorship' song "I Can't get Along With Society" which features a more prevalent upfront guitar. "Jam (Footstompin' Music)" is an early version (they re-recorded it for the "E Pluribus Funk" album in late 1971) and it's a five-minute fast boogie with a driving Bass line. But the real prizes for fans are three-in-a-row newly reassembled 2002 mixes. First up is "Country Road" which restores the 2nd verse, middle eight and a Guitar solo edited out of the released version (now runs to 7:38 minutes). "All You've Got Is Money restores a Guitar solo, harmonica parts and several extra verses pushing the tune to nearly eight and half minutes. The "Feelin' Alright" extended versions restores the third verse and features an Alternate Vocal on the first verse (it now stretches to just under six minutes).

Derided by critics and beloved by fans in equal measure - Grand Funk Railroad were huge back in the day - and on the evidence of this cool reissue - it's easy to hear why...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At their peak?, 22 May 2012
By 
I. Stuart "CambsMusicLover" (Cambridge,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Survival + 5 (Audio CD)
I first bought this album on vinyl the week it came out , and was immediately impressed by the more sophisticated approach to studio recording that it demonstrated , building on the progess made with the previous studio LP 'Closer to home'. While still rocking hard on occasion , overall this is a more melodic album , with accoustic guitars and vocal harmonies in evidence. The songs are also more polished than previous efforts and have stood the test of time - listening to the album recently I was surprised how well it has dated.
The bonus tracks are also well worth having.

If you want to go beyond the 'Greatest Hits' and Live packages , this album would be a very good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of Grand Funk, 26 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Survival + 5 (Audio CD)
This record is probably the best Grand Funk album I've ever heard (with the live "Caught in the Act") : it seems that in 1971 Gfr was experimenting new sounds in studio ; in the discography of GRF, no other album has this quality of sound and this kind of ambiant.
When you hear "All You've Got Is Money" it's like a travel in the prehistoric period ; " I Want freedom" or "I Can Feel Him in the Morning" are unforgetable too. And the song "Gimme Shelter" is a 100% better than the original sung by the Stones. Perfect !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Grand Funk !, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survival + 5 (Audio CD)
I choose this rating as i am a massive grand funk fan and was pleased to hear the album remastered and with 5 bonus tracks also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars End of the line??, 16 Nov. 2006
By 
G. G. Saunders "Rock Dr." (West Sussex .UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Survival + 5 (Audio CD)
Its hard to think back to when this came out, I do remember it sold absolutly millions in the US. My biggest complaint is the sound of the drums, the remasterd CD booklet says, Don Brewer the drummer wanted a kinda 60`s studio sound which meant covering the kit with towels , and even today it bugs me .the snare and tom tom`s sound like a kids crimbo kit! The 1st two toons on this are the best, even better are the studio out takes of the same two! there is a trio of gospel type backing singers on at least three songs which can get too much ,and Mark Farner guitar/vocals/writer just seems to run out of ideas!even covering Jagger/Richards,Gimme shelter doesnt lift this too high.....But to think the next album was Magnificent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Survival + 5
Survival + 5 by Grand Funk Railroad (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews