Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not to bad, Hey, it's the eighth movie!!
Could be worse. It was entertaining and I found it enjoyable. The title sounds intriging and I love the tagline for this film, "New York Has A New Problem". Rennie is a cool character and the climax is fun. Many people might see this film because of this reveiw and say I must have been drunk when I was writing it, but I really did enjoy this film. Though, 'Part...
Published on 26 Nov. 2000 by Shelley Wake

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The one where Jason doesn’t really ‘take’ Manhattan at all
‘Part 8’ of the infamous horror franchise wasn’t a success. No surprise really as it’s a classic case of a film with a completely misleading title. Having the undead masked serial killer, Jason Voorhees, slashing his way through New York sounds like a good idea for a film, right? Yes, you’re right. However, the ‘money men’...
Published 16 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not to bad, Hey, it's the eighth movie!!, 26 Nov. 2000
By 
Shelley Wake "Movies rule" (Perth, Western Austrlia Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Could be worse. It was entertaining and I found it enjoyable. The title sounds intriging and I love the tagline for this film, "New York Has A New Problem". Rennie is a cool character and the climax is fun. Many people might see this film because of this reveiw and say I must have been drunk when I was writing it, but I really did enjoy this film. Though, 'Part 7: The New Blood' is so much better than this one. Many consider The New Blood to be best in the series. Still 'Part 8: Jason Takes Manhattan' is better than the first and perhaphs fifth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The one where Jason doesn’t really ‘take’ Manhattan at all, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
‘Part 8’ of the infamous horror franchise wasn’t a success. No surprise really as it’s a classic case of a film with a completely misleading title. Having the undead masked serial killer, Jason Voorhees, slashing his way through New York sounds like a good idea for a film, right? Yes, you’re right. However, the ‘money men’ behind the film didn’t agree.

For budgetary reasons they couldn’t afford to shoot in the Big Apple until the final twenty minutes, leaving pretty much the whole film set on a boat heading to the city in question. Here we have the typical ‘slasher’ film, only on a boat instead of the traditional camp in the woods.

So, fans were more than a little annoyed at the misleading nature of the film. Also – for no reason at all – Jason can now ‘teleport.’ One minute he’s a hundred yards behind you, then next he’s standing in front of you. Yes, he’s a supernatural being, but no explanation is given for this new talent. Plus it does tend to spoil the ‘chase’ between killer and victim when no matter where and how fast you run, he just appears in front of you every time.

So, Part 8 is a bit of a let-down in general. Yes, there are a few nice touches here and there and if you’re a die hard fan of the series you’ll probably appreciate it. However, although it’s definitely watchable (if you’re into this sort of film) it’s not one of the better films in the franchise. Even the writer agrees that not enough time is spent in Manhattan and agrees with fans. Apparently, it was all down to the film’s producers that they weren’t allowed to spend enough time there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Far and away the worst film in the series, 8 Nov. 2008
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
Jason's my main man, and you know that - but Friday the 13th Part VIII - Jason Takes Manhattan is absolutely horrible in just about every way imaginable. It is far and away the worst film in the entire series. I simply have nothing good to say about this film. The only way I can even stomach its existence is to theorize that Freddy vs Jason [2003] might never have been made were it not for this cinematic atrocity. In other words, had this film not been such a flop at the box office (earning little more than fourteen million dollars), Paramount might never have sold the franchise to New Line Cinema, and I don't think we would ever have seen a battle royale between Jason and Freddy had the two slasher icons not been brought together under the same network.

Warning: beware of plot holes and inconsistencies of gigantic proportions. I won't even bother to tell you how Jason gets resurrected from the bottom of Crystal Lake yet again because it is extremely hokey. Suffice it to say that Jason's back, and this time he makes his way onboard a ship full of graduating seniors headed for a visit to New York City. As luck would have it, Rennie Wickham (Jensen Daggett) defies her uncle's wishes and decides to come along - despite her intense fear of water (which may or may not have something to do with Jason). Her uncle (Charles McCulloch) is one of the school's teachers and the man in charge of the big trip to the Big Apple - and he is an insufferable, stuck-up bore with some serious control issues when it comes to his guardianship of Rennie, whom he took in to his home after her parents were killed in a car wreck some years earlier. Guess what happens? Jason gets to work killing everyone on board the ship, and then he goes after the small band of survivors who manage to find a dock and escape into and under the mean streets of the Big Apple.

Even Kane Hodder was unable to show the least bit of inspiration or excitement in his work as Jason this time around. The whole film is just surreal, partly because it takes Jason out of his natural element, but mostly because the script is awful, the cinematography is awful, the acting is awful, and the ending is just ridiculously lame. I don't know what writer/director Rob Hedden had going through his head during filming. You have a dog that disappears and then reappears with no explanation, Rennie periodically sees vision of a young Jason trying to reach out for her, pointing to a past connection that would never fit into any possible Friday the 13th timeline, and the ending is just plain stupid. Then there's the soundtrack featuring some of the worst music I've ever heard in my life. Between that and the female actresses' hairstyles, I just have to hope and pray that young people today and in the future don't pick up this film and start to think it represents even the first thing about life in the glorious 1980s - or the otherwise sound Friday the 13th series as a whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 5 Sept. 2014
This is a great entry to Friday the 13th and probably my number two or 3 favorite . Tamara is a complete Betty -the bio project chick and renae is awesome .I loved the boxing scene between jason and Julies , and the HS teacher is funny !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Normal service is resumed, 3 Jun. 2009
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
As the 80s came to an end, Jason Vorhees continued to wreak bloody mayhem; this time the director wastes no time with preamble, and the laughable ruse of a boat (inhabited by two amourous teens of course) weighing anchor, and the anchor rupturing a power cable that resuscitates the dormant horror that is Jason, is used to bring him back once more.
For some reason, Jason's first victim always has a hockey mask handily lying around, and of course the monster soon claims it in order for that iconic look to be reinstated. After despatching the shagging couple; Jason stows away on a ship that is taking more big-haired teens to the Big Apple for a graduation reward; cue further nubile teenage girls getting their kits off; more obnoxious nerds; a teacher who soon loses control of his students; and a girl who is afraid of the water and keeps having visions of a young Jason drowning in Crystal Lake and begging her for help. Naturally, the majority of the above are quickly dispatched; using various imaginative weapons from an electric guitar to a harpoon gun. Why Jason continues to hide between kills is a mystery to me; it's not like there's anyone to come to the kids' rescue!
Along with a creepy deckhand whose constant claims that "You're all gonna die!" hark back to the third instalment in the franchise; this is pretty risible stuff; once the surviving five make it to New York City on a lifeboat, Jason also appears, tracks them down and slaughters them. A spark of life comes when a gang of street punks attempt to confront Jason and he lifts up his mask, causing them to apologize and flee from the nightmarish sight; this is one of two moments of black humour in the film, that save it from being a total waste of 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who Says Jason Doesn't Get Around?, 18 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
While this one may not be the best in the series (or the most popular), I found "Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan" to be a very entertaining and enjoyable Jason flick. It gets the job done, and then some. The movie delivers everything we'd expect to see in a Jason movie; a gruesome body-count, cool and unusual ways of dying, and only having one or two survivors at the end of the ordeal. Plus, the movie has a cool and different setting that gives Jason some new tricks up his sleeves.
Jason was thrown back into the lake and chained by the end of Part 7. However, his body has been disturbed once again and causes him to rise up from the lake and start his killing spree all over again. This time, things are a bit different as he sneaks onto a cruise boat full of students on their way to a field trip. Even though it is not his usual territory, Jason proves to be a unmerciful killer wherever he is. And the last 20 minutes or so Jason is in New York; a whole new playground for him to spread his terror and bloodshed.
I thought this was a pretty neat movie. They went for something different and it worked (unlike "Jason Goes to Hell"). While it offers a different setting, it's still the good old Jason formula we've all come to love. I wished that Jason could've been in New York more, though. It would've been cool to see him get a chance to increase the body-count rather than just go after the ones who got off the boat (I know, he mainly only goes after those who return to Crystal Lake, but you have to admit it's a cool idea. I mean, he's there already. Why not give him a chance to take out more people?). Besides that little complaint, I thought it was a cool Jason flick.
The DVD is pretty poor. The picture and sound quality is good, considering how long ago this movie was made. Other than subtitles there are no special features whatsoever. No trailers, no nothing. It's a shame. You'd think that Paramount would've put more effort into these DVDs as these are cult-classic movies.
All in all, I found that "Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan" to be a successful addition to the Jason series. While it's not the best one in the series, it is still very entertaining and gets the job done. A very neat effort to make the Jason story a little more different and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jason's 8th, 27 Oct. 2003
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Friday the 13th part 7 really dissapointed me so I wasn't looking forward to the 8th film, But I was wrong the 8th film was truly outstanding.I liked it because all the cool stuff happens in New York and its nice to get away from the camp for a little while.I also like the film cause its the longest one and it is set in 3 different places it starts in Camp Crystal lake then Jason sets sail on a ship then stops at New York.The First 15 or 20 minutes might get you bored but the rest of the film is enjoyable.I have rated this film 4 stars cause it does have a few ridiculous scenes including the part where the boxing feller punches Jason about 5o times and gets tired and tells Jason to take his best shot and Jason punches his head clean off and it lands in a dumpster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars JASON TAKES MANHATTAN, THE FANS TAKE A NAP!, 16 Dec. 2007
By 
The usual thing happens, resurrection then the killing spree it oddly enough never gets dull mostly because the victims are usually so dumb they deserve what is coming, in fact we love Jason enough to cheer him on. This sequel doenst do much though they are cool bits in it and I wont say what bits. JAson only spends the last twenty or so minutes in Manhattan and has also descovered the ability to teleport! odd? yes it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not such a bad film, no really, 8 Aug. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
o.k the title ''Jason takes manhattan'' is VERY misleading, but the film ain't so bad and there is a good part where a man tries to knock jason down by punching him,(on top of a roof in manhattan) and of course fails. he gets about 10 punches in stumbels to the ground and then jason holds him up and gives him one punch and his head comes flying off (in true 80's style). Apart from that a rather dissapointing film. worth watching though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jason Takes Manhatten..... yeah right., 5 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
When I got this film I thought that it would be Jason Vorhees ripping through the steets of New York killing Wallsreet trader in high rise buildings and slaughtering the odd cabbie. What I actually got didnt really have much to do with New York at all, the film mainly takes place on a boat full of high school (or is it college) students, Jason is awakened from the depths of the sea and he rampages through the boat killing most of the passangers and crew.
When the boat does eventually make it to New York it could be any American city, the only sign that it is in New York is a very small scene in Time Square (they probably spent all their budget getting permission to film their so lost out on th rest of the film).
This is definatly not a defining film in the slasher genre, the plot is uninspired the locations are awful and the death scenes are frankly poor. Unless your a friday the 13th completist and want the whole set I wound't bother with this film in the slightest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD]
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews