Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Platformer
How do you know when you are enjoying a platform game ? For me if I get to the end of a level and I want to carry on with that level and not only pleased to have reached the goal. Sly Rac is a classic platformer with excellence all round.
I really enjoy the interplay with your team at certain points in the game to help you along. The animation is great and very...
Published on 22 Jan 2004 by R. Forssman

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining if not ground-breaking
I must admit that I was a little sceptical when I first popped Sly Raccoon into the disc try. I'd heard virtually nothing about this game and it crept stealthily onto the selves as if to prove a point of irony. Fortunately, I was surprised and equally pleased to find an enjoyable, well accomplished game behind the cartoony exterior.
The premise behind the game is...
Published on 24 July 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Platformer, 22 Jan 2004
By 
R. Forssman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
How do you know when you are enjoying a platform game ? For me if I get to the end of a level and I want to carry on with that level and not only pleased to have reached the goal. Sly Rac is a classic platformer with excellence all round.
I really enjoy the interplay with your team at certain points in the game to help you along. The animation is great and very seldom do you find yourself having to be pixel perfect with your positioning inorder to make a jump. The game cleverly ensures that once you have worked out the path or strategy, you have fluid gameplay and dont find yourself being frustrated. I enjoy redoing levels which is not something I can say for Jak and Daxter, Ratchet and Clank etc.
The music and environments are great and you can roam freely around (avoiding all the baddies of course). The spotlights are very original and work in two modes. Once one catches you it turns red and then you get fried if it catches you again. The great thing is you can cancel them out by smashing the hooter which controls them and get maximum satisfaction.
Overall this is a superb game and I am so pleased I went against sales figures as they could not be further wrong. All ages for this one. Go get it and you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Platform Game On The PS2, 17 July 2004
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
Sly Racoon is without a doubt the finest platform game yet released on the PS2. Forget Jak and Daxter, Ratchet and Clank, and their ilk - Sly beats them all.
In the game, you play as Sly, a racoon burglar from a family of famous theives. It's your job to steal back the book taken from your family - the Thevius Racoonus - and defeat the gang who stole it. Doesn't sound too special, yet the plot is simple but effective.
The levels are beautifully detailed, with fantastic backgrounds. Sly himself is cell-shaded and animated to perfection. But most impressive about this game is the wonderfully smooth control system, which allows for you to execute all of Sly's moves with ease and without bogging down gameplay. Jumps, swings and suchlike are also extremely smooth, with responsive controls for fantastic accuracy.
The variety that you find as you cross the various sections of the game is also enough to really keep you hooked. Even after you complete this game, which admittedly shouldn't take too long, you'll still want to replay the levels. It's really that much of a joy to play.
My criticisms with the game are that the sub-games are less than interesting, although not too difficult, that it's a little on the short side, and that the "Master Thief Sprints" that you can access at the completion of the game are often far too difficult. But if you're finding the game simple, then they'll give you the challenge you crave.
Overall, this is a perfect platformer and worth having for fans of the genre of all ages. Happily, Sly 2 has a release date in September - so when you're done with this, it's not too long till the second installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but Sweet Verdict on Sly Raccon, 15 Jan 2003
By 
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
Now, I'm not like some others who like to waffle on about random things so I'm just gonna get straight to the main point!
Reasons for buying it:
-Exceptional good looks over origonality favoured
-Meets all classic platform criteria.
Reasons for leaving it:
-Suffers from one or two nasty glitches.
-Little originality.
Graphics: Eye-meeting vibrant and picturesque throughout, briliant!
9.1/10
Sound: Bouncy tunes and plenty of comical conversations.
7.3/10
Gameplay: Starved of true innovation, but works well enough.
7.4/10
Life spam: Easily beaten with little to come back to.
6.2/10
OVERALL SCORE AND VERDICT:
7.5/10 (75%)
-Visually stunning and boasts hugely varied platform gameplay - even though all of its best ideas are second-hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!!!, 13 Jan 2003
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
After the great Ratchet & Clank, sony creates a new monster, Sly Racoon, and with a new charachter that is even more charismatic than before. Has soon has you'll see the style of Sly Racoon you'll see that it's a different platform compared to Ratchet & Clank, graphically we are much more near to the world of cartoons than of videogames. It's infact the graphic and the characterisation of are the strongest links of the game. Sly is very funny and nice since the beginning of the game, and we will also see conversations via codec.... does it remember you something? The level of difficoulty isn't very high, so even the less expert platformers will be able to enjoy this great game. Another factor that is different from other platforms is that in Sly Racoon you can also use stealth, just like in Metal Gear, in some situations infact, our hero will need to hide from his enemies. There'll be lots of strange gadgets and moves that will be able to unlock by proceding in the game. The adventure starts and goes, nice and fluid, and fast. Nothing to worry about tough, the excitment and the fun reign all over this game. If you've finished to have fun in Vice City or You have already finished Ratchet and Clank this game is a MUST BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and under- rated!, 3 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
i hadn't even heard of this game until i saw i tiny demo of it on the title screen of Ratchet and Clank 2. i decided to buy it and see what it was like. Answer- brilliant! this game may have borrowed features from other games but its one of my favourite games on the PS2. it's a shame that it never got as much publicity as ratchet and clank, or jak and daxter because its just as good.

Ok, so it's not very long, there's no shoot em up action and gamplay is similar to crash bandicoot and spyro- but in itself its quite original too, and the boss levels are quite fun- especially mz ruby's level.

the graphics are very nicely done- cell shaded to make a nice 3D cartoon look, and characters are very likeable.

If you love Spyro and crash, and Jak and Daxter, and Ratchet and clank i strongly recommend you play this game- and then buy the sequels as they are even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Platforming Heroes meet Metal Gear Solid, 18 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a Top of the Range platoformer with 40 levels.
It is traditional platforming gameplay with a nice blend of stealth elements.
POSITIVE ELEMENTS
+ Nice Cel-shaded graphics
+ Traditional Platforming Gameplay
+ Stealth Elements
+ Upgradable Moves
+ Plenty of Mini Games
+ 40 varied Levels
+ 3 Cute Characters
+ Original
NEGATIVE ELEMENTS
- Quite Easy
- Little Replay Value
- Some People Don't Like Cel-shaded graphics
- Too young for some gamers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Games, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
Good game ,kids enjoy playing,grafix great kids play over and over again.would recommend to other users.kids age 4 to 6 yrs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Thief" thievery meets "Metal Gear" stealth meets "Super Mario" platform ?!, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
Its true.This game has this three features:great design in platforming levels, the good use of stealth to avoid the powerfull henchmen that guards every treasure you will steal, almost right before their eyes.
Beautiful and varied detailed cell-shaded enviroments and characters, that gives a comic book cartoon cool look, many gadgets to help in you missions, RPG like upgrading moves and a story of a revenging son when a father master of thievery is murdered because of his family, almost mistical thiefs bible, the "Thievius Raccoonus".
The only bad critic of the game for me, its over too soon, but if you want to unlock everything in the game, it will take some time to reach 100% in all levels.
If you like platforming games, with stealth and thievery in the mix, you will love the first game of a wonderfull, funny quadrilogy of this great Sly Cooper franchise.Buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game to play, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed playing this game. It was both easy and hard to complete and the missions were awesome. I own all 3 of Sly Cooper games on Ps2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art, great game., 7 Dec 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sly Racoon (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a gem of a platform game. The obvious love and detail that's gone into it is amazing. It looks like 'Monkey Island' style art which is quite a compliment. Along with Ape Escape, it really proves you don't need hi-tech consoles to make great games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sly Racoon (PS2)
Sly Racoon (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews