Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Critics are Wrong!!!
In terms of Love's history, Four Sail is routinely criticized. It seems many Love fans either like the punky sound of the first 2 albums or the more introspective "Forever Changes". In truth, this release takes up where "Forever" left off, but there are "Changes", get it? This is much more an electric guitar album, but there's still lots of great finger picked guitar...
Published on 11 Nov. 2002

versus
16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Things are never quite the same 2nd time round
By 1968 Love had given us 3 albums. One promising Byrds/Who influenced debut ( Love ), another ( Da Capo ) comprising one side of pop gems and one side 17 minute turgid chugging unlistenable jam, and then in 1967 their masterpiece ( Forever Changes ) mixing darkly apocalyptic lyrics with lush orchestration. Then it all went wrong.
Drug and money problems split the...
Published on 3 Nov. 2002 by Kevin Randall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Back to my youth, 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Sail (MP3 Download)
Love the album and have done for many years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Things are never quite the same 2nd time round, 3 Nov. 2002
By 
Kevin Randall (Ashington, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
By 1968 Love had given us 3 albums. One promising Byrds/Who influenced debut ( Love ), another ( Da Capo ) comprising one side of pop gems and one side 17 minute turgid chugging unlistenable jam, and then in 1967 their masterpiece ( Forever Changes ) mixing darkly apocalyptic lyrics with lush orchestration. Then it all went wrong.
Drug and money problems split the bands original line up leaving only main singer-songwriter Arthur Lee to soldier on under the name Love. Lee recruited a new band and hit the studio in the latter half of '68. The result were about 27 new songs which were bizarrely split over two albums, and as Love were in the process of changing labels. Elektra had the first pick of the songs and chose 10 which became Four Sail. The remaining 17 went to new label Blue Thumb who released the lot as a double album ( Out Here ) about six months after the release of Four Sail. Most of the songs from Out Here are now on a compilation album Out There.
The first thing you notice on listening to Four Sail is how different it is to the first three albums. Lee had gone for a harder, more rock orientated sound which just didn't seem to work as well as the Latin flavoured pop songs on Da Capo and Forever Changes. The musicianship is certainly better on Four Sail but you can't help thinking theres something missing. The only tracks that come even close to the standard of the earlier stuff are I'm With You and Dream, while the likes of Talking In My Sleep just plod lifelessly along and Robert Montgomery is such an Eleanor Rigby rip-off its embarrassing.
Even though its quite patchy I preffered Out There to Four Sail as it has more stand-out tracks like Willow Willow and Listen To My Song, however if you haven't already got it then the Love album to have is Forever Changes. No CD collection should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
Order as described, fast arrival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
The best album of LOVE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth The Wait, 1 May 2015
By 
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
Not all Love fans are obsessed with Forever Changes. After waiting for what seemed like half a lifetime (the best part of two years), sustained by rumours of a new album entitled Laughing Stock, I was delighted when Four Sail was finally released to find that the horns and strings experiment was over. It wasn't another Da Capo, but it was a step in the right direction, and it had Always See Your Face, one of their best ever songs.
It turned out that Jac Holzman selected ten tracks from the Blue Thumb recordings to take to Elektra. Personally I would have chosen Willow Willow, Gather Round, Signed DC and I'll Pray For You to replace the first four songs on side 2, but then we all have our own opinions.
A good solid album and yes, for me, an improvement on Forever Changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you do not like this album you are either deaf or stupid, 20 July 2004
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
what sparked me to write (or type) this was the review by Kevin Randall who is clearly a fool and i pity the fool for being a fool.
Firstly i would like to say i am not a music expert and being of a tender age i have only just started to discover such musical delights as Love and a musical delight indeed they are. I will also admitt that Foursail is not on a par with earlier work in particular the glory that is Forever changes (which i shall worship till the day i hit the dust, in Arthur Lee we trust, Amen.)BUT to slate this album in the way that my fellow reviewer does, Mr. Randall, is just plain crazy talk.
This album is a change for Love, completely changing the lineup will have that effect on a band, it moves away from the eerie latin influenced psychedelic genius that incapsulated earlier albums yet genius this album is nonetheless and for those narrow minded pre Foursail Love purists (of which i hope there are few) such as Mr.Randall, if they have that much disregard for the album they can stick it where the sun don't shine.
Moving on, this album is a must have to anyone's collection, from the album's glorious open ,"august", in which the refreshing rock feel is further echoed in "singing cowboy" , through the almost epic sounding "dream" (i say sounding as the track is only 2:52), and its poignant climax (discounting bonus tracks) in "always see your face", there is something a little bit special about this often neglected album and it is a testement to the greatness of Arthur Lee and the talent of the new ban that they were able produce something of such musical beauty that has easily stood the test of time.
Also to you Mr.Randall if you prefered Elenor Rigby To Robert Montgomery you truly are the fool of fools and i say shame on you and your poor beguiled CD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good..., 18 May 2009
By 
I. K. Anderson "CJ" (Manchester, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
This is certainly a decent album, but I feel that it is somewhat predictable. When I first listened to it it did not have the same instant 'wow!' factor that forever changes did. So i have to disagree with people who say its as good as that.

(Here's a cheeky tip for people looking to buy this album - you can get it for £1.19 on itunes - obviously you won't be able to touch it, but i can't see myself listening to this album that many times so it doesn't bother me too much)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthurs Finest, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
This superb album never achieved the success of its forbears notably Forever changes. But I personally feel this a much sharper tighter effort all round. A new band with fewer personnel it did lose a little of the Love sound but Lees delicate rhythmn guiter still delightful remained and the sound production and Lees verbals are top notch. Great songs abound on this album - Always see your face, Good Times, Dream and Nothing to name just a few.Easily on par with those on Forever Changes but with a sharper edge. Jay Donnellens guitar solo in Good Times is in my opinion one of the finest of all time. Even Clapton would have difficulty in matching it. Do not try to compare with Forever changes, just accept this is as a superior effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warped vinyl.....again...., 5 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Four Sail [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is not a review of the music but it is a critique of the product.

I've just received my second vinyl copy of this LP and, just like the first, it is warped. Playable, but warped.

The label is 'Sundazed' and the LP cover has a good-looking sticker boasting "Sundazed albumns are high-definition, virgin vinyl pressings...... We're universally known for our meticulously-detailed mastering and obsessive quality control."

I suspect the mastering quality control is excellent and I've no complaints but, Sundazed's 'obsessive quality control' doesn't extend to its pressing plant supplier. I have thousands of LPs and am still astonished by the quality (sonic, surface noise and flateness) of LPs from Warner Brothers, EMI and DG, amongst others. It's not like great quality can't be achieved by modern methods. For example the latest re-pressing of Dylan's 'Times They Are a'Changing' is awesomely good. Sundazed have either selected a dodgy supplier or their own overseeing of the manufacturing process is lacking.

In summary, if you're going to order a Sundazed LP, check it for flatness immediately on receipt and be ready to return it.

It's worth stating that I do own multiple Sundazed LPs and I've had this problem before.

Back to that sticker...."Thus our commitment to producing perfect phonograph phodder(sic) at popular prices. Simple as that."

Er....I don't think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent late sixties rock from Arthur Lee., 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
Love WAS Arthur Lee, and this album proves it. His junkie,(I hate junkies) former band mates from the first three albums were just backing musicians. And his band mates for this one were far better. "Forever Changes" may be what he is best remembered for, but I prefer this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four Sail
Four Sail by Love (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews