Customer Reviews


274 Reviews
5 star:
 (216)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See it, see it, see it!!
~"The Grinch that stole christmas" was one of my favourite childhood books, and for that reason I was dubious about this movie. I'm a big Jim Carrey fan and all, but I didn't think a film would capture the essence of the story (The essential Grinch-ness?) or would maybe be to saccharine.
I shouldn't have worried.
The jokes hit the spot every time. There is a bit...
Published on 27 Dec. 2003 by Cat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good xmas movie
Purchased the Grinch as may daughter is playing the role in her drama school christmas play, hadn't seen it before but we all throughly enjoyed the movie
Published on 13 Dec. 2010 by cara


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See it, see it, see it!!, 27 Dec. 2003
This review is from: The Grinch [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
~"The Grinch that stole christmas" was one of my favourite childhood books, and for that reason I was dubious about this movie. I'm a big Jim Carrey fan and all, but I didn't think a film would capture the essence of the story (The essential Grinch-ness?) or would maybe be to saccharine.
I shouldn't have worried.
The jokes hit the spot every time. There is a bit of adult humour, sure, there is also quite a bit of toilet humour but it works. Believe me, I know. I've watched it at least twice~~ a week since I got it four months ago. There is nothing too disgusting and there are some on the floor laugh-out-loud moments. Carrey is fantastic as the Grinch, turning in an affecting performance and making the watcher care about the character who is, in effect, the bad guy.
Taylor Momsen as Cindy is easily the best choice for this role. Maybe not exactly the Cindy Lou of the book, but she makes the part her own.
The rest of the cast bring substance to the characters the play, even~~ though~~ they don't really have a lot of screen time. The eccentric Seuss-ian world is brought to life in a mix of colour, noise (NOISE, NOISE, NOISE, NOISE!), and classic performances.
If you like Carrey, you'll love this. If you don't, give it a try.
Who knows? This film could change your entire outlook.~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great christmas film, generally very entertaining, 7 Dec. 2002
This review is from: The Grinch [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The role of the grinch, a little crazy, a little creepy even a little schitzophrenic definately suits carrey. You plainly know its carrey because of the way he acts, he does a great job. The sets and the computer graphics meld together perfectly and look gorgeous, creating a sort of cartoon-esque look for the film.
So....why not five stars? It takes a lot for me to deem 5 stars really, the only thing I didn't like was that it felt a little long , even if it was entertaining to the end. Maybe I was just expecting the end to come earlier and should watch it again.
One last thing, it is funny, one scene that made me laugh quite a lot was when Jim Carrey sucked the cat up his presents vaccuum, but I wont give too much away, Jim definately is stealing the show here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YAY!!, 28 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Grinch [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
i LURVE this film!!!!! i recommend it for anyone of all ages, jim carey stars as the onion eating grinch, who resides upon mount crumpet, who's contempt for the happy-go-lucky people of who-ville has made his heart 2 sizes too small, When he decides to sabotage christmas for all the residents of whoville he comes upon little cindy-lou who, who teaches him the value of christmas and family gatherings etc.As the story unravells you find out why his heart is undersized, and why he shuts himself off from the in whoville. Anthony hopkins narrates. An all round feel good comedy, suitable for all ages:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grinch >:D, 28 Nov. 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Grinch [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Although I am ten years old I still LOVE this film and have done since I were very little. I still laugh at the silly and humorous things he gets up to! Great for ALL the family. Such a legendary DVD. Go on, buy it, have a laugh and watch it time and time and time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jim Carrey at his Over The Top best, 12 Jan. 2006
This review is from: The Grinch [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is one of those films that divides opinions. For some it's rubbish, for others it's a masterpiece. I veer towards the latter viewpoint - but with a few reservations.
First, this is a Ron Howard film and as such, has to be accepted as a film with a great sense of identity and even better storytelling. Jim Carrey was made for this part and his performance as the gruesome Grinch is extraordinary - full of caperings, facial contortions and madcap explosions of gutteral grunts and cackles. However - even he is very nearly acted off the screen by 'Max' his dog, played by 'Kelley' who quite rightly gets third billing when the credits roll.
The story is well known and I see no sense in providing yet another precis, save to say that the only really gross part is when the Whos of Whoville virtually force-feed the Grinch with food during part of their celebration. This is just a bit too much and is way more repulsive than the pile of garbage that makes up most of the Grinch's lair. This particular scene may just make the film a bit unacceptable for very young children.
A lot of praise also has to go to Anthony Hopkins who's interspersed readings of Dr Seuss's text is so well done and so central to the storytelling.
And when it comes to defining 'cuteness', Taylor Momsett as 'Cindy Lou Who' is absolutely perfect. She not only looks the part but is also one heck of a good actress. She plays the central character of the little girl who wants to trust the Grinch with absolute conviction - and without all the overblown sweetness that so often characterises childrens' parts in so many American films. Her song is perhaps the film's one lapse into maukishness, but this can be forgiven.
Accept this film as a fairytale fantasy which tells a story that is really a fantastical re-interpretation of Dickens' 'Christmas Carol' --- not in terms of ghosts, but in terms of a character who hates himself and Christmas and then learns not only what Christmas really should mean, but that he has both a heart and the ability to love others.
Oh - and be sure to watch the extra features which explain how the make-up was achieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Puttin' on the Seuss, 13 Dec. 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Grinch [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Many kids

Enjoy Christmas

They like it a lot

And this film

Is about the Grinch

Who did not

The film gives the background, and fills in some blanks

The Grinch as a child was subjected to pranks

He fancied a Who, with the name Martha May

He tried to impress her and to his dismay

They laughed at his efforts, his gift and his face

So he destroyed the classroom and fled from that place

Then,

He moved to Mount Crumpet

And made him a home

While the green hairy creature seethed under the dome

Until one cold day at the town Christmas party

When young Cindy Lou showed him how to be hearty

Then Mayor May-Who went and spoiled all the fun

By taunting the Grinch 'til he came all undone

He went up his mountain, and he started scheming

And when he was through he was smiling and beaming

He'd ruin their Christmas; he knew what to do

Revenge is the sweetest when it's overdue

If you've read the story you know how it ends

How the Grinch stole that Christmas from his former friends

So what happened next?

I won't give it away

This Christmas this movie will show every day

So if you're a Grinch you can run, but not hide

As you try to stifle the feeling inside

Just gather the kids for a clean yuletide treat

Merry Christmas to all!

(Now this poem's complete)

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This 7-Up Cake is delicious and the pineapple topping just makes it even better! You could use any frosting you like on this ca, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grinch [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This 7-Up Cake is delicious and the pineapple topping just makes it even better! You could use any frosting you like on this cake but my family enjoys the pineapple along with the lemon flavor.
1 lemon cake mix (I used Duncan Hines 16.5 ounce Lemon Supreme Signature Cake Mix)
1 (3.4 ounce) Jello Instant Lemon Pudding
4 eggs
1 1/4 cups 7-up or any lemon lime drink
3/4 cup vegetable oil
Combine all ingredients and mix well with mixer. Spray 2 (8 inch) cake pans and divide batter. Bake in preheated 325 degree oven for 35-40 minutes testing for doneness as ovens vary. Let cool and frost with your favorite frosting or the pineapple filling recipe below. Enjoy!
Pineapple Filling for 7-Up Cake
1 (20 ounce) can crushed pineapple, undrained
1 stick butter or margarine or 8 tablespoons or 1/2 cup
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups coconut
Mix pineapple, butter, sugar, eggs and flour together. Cook on medium heat until thickens. (I bring this to a low boil, turn down and cook about five minutes stirring often). Remove and add coconut. Let cool and spread between cooled cake layers and on top of cake.
Note: This cake should be refrigerated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me all toasty inside!, 13 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Grinch [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Since purchasing this DVD my girlfriend has watched it at least once a day for the past two weeks. I am not a massive fan of Jim Carrey but this was the perfect role for him. You'll find yourself quietly chuckling to yourself throughout and more disturbingly coming out with Grinch-like expressions in real life!
When you then find that your talking in rhyme you begin to realise that you can't help but like this this film, even in spite of yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly Amazing, 27 Dec. 2008
This review is from: The Grinch [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
My mum bought this for my 3 year old sister for Christmas and as a result I was forced to watch this with the family. It had little appeal to me and, even as a Jim Carrey fan, I was not looking forward to it. But wow, was I wrong.

Never judge a book (or DVD) by its cover. The storyline was solid and will leave a smile on your face and as for the script and the acting of Jim Carrey, both are first class. I was literally in pain from laughing so much and was surprised how witty the jokes were for a children's film. I recommend this to parents as a gift for their children of all ages and anyone who is a fan of comedy. Give it a chance and you will be surprisingly amazed at how much you enjoy this film.

Jim Carrey in his element, a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars christmas cracker, 7 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Grinch [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
i asked my girlfriend for a present that would make me laugh,what she got me was the grinch on dvd,i had never watch this film but i had heard of it,well we sat and watch it,and then watch it again,i love this movie so much that i dont wait till christmas to watch it,buy it,watch it with the family,its a cracker,but most of all its a christmas cracker!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Grinch [VHS]
The Grinch [VHS] by Ron Howard (VHS Tape - 2002)
£12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews