Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not to bad, Hey, it's the eighth movie!!
Could be worse. It was entertaining and I found it enjoyable. The title sounds intriging and I love the tagline for this film, "New York Has A New Problem". Rennie is a cool character and the climax is fun. Many people might see this film because of this reveiw and say I must have been drunk when I was writing it, but I really did enjoy this film. Though, 'Part...
Published on 26 Nov 2000 by Shelley Wake

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not such a bad film, no really
o.k the title ''Jason takes manhattan'' is VERY misleading, but the film ain't so bad and there is a good part where a man tries to knock jason down by punching him,(on top of a roof in manhattan) and of course fails. he gets about 10 punches in stumbels to the ground and then jason holds him up and gives him one punch and his head comes flying off (in true 80's style)...
Published on 8 Aug 2003 by brian_minty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not such a bad film, no really, 8 Aug 2003
o.k the title ''Jason takes manhattan'' is VERY misleading, but the film ain't so bad and there is a good part where a man tries to knock jason down by punching him,(on top of a roof in manhattan) and of course fails. he gets about 10 punches in stumbels to the ground and then jason holds him up and gives him one punch and his head comes flying off (in true 80's style). Apart from that a rather dissapointing film. worth watching though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not to bad, Hey, it's the eighth movie!!, 26 Nov 2000
By 
Shelley Wake "Movies rule" (Perth, Western Austrlia Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Could be worse. It was entertaining and I found it enjoyable. The title sounds intriging and I love the tagline for this film, "New York Has A New Problem". Rennie is a cool character and the climax is fun. Many people might see this film because of this reveiw and say I must have been drunk when I was writing it, but I really did enjoy this film. Though, 'Part 7: The New Blood' is so much better than this one. Many consider The New Blood to be best in the series. Still 'Part 8: Jason Takes Manhattan' is better than the first and perhaphs fifth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Friday the 13th part 8 Jason takes Manhattan, 12 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
This is not my favourite chapter ,but is definetely worth a watch.Having yet again been resurrected,part time butcher and hockey enthusiast Jason Voorhees embarks on a voyage of the damned with a love boat of ,youve guessed it mindless teens.In this chapter we find our friend Jason in totally new surroundings which i thought seem pretty good, also Jason has a new look which i feel is his best to date, however the title is a little misleading, 3 quarters of the film is spent on the boat, and maybe the last 15 minutes is on location in New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New York! Forget Litter problems-Jason's in town!, 14 Mar 2000
By A Customer
Jason is back in this eighth instalment of the F13 series-terrorizing a liner ship packed full of oversexed teens. Not paying much attention to detail - The lead character saw Jason in the lake, and she's about 20 - however, it turns out the commotions at the lake occured 30 years ago - Isn't she a little young then? - Great for fans, but not many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jason Slaughters Manhattan Sort Of!, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dvd Info.
Running time 96 minutes approx, Region 2.

Trivia.
1)Kane Hodder is the only actor to play Jason more than once.
2)The man who Jason throws in the mirror inside the diner is Ken Kizinger who doubled for Kane in a few scenes in this movie & later in 2003 went on to replace Kane Hodder as Jason in New Line's Freddy vs Jason movie, Bet Kane wishes he'd had thrown him a little harder now.
3)Film debut of Kelly Hu who went on to star in movie's, Scorpion King, X-men 2 & more recently featured in DC's tv series Arrow.
4)Final Friday the 13th movie by Paramount Pictures until the remake in 2009.

WTF?.
How did Jason get actually get to Manhattan, did he walk all the way underwater?

Synopsis.
At Camp Crystal Lake a boats Anchor hits a power cable as the power from the cable resurrects Jason Voorhees he is resurrected once again & kills the two graduates on the boat.

Rennie is boarding a ocean liner with her classmates to celebrate there graduation even going against he guardians wishes to go to Manhattan.

Jason unknowingly by the crew smuggles aboard the ocean liner that's bound for Manhattan, New York.

Jason murders the classmates on the liner one by one until only a few survivors remain with the ocean liner taking in water & sinking the 4 survivors board the lifeboats as Jason apparently dies going down with the sinking ocean liner.

All hope seems lost but eventually the survivors see through the mist the Statute Of Liberty & make way to New York.

But Jason isn't dead & he to arrives in New York intent on killing the remaining survivors & anyone else who gets in his way.

New York's got a big problem as Jason wrecks havoc across Manhattan, Can Rennie & her boyfriend Sean end Jason Voorhees murderous rampage once & for all?

Timelord Thoughts.
This is classed as a weaker entry in the franchise but I disagree entirely as this gives us a new location instead of the usual Camp Crystal Lake retreads of previous film's.

The ocean liner sequences are very well directed by Rob Hedden & very little was cut by the MPAA on this movie as this Eighth movie brings the franchise full circle & is the real finale of the Friday franchise as I wouldn't deem Jason Goes To Hell or Jason X as canon as both films are dire.

Kane Hodder again adds intimidation & menace to his portrayal of the character of Jason & delivers plenty of brutal kills & I love the scene were he terrifies the gang members by revealing his features to them & the scene he throws the diner owner into a mirror is a classic Jason moment.

The ending were Jason is melted away by toxic waste is a fitting end to the franchise although the childlike Jason at the end which is a apparition of Jason is strange as the boy looks human when Jason is actually a deformed character???, Personally I'd have faded the boy out as this would've showed Jason finally at peace & set free from his curse although that's what this ending implys.

A fitting end to the Paramount franchise of Friday the 13th movies & should've been a end to the franchise full stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Jason Takes Manhatten..... yeah right., 5 Oct 2003
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
When I got this film I thought that it would be Jason Vorhees ripping through the steets of New York killing Wallsreet trader in high rise buildings and slaughtering the odd cabbie. What I actually got didnt really have much to do with New York at all, the film mainly takes place on a boat full of high school (or is it college) students, Jason is awakened from the depths of the sea and he rampages through the boat killing most of the passangers and crew.
When the boat does eventually make it to New York it could be any American city, the only sign that it is in New York is a very small scene in Time Square (they probably spent all their budget getting permission to film their so lost out on th rest of the film).
This is definatly not a defining film in the slasher genre, the plot is uninspired the locations are awful and the death scenes are frankly poor. Unless your a friday the 13th completist and want the whole set I wound't bother with this film in the slightest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who Says Jason Doesn't Get Around?, 18 Sep 2003
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
While this one may not be the best in the series (or the most popular), I found "Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan" to be a very entertaining and enjoyable Jason flick. It gets the job done, and then some. The movie delivers everything we'd expect to see in a Jason movie; a gruesome body-count, cool and unusual ways of dying, and only having one or two survivors at the end of the ordeal. Plus, the movie has a cool and different setting that gives Jason some new tricks up his sleeves.
Jason was thrown back into the lake and chained by the end of Part 7. However, his body has been disturbed once again and causes him to rise up from the lake and start his killing spree all over again. This time, things are a bit different as he sneaks onto a cruise boat full of students on their way to a field trip. Even though it is not his usual territory, Jason proves to be a unmerciful killer wherever he is. And the last 20 minutes or so Jason is in New York; a whole new playground for him to spread his terror and bloodshed.
I thought this was a pretty neat movie. They went for something different and it worked (unlike "Jason Goes to Hell"). While it offers a different setting, it's still the good old Jason formula we've all come to love. I wished that Jason could've been in New York more, though. It would've been cool to see him get a chance to increase the body-count rather than just go after the ones who got off the boat (I know, he mainly only goes after those who return to Crystal Lake, but you have to admit it's a cool idea. I mean, he's there already. Why not give him a chance to take out more people?). Besides that little complaint, I thought it was a cool Jason flick.
The DVD is pretty poor. The picture and sound quality is good, considering how long ago this movie was made. Other than subtitles there are no special features whatsoever. No trailers, no nothing. It's a shame. You'd think that Paramount would've put more effort into these DVDs as these are cult-classic movies.
All in all, I found that "Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan" to be a successful addition to the Jason series. While it's not the best one in the series, it is still very entertaining and gets the job done. A very neat effort to make the Jason story a little more different and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jason's 8th, 27 Oct 2003
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Friday the 13th part 7 really dissapointed me so I wasn't looking forward to the 8th film, But I was wrong the 8th film was truly outstanding.I liked it because all the cool stuff happens in New York and its nice to get away from the camp for a little while.I also like the film cause its the longest one and it is set in 3 different places it starts in Camp Crystal lake then Jason sets sail on a ship then stops at New York.The First 15 or 20 minutes might get you bored but the rest of the film is enjoyable.I have rated this film 4 stars cause it does have a few ridiculous scenes including the part where the boxing feller punches Jason about 5o times and gets tired and tells Jason to take his best shot and Jason punches his head clean off and it lands in a dumpster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Normal service is resumed, 3 Jun 2009
This review is from: Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD] (DVD)
As the 80s came to an end, Jason Vorhees continued to wreak bloody mayhem; this time the director wastes no time with preamble, and the laughable ruse of a boat (inhabited by two amourous teens of course) weighing anchor, and the anchor rupturing a power cable that resuscitates the dormant horror that is Jason, is used to bring him back once more.
For some reason, Jason's first victim always has a hockey mask handily lying around, and of course the monster soon claims it in order for that iconic look to be reinstated. After despatching the shagging couple; Jason stows away on a ship that is taking more big-haired teens to the Big Apple for a graduation reward; cue further nubile teenage girls getting their kits off; more obnoxious nerds; a teacher who soon loses control of his students; and a girl who is afraid of the water and keeps having visions of a young Jason drowning in Crystal Lake and begging her for help. Naturally, the majority of the above are quickly dispatched; using various imaginative weapons from an electric guitar to a harpoon gun. Why Jason continues to hide between kills is a mystery to me; it's not like there's anyone to come to the kids' rescue!
Along with a creepy deckhand whose constant claims that "You're all gonna die!" hark back to the third instalment in the franchise; this is pretty risible stuff; once the surviving five make it to New York City on a lifeboat, Jason also appears, tracks them down and slaughters them. A spark of life comes when a gang of street punks attempt to confront Jason and he lifts up his mask, causing them to apologize and flee from the nightmarish sight; this is one of two moments of black humour in the film, that save it from being a total waste of 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Jun 2014
ok not the best but still better than most of whats out today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friday The 13th Part 8 : Jason Takes Manhattan [1989] [DVD]
Used & New from: 1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews