Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEVER
I have to cut straight to the point fever is an out standing album, Kylie had her work cut out after "Light Years" but boy she done it. The classic Kylie disco element is still there but updated with funky electro tunes, she is a true princess of pop constantly adapting, moving and improving while still keeping the elements that we adore about her! While you have all the...
Published on 11 Nov 2002 by whale2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Fine Album!!!
This Album by Kylie sees a change in style, going less disco. The tracks are the same as the international version plus only one new song found also on 'Can't get you out of my head'(single). Butterfly is found on her 'Light Years' album.

All the songs are worth a listen, but I would recommend fans to buy the original version and then buy the first single...
Published on 8 April 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Record of the year?, 26 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
This got to be the record of the year! Once again Kylie is burning us up with FEVER! This is a Great collection with "Come into my world" and "In your eyes" big favourates on this CD. Most of the songs take time to get used to, but after a while you can't get them out of your head! There is probable more than 5 songs on this CD to be future singles by the "Queen of pop" and once again she's outdone the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't get her out of your head, 22 July 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
Kylie Minogue re-broke into pop stardom with "Fever," her eighth studio album. And it's somehow not surprising -- "Fever" is infectious, dancey and perpetually catchy. Despite the "lovey" tone of the songs, Kylie's album is dancepop in its purest form, and is probably the best example of the type.

It starts off on a rather middling note with the fast-paced "More More More," before launching into the sparkling "Love At First Sight," a more complex dance song that is surprisingly infectious. ("And everything went from wrong to right/the stars came up and filled up the sky/the music you were playin' nearly blew my mind/it was love at first sight!")

Things coast on from there, including the infuritatingly entertaining "Can't Get You Out of My Head," the funk-edged "Give It To Me," and the sultry "Love Affair." She also dabbles in softer electropop, in songs like the swoony "Fragile" and the swirling "In Your Eyes," both of which turn down the tempo and up the emotion.

It's always sort of nice when a guilty pleasure doesn't pretend to be anything but what it is. And "Fever" has no such pretensions. It's a fun, slightly suggestive album that you can dance to, with the forgettable lyrics of dancepop, and some truly enjoyable beats that have a tendency to stick to your mind like old bubble gum.

Even her most ardent fans can't claim that Kylie has a great voice -- she has a voice that is lightweight, wispy and pretty. It matches the music, and she knows how to use it, never overtaxing the ol' vocal chords. In other words, no Britney-style chord-straining yowls or screeches. Rather than exceptional vocal quality, Kylie gets props for knowing her limits, and working with them.

And the dancepop of "Fever" also gets props for unusual complexity. Rather than repetitive beats repeated on every song, several songs from "Fever" switch tempo, switch synths, and have their highs and lows. There are some distinct flavours to some of the songs, such as funk and a bit of disco, which add extra spice and memorability.

"Fever" is a guilty pleasure, but at least it's a fun, entertaining one. One of Kylie's best, and definitely worth "spinning around."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I like this!, 9 Jun 2002
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
Have I totally gone crazy?? I usually can't stick pop or dance music, but for some reason I decided to go ahead and buy Kylie's latest offering. I suppose it's because "Love At First Sight" and "CGYOMH" are brilliant singles- and so is the rest of the album
There is a mixture of different songs, all strongly influenced by 70s dance beats. The best song for me is err...all of them except "Fragile", which is quite boring.
My favourite pop album of all time (well, apart from Britney, it's the only one I have!), definetly worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Fine Album!!!, 8 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
This Album by Kylie sees a change in style, going less disco. The tracks are the same as the international version plus only one new song found also on 'Can't get you out of my head'(single). Butterfly is found on her 'Light Years' album.

All the songs are worth a listen, but I would recommend fans to buy the original version and then buy the first single from the album, to get the bonus track and another one too, with an enhanced section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 21 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
This is pure pop. Every song shimmers with glossy, but never overdone, production. 'I Just Can't Get You Out Of My Head' is a pop masterpiece and every other song on the album cries out for the same recognition. If only some of the bands I admit to liking could turn out albums of this quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kylie back on top - where she belongs !, 2 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
Fever is a natural progression from last year's Light Years. It is not as varied and certainly no where as camp as Light Years and some of the songs sound a little samey but it is still a very enjoyable 45 minutes !
Apart from Can't Get You Out Of My Head, the other outstanding tunes are Fragile, In Your Eyes, Love at First Sight, Love Affair and Fever.
Fever is what Kylie is all about: Happy, uplifting, perfect pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEVER ? HEATWAVE? YES , YOU WILL BE BURING UP, 2 Oct 2001
By 
drew@glive.co.uk (london/highbury UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
being a kylie fan since "i should be so lucky" and growing up with her music ,she never failed to come up with something to knock me off my feet but this time ...wow... she really hit me off my feet !!!
the first single "can't get you out of my head" ( currently on its way to be the best selling single in the uk for 2001) gives u an idea what to expect from the whole album !
from the US garage disco style of "more more more" to the modjo-esque "love at first sight" u then glide over to her winning single "can't get you..." .then comes "fever" the title track ( no not a cover version , there are non on here ) . by the time u reached the next tune "give it to me " u probably already switched on the disco lights and dance under ur mini discoball in ur livingroom ! but behold ...what is that ? the album is getting better? u bet it is !!!!
it would take more space on here then permitted to tell u about all the tracks on here :-)
so are the other rewiews on here right by saying its her best album yet ?
it sure fever is !! with x-mas round the corner u have the perfect office party /home party /party record of the year and the next !!
so vicky B go home and look after brooklin ,cheers :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop goes Kylie, and Pop Goes Your Head, 3 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
What an extraordinarily good record this is. It seems Kylie took the name of her genre literally and aimed to make our heads explode. Pop! Truly, Kylie's 'Fever' is good enough to be dangerous.
'Fever' is precisely the kind of record Madonna would make if she didn't enjoy torturing her fans so much. Kylie has jettisoned any faux R&B or gloppy ballads -- let alone any woe-is-me soul searching -- in favor of 12 tracks of pure spun sugar, seven or so of which a lesser pop act would kill to have as a lead single. Each one is ferociously catchy, and not a one has anything more on its mind than making you happy. It may be a guilty pleasure, but aren't those the best kind? I don't believe I've ever heard a pop album with the courage to go deliriously uptempo all the way, let alone a record with the hooks to pull it off.
Standouts include the shatteringly good lead single, Can't Get You Out of My Head, which sets the album's admirably progressive and admirably consistent hi-energy sound; the clear choice for a second single, Love At First Sight; as well as Fever, Give it To Me, Come Into My World, In Your Eyes, and Love Affair, all of which are more than worthy for single release. How the hell did she get seven perfect pop songs on one record? Most people can barely manage one. (Mind you, the other five fit right in, unlike most drecky pop filler tracks.) If there were any question that God likes Kylie Minogue, this disc would wipe it away. Perhaps He'll continue to take favor on Her and find this disc a home in the States, where we're starving for glossy pop of this caliber. Here's hoping. In the meantime, praise God. And praise bloody Kylie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Kylie album, 12 Jun 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
It's never easy to define appeal of a particular singer's music, but it's especially difficult where Kylie's music is concerned. I became a Kylie fan at the beginning when she was with Stock, Aitken and Waterman, despite not caring much for most of the music that they produced. Kylie wasn`t the only Stock, Aitken and Waterman artist whose music I liked, as I also like Bananarama and Jason Donovan, but I can`t think of any others. Nevertheless, Kylie's music has changed a lot since then. I also enjoy her later music, but in a different way. Yet through all the changes, Kylie's music isn't and never has been typical of what I normally listen to. So I guess it's down to the quality of the songs and Kylie's wonderful voice, both of which are well up to the expected standard on this album.

Four British top ten hits came from this album, which also revitalized Kylie's career in America. The first and biggest of these hits, Can't get you out of my head, made number one in Britain and became a huge hit in America and around the world. Nothing else here matched the achievements of that song, but the other three hits here (In your eyes, Love at first sight, Come into my world) are all excellent. The title track was presumably considered for single released but, at least in Britain, wasn't released in that form. It's worth noting that all the songs here are originals, even though a couple of them (Fever, More more more) use titles of old songs made famous by others.

Typical of Kylie`s albums from the early years of the new millennium, this album works well whether played as background music or listened to without other distractions. Overall, I have a slight preference for the album that followed this (Body language) and the one that preceded it (Light years), but there's really not a lot to choose between them. If you enjoy any of the three, you'll also enjoy the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fever +2, 23 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fever (Audio CD)
She's at it again! first she brings out 2 CDs for the same single, now she puts tracks from previous albums/releases onto this one and calls them "limited edition".
Other than this little bit of a con, the album is brilliant - a superb summer "must-have".
The album has more of a dance feel to it (matching her '02 UK tour) which may put some of the old school fans off a bit, but this is certainly well worth buying if you like fast, upbeat tracks or try to call yourself a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fever
Fever by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews