Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ages of Lulu
This is a film about a woman's sexual coming of age and taking her all the way down the path of near self-destruction. Made by a well-known Spanish director, this film is soft porn art at its best whilst at the same time being a quality drama. It is beautifully filmed with very good acting. Not for lovers of the missionary position, it explores different ways of sexual...
Published on 27 Jan 2003 by Lilly

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impressively graphic, yet oddly empty
I always measure a character study by how well we've come to know the characters by the end of the film. In Shame, for example, I genuinely felt that I knew Fassbender's Brandon as a person, such was the craft of the acting and film-making; we peered into his very soul. In Cashback, we felt we knew Biggerstaff's Ben, because that film took the time to establish him...
Published 17 months ago by DeclanCochran


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Impressively graphic, yet oddly empty, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
I always measure a character study by how well we've come to know the characters by the end of the film. In Shame, for example, I genuinely felt that I knew Fassbender's Brandon as a person, such was the craft of the acting and film-making; we peered into his very soul. In Cashback, we felt we knew Biggerstaff's Ben, because that film took the time to establish him properly. Those two very different films used two radically different techniques to fulfil the same role; make a character, make us know the character, make us seem real.

This film, however, seemed slightly empty to me; we never knew really "know" Lulu as the curtain shuts. We follow her from a 15 year old girl seduced by a much older man, to a mid-30 year old embarking on a sexual conquest of homosexual activity and S+M hi-jinks, but by the end, I didn't really know why she did what she did. She was never explored fully, and this was the big weakness of the film; as a central character, she never seemed like a character.

This is the films biggest weakness. There were strengths; the film was merciless in its slaying of taboos (paedophilia, incest, bondage, fisting), and yet it never felt that they were being put in their for the sake of it, and the screenplay provided context and justification for them. The acting was quite good; even if we are never allowed to see who she is, Francesca Neri put in a brave, committed and commendable performance as Lulu. Oscar Ladoire is also effective as the main love interest of Lulu, Pablo. It was competently made, drawing a perfect balance between arty and not overly showy, making it quite pretty to look at.

It also included a frankly unforgettable scene involving a threesome with Lulu, Pablo, and a transvestite which will not easily be forgotten once you've seen it.

As you can probably tell, prude people prone to blushing, or anyone with moderate sensibilities, need not apply.

All in all, it was a fairly good, incredulously graphic, shockingly rude film that is hampered by the fact that Lulu, as a character, never feels real. If she were given room to breath, I have no doubt that this film would have been some kind of odd masterpiece, instead of just a sex-fuelled oddity. Half recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ages of Lulu, 27 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a film about a woman's sexual coming of age and taking her all the way down the path of near self-destruction. Made by a well-known Spanish director, this film is soft porn art at its best whilst at the same time being a quality drama. It is beautifully filmed with very good acting. Not for lovers of the missionary position, it explores different ways of sexual expression which some may consider abnormal, tasteless or revolting. Definitely not a film for the narrow-minded or prude viewer. All others will thoroughly enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good voyeur fun, 14 Nov 2006
By 
Sadler's Wells (Leeds. Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
I like to think I watch movies on the lowest level possible.

I am not gay neither am I homophobic, so the homoerotic scene, which was erotically supercharged, was great fun.

The later scenes have been described previously as wanting to make you puke. I didn't understand them at all. There was no detail in the film, so you would have to watch it with an S and M friend for an explanation.

Loved the incest. Very well done. A great moment in the film.

I imagine the film has a deep meaning for intelligent people. For myself I could not get beyond the intoxicating sexiness of the leading lady.

The only advice I can offer is don't watch it with your grandmother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 5 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
When I rented this film out I was expecting a semi erotic typical European film with an interesting morale, instead I found an excuse for the director to be pornographic and perverse in a sense that will put horrid images into your mind and off sexual fantasies for a long while. Especially a scene with the transvestite masturbating him/herself displays probably the most ugly manhood I have ever come across. A truly disturbing image as well as the ending which makes you want to vomit. The film could have been written with a lot more humanity and warmth and psychology between the main characters of Lulu and Pablo whose marriage we explore sexually - nothing else is really portrayed, we see them have a daughter but she only appears in the film twice as an infant and a young girl, then she seems to just dissapear. The film brings up a lot of interesting subplots and questions, incest, confused gener issues, domination etc but never follows up on anything in any way constructive. I left watching the film with a bad taste in my mouth and with these gruesome images of cruel and disturbed acts ruining my day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typically European, 13 May 2010
By 
J. Gould "cinema lover" (Downham Market, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
I debated some time before deciding to purchase this DVD. Friends of mine had recommended it to as a devotee of French Cinema even if any recommendation is not French. What I enjoyed was the attitude to human relationships depicted in this film. The differences between American, British and continental film making is so marked. Subtlety is the word I use when watching this gendre of film. LuLu explores her sexual persona in a variety of ways from first fumblings to exotic variations. Between all the events, she marries and has a child which on the surface fails to bring any permanent contentment. She tries to fill the void with sexual encounters but at the end realises that physical excess is not the answer however enjoyable. It is a theme explored by many film makers but the Europeans generally seem to corner the market in eroticism. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing!, 20 Jun 2008
By 
Schnutep (Bremen, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
sorry for mistakes, I'm no native speaker...
"Lulu" from Almudena Grandes is one of the best erotic novels with a sadomasochistic topic. You find detailed, empathic, erotic and sensibly written moments of love and/or destruction. The film nevertheless is boring, superficial, sometimes tries to provocate, sometimes it works, maybe. It is not a NICE story, but it is quite a INTENSIVE story, but the film only floats along with no psychologic work. Depressing. Read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It made me wanna shout, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Keith (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on recommendation of Amazon.

The story is about a girl called Lulu, there was me thinking it was a history of the annoying shouty scouse singer and I was disapointed when i started to watch it.

Lulu when a teenager with a dubious dress sense meets her brothers best friend Pablo, a real loathesome man who everytime he appeared on screen, i wanted to reach out and punch him. Pablo is a bit of a sleaze and seduces Lulu and then proecceds to subject her to some 'adventures' including being tricked into sleeping with her brother. The only interesting things about Pablo is that he never seems to age as Lulu gets older and he always seems to wear the same black clothes.

Lulu then goes off the rails of some sort and ends up meeting that floppy haired bloke from No Country for Old men (he must cringe when asked about appearing in this rubbish). Pablo then confirms my suspscions that he is indeed a loser by allowing a transvestite to sort out his problems for him but becomes the hero when he barges past a Policeman at the end of the film when Lulu is released from her 'hell'

What a load of rubbish and thank god for fast forward :o
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
This was a perfect gift for a friend who loves the collection and is extremely happy with the film. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Conserve electricity, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Norman E. Bryant "NEB" (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
It's a shame they could not afford the money to pay for lighting, a lot of scenes are so dark that one has to imagine what is happening, it's far from a good film so would not recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting film, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
I did not find this film to be very erotic, but it does tell a fairly accurate story of how young people cope with their sexuality as they grow up, and how they cope with marriage problems. Overall I liked the film. Some of the sex scenes are poorly shot, but the film is more than 20 years old and cameras, techniques etc have improved immensely during that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD]
The Ages Of Lulu [1990] [DVD] by Bigas Luna (DVD - 2002)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews