Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away
For a couple of years now I have read about this guy in the tabloids and consequently didnt take the time to listen to his music. Escapology is brilliant. How can the same 'awful' guy in the tabloids have written 'Feel', 'Monsoon' and the best song of all 'Come Undone'? The songs are emotive and ironical and the music reminds me of English pop of old, (before such...
Published on 27 Dec 2002 by kramax

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Coming of Age for the Veteran of Pop/Rock
Anybody who has seen the Robbie Williams Bare-all documentary 'Nobody Someday' should realise the significance of this album. After the tear jerking confessions that Mr Williams hates every part of being a popstar, you begin to realise why he took that wonderful year off for "Swing When you're Winning" and why he appeared so very happy at the Albert Hall...
Published on 24 Nov 2002 by Daniel


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rob hits the spot (again), 18 Nov 2002
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
This is not exactly what you'll be expecting from RW.
When I heard the new single "Feel", I wasn't too sure if this album was even going to compare to "Sing When You're Winning", his worst album so far (not saying it's really bad, just a little weaker.)
I was happy to be wrong - this is his best album so far. The break from pop, while he was swinging, has done Robbie the world of good.
The tone of this album suits his voice a lot more than his previous outings (Swing When You're Winning excluded!).
While the first track isn't the best, and could easily be compared to a weak Oasis song, from the second track "Feel", the album is simply fantastic.
Some of the standout tracks include "Something Beautiful" a really catchy tune and "Monsoon" a possible the anthem of the album (as "Strong" was from "I've Been Expecting You").
"Me and My Monkey" is strange to listen to at first, but it's good to hear something different like this from Robbie. The mexican sound is fantastic - and the story is great. Especially when they meet "Rodreiguez".. and the ending is all up to you to decide!
As always there are some exceptional ballads included such as "Sexed Up" - a hopeless acoustic love song.
There's also a brilliant duet in there with Rose Stone, a really laid back soulful track - one that will demand the lighters during the inevitable tour.
The album ends with "Nan's Song", which according to RW is the first song that he has completely written, about his Nan. It's a nice slow acoustic song.
This is a fantastic album, and shows how far Robbie has come in the past few years, and how diverse a singer he is, especially in coming back to mainstream pop after the amazing "Swing When You're Winning".
Go out buy it - it's the perfect Christmas present, for everyone. I haven't stopped listening to it since I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definately the BEST yet, 28 Nov 2002
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
Well, its certain, this is Rob's best album yet! Although I must admit, you need to listen to it a couple of times before it grabs you, but when it does you wont want it to let you go, its fantastic!
While 'Feel' is probably my favourite track, 'Love Somebody' and 'Monsoon' come a very, very close second, closely followed by the rest. There isn't one track I hit skip on, its just brilliant.
Living in the USA has obviously done him good, its got a new feel of energy to it and he sings from his soul, and all the songs make sense! There are a couple of light hearted ones in there to make you smile, like 'Me and my Monkey', and the others.......just close your eyes and let them take you.
Definately got to add this one to your collection people, I promise you will not be disappointed.
This one has to score 11 out of 10, can't wait for the next one already!
WELL DONE MR WILLIAMS........you have proved yourself to all those non-believers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Man Will Go Down In History - Amazing, 25 Oct 2003
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
This album is in a different league to all of this past albums. His lyrics are completly amazing, such meaning. This album is just classic.......its Robbie Williams for starters. But this record has such variation in it. Listen to "Sexed Up" and then listen to "Revolution"....both fantastic tracks....both SO different.
The great thing about Robbie is that he can take any genre (pretty much) and make it his own, and sound amazing! How anyone can say this guy is not a great singer needs their head looking at. Sure, he can loose it on stage after 7 days of 4 hour gigs, but then again.....i would like to see any other artist around at the moment do that....and come close.....i don't think so.
He just looked the part at Knebworth, you can't compare his performance with anyone else at the moment, it just would not be fair.
I could go on....i won't.
Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escapology!!, 15 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
A truly amazing album!! Every song is great, some really good songs, " Me and my monkey"!! "Nans song"!! Just buy it, and you will not be dissapointed, HONEST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not let this album out of your sight!, 24 Aug 2003
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
Since seeing Robbie at Knebworth August 2003 this CD has not left my side at all and has even accompanied me to the other side of Europe!
Have been a Robbie Fan since the days of Take That so it goes without saying that Robbie has done it again and I can not wait for the Release of Escapology Tour 2003 on VHS/DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robbie strikes again!, 22 Nov 2002
By 
August A. Galifi "madonna fan" (Hoboken, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
It is a shame that other people here in the States have not fallen head over heels in love with Robbie's music and taken in by his charms. This album is a great step towards a more mature sound. He started stepping into more mature territory with "Swing When You're Winning" and continues his growth with this album. I am absolutely in love with "Feel" and "Love Somebody". The remaining tracks on the album continue to drive forth a newer sound for Robbie. They sound almost retro 70's rock / adult contemporary. All positive...a nice change...and a continued evolution. You go Robbie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robbie back on form, 19 Nov 2002
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
I'm a die-hard Robbie fan, but in my opinion Sing When You're Winning was somewhat patchy, and Swing When You're Winning was OK cover stuff but I was longing for new material. Finally it has come, and boy was it worth the wait. Any fears I might have had that the downward slope migh continue have been dispelled. It's an excellent album, at the same level as his best work (his first two albums), full of catchy tunes and witty lyrics (yes, self-centered too, as usual, but that's part of the fun with Robbie). It's not terribly innovative or groundbreaking, I'll admit it, some riffs even remind of other brit bands (Manic Street Preachers in Feel, Oasis in Monsoon), and at least one of the songs (Sexed Up) is actually a re-recorded old B-side; but for Robbie fans, and for anyone who enjoys his kind of playful pop, this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Rob!, 10 Jan 2005
By 
Bry (Flackwell Heath, BUCKS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
OK, well you may or may not already own some of Rob's previous albums. Well, this is by far up to his previous standards. After a year off, a lot was expected of him and what he was going to bring back with him.
We start the album with the catchy bouncy How Peculiar. It may not be a classic, but it's a good song, and it's upbeat enough to make you want to keep listening.
Next is an "Angels'esque" Feel. This song is beautifully written and sung, and surely by now you should know it very well!
Something Beatiful is another bouncy song with some very nice Rob/Guy/(everyone else) lyrics. This song was the basis of a Channel4 tv programme Something Beautiful (where they auditioned for 3 Robbie Williams's to be in his video. One on them is female....ACE!)
Monsoon is truely an homage to Queen and the influence they have on him. With a brilliant band, and lyrics discussing kiss and tells, (he has been in just a few of them!) and love really. a fantastic song which is just amazing to see live.
Sexed up - although this song goes on for 30 seconds or so to long for me, it is a very heartfelt song about breaking up with someone. Personally I prefer the demo (found as a B-Side to Lazy Days)
I adore Love Somebody. I think that it is beautiful, but hey, I'm a soppy romanticist! This orchestral song is wonderfully sung, with the maturity of having down some swing shining through here.
Revolution is a duet which is again nice, but not one of my favourites, but their voices are well matched.
Handsome Man tickles me pink! On the surface this song is an absolute piss take of Robbie Williams the popstar seen from Rob the persons point of view. However, deep down there is a message that Rob really does need his fans, and of desperation. This bouncy song has some ace lyrics!
Come Undone is a dichotomy of Rob. Absolute classic where he picks himself apart and shows the world how he sees himself.
Me and My Monkey - immensely long train of thought. Don't try and work out the meaning it will drive you insane!
Song 3 - amazing band again. Rob goes for the rock "look" this time, but in a good way still. We do get a bit of screaming!
Hot Fudge is another crod bopper - Rock DJ stylee!
Cursed is a sad song about a friend who died with some amazing lyrics.
Nans Song touches the hearts of anyone who has ever lost anyone.
All in all, I think Rob has matured and this album is ace playing with every type of song possible, and I think that Come Undone is a brilliant song and just goes to prove that everything that Rob does isn't just Guy Chambers because he had nothing to do with that track. If you're going to buy this album you have to buy Feel - his new book! A last piece of info - i've owned the album since it came out and it has barely left my stereos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 23 Nov 2002
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
I've bought all Robbie's previous Albums (except the take that stuff, too young :) ) And this is the most mature.
The amusing lyrics from his prevous works are still here with Me and My Monkey, handsome man and the fantastic Monsoon the funniest.
This will certainly appeal to Robbie's loyal fanbase, as well as those who have found him 'too poppy' or immature in the past. This is NOT pop, it is adult rock and is a mature album, so if you like the type of lyrics found on your avg westlife album you won't find this as good.
However, if you want great singing, including the Freddy Mercury (Queen's frontman) sounding Monsoon you're looking at the right page.
It may well be mature, but humor and pure style are here in equal amounts.
Buy it today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robbie delivers again, 18 Nov 2002
This review is from: Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] (Audio CD)
That Williams will continue to deliver after this album without the aid of song-writing partner Guy Chambers remains to be seen; meantime, sit back and enjoy their joint efforts on this, the 5th Robbie Williams album.
A laid-back opening track ("How Perculiar") belies what is in store as we are presented with such like-it-first-time tracks as the Manic Street Preachers-influenced "Feel" (also the first single), an Elton John-esque "Something Beautiful", followed by (dare I say it?) an Oasis-inspired "Monsoon". There is a reprise as the acoustic "Sexed-up" reduces the tempo before the stadium-anthem "Love Somebody" demonstrates the versatility and emotional input of Robbie's voice. "Revolution" is a soulful duet, whilst "Handsome Man" performs a cheeky parody of the Williams alter-ego. All his albums have an "Angels", which comes in the form of "Come Undone" and shows Robbie at his baring-all best. "Me and My Monkey" is a cheerful (if slightly too long) tune, whereas the rock-groove, 70's influences of "Hot Fudge" make up for a disappointing "Song 3". "Nans Song" sees Robbie's first self-penned effort, and, although not the best track, certainly warrants inclusion.
Undoubtedly, the plethora of die-hard Robbie fans will ensure this is yet another chart-topper, although I believe Robbie Williams has matured as both songwriter and artist and deserves the wider audience this album targets. Listen and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escapology [Explicit Lyrics]
Escapology [Explicit Lyrics] by Robbie Williams (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews